Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 16 November 2017
Great selection of oldies,lots of laughs and silly antics but a great nights viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2016
a bit disappointing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2017
Bought on behalf of someone else
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2017
I loved every minute of it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Wonderful selection of short films. Funny and enjoyable. AAAA++++.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 February 2011
A great little DVD featuring some great old comedy classics from Eric Sykes.
I wasn't very impressed with the 'talkie' If You Go Down In The Woods Today, but Rhubarb, Rhubarb, The Plank, Mr H Is Late and It s Your Move are superb pieces of comedy.
Watching them again after all these years is a real trip down memory lane, and if your my age you'll be watching these mini films saying continously 'good grief, that's...'.
Lots of rewatch value.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2012
Being of an age where I have enjoyed years of Eric Sykes' early comedy on the television, I was very saddened at his recent passing. Some of his early TV work is still broadcast from time to time, and I wanted a more lasting memoriam to remember him. This small compendium of five of his short films, some Cannes winners, fits the bill admirably.

I saw "The Plank" upon its first release, but had to admit I couldn't remember it that well. Four of the five shorts on this disc are what have been called "silent" films, inasmuch as there is no dialogue to speak of, but they are not completely devoid of dialogue and which pops up in places. I think this adds to make them more accessible than if they had been genuinely silent films accompanied by a music track and sound effects.

These shorts use a cast of well-known TV comedy personalities of the era, the majority of whom pop up in all of the stories. It is a case of guessing who they are and putting a specific series to them. Some of them had starring roles in their own rights in famous TV series - Arthur Lowe and Richard Briers, to give just two examples. Perhaps the most surprising is an appearance by a young James Hunt as a truck driver, and Joanna Lumley! The familiarity of them all lends to a nice warm glow of nostalgia.

The longest story, "If you go down into the woods today", is the first on the disc and is the one which incorporates normal dialogue. This involves Eric leading a troupe of Wolf Cubs on a camping expedition. The storyline is somewhat convoluted but is very entertaining.

The next one up "Rhubard, Rhubard" is, for me, the least successful of the five here, with some of the visual comedy being of a lower standard, but is nevertheless entertaining.

Then comes "The Plank" but this is not the original release, which lasts for over 50 minutes, but a shorter re-make for Thames Television. Surprisingly, I found this shorter re-make actually works better than the original. (I have the original, too.) I believe this is down to the storyline being more compact, and I suspect Eric Sykes saw an opportunity to cut down on the length of some of the overly long scenes of the original which, in hindsight, are worked too long. Certainly, watching the original after viewing this shortened version, it did seem to dwell a little too long with some scenes, almost to the point of wearing out their welcome. All the running gags are here in the revision, and I honestly believe they are better in their presentation. The ending has been changed but it works equally as well.

The fourth short, "Mr. H is late" deals with a subject in a way that some may find disrespectful, a funeral. However, this is a riotous account of the journey of the coffin to the church, arriving late of course, hence the title. And it is in no way disrespectful.

Many who have moved house will empathise with a lot of the final short, "It's your move". It is an exaggeration of what most must fear when moving house at the hands of the removal men. I doubt that all of the misfortunes that beset Richard Briers and Sylvia Syms when moving into their house will have happened to one couple, but I would guess most will have experienced at least one!

All in all, this is a delightful anthology of the art of Eric Sykes as a film writer and director, and I am sure it will delight those who enjoyed his somewhat homespun and low-key television humour. The quality of the print transfers is good.
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2010
Eric Sykes was always a great student of comedy, and as a writer he appreciated the beauty of movement as well as the value of words. These films showcase his art as a visual comedian, with plenty of fellow enthusiasts to cause carefully choreographed chaos and provoke plenty of laughter. I prefer the earlier version of 'The Plank' but the one here, from the 1970s, is still hilarious, and the other films are full of wonderful little touches. Good clean fun, and timeless comedy.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2010
Some of these titles have been out on DVD/video but never on one compilation. This is super, although these films are around thirty years old, the comedy is classic and timeless. A good belly laugh for all. The re-make of the plank is as good as the first version. All we need now is Sykes television show on the BBC to be released in its entirety. A masterclass in comedy.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2016
Eric will never be replaced but lives forever in this collection. Just wish that the various plank alternatives were included like the version that featured "Captain Mannering" as Eric's left hand man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)