Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2009
Ok, these are ceramic beads for keeping pastry down during blind-baking. They work good and one tub is just about enough for a 22cm (9") round tin. If you have any bigger tins or are do more than 1 at once...buy 2 (or more). Used them 10x so far...no problems. When the pie is done blind baking, I simply lift the beads out in the waxed oven paper into a heat proof dish (ususally a pot on the stove in my case) to cool. Once cooled (a few hours later) simply use the paper to funnel all the beads back into the tub and re-shelf for the next time. Simple.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
Ordered two lots of these baking beans and paid over the odds for the Retro Kitch Tins. I was somewhat surprised that both tins were badly dented. Needless to say the product contents, ceramic baking beans, were fine. I Would suggest if you are purchasing this product forget the retro tin and buy this item for a lot less in the plastic container!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
I purchased these as we were using brown rice as a poor man's substitute, and after several cooks the rice wasn't looking too good. These are really good, all same size, come in a really cute vintage style tin that's easy to store them in after use. Have used a good few times and continue to do well, ideal gift or pressie for someone who cooks pastry based items, maybe if they've been inspired by Great British Bake Off which may I say is a fantastic programme! Enjoy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
The day after these arrived some blind baking was tried, and using these little ceramic balls proved to be well worth the outlay. Each baked item came out just as required and expected, they turned the whole process of blind baking a simple operation. They cooled down quickly and were able to be returned to the tin almost immediately, and certainly once the bakery item was returned to the oven to finish cooking.

At this price they were well worth buying, and it saves looking around for what to use to weigh down the pastry when blind baking. I wholeheartedly recommend these ceramic balls made by Tala.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 November 2016
Great - I use these on top of baking parchment when blind baking quiche pastry. Handy storage tub and the beans are heavy enough to prevent bubbles forming in the pastry. The beans don't burn or scorch in my oven so very pleased with them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
Arrived very promptly. The baking beans are all very uniform to allow even baking and are of a very good quality so there is no reason they shouldn't last a good while. I've used them to cover a 10 inch square cake tin at the biggest with adequate coverage. The tin is fantastic, very well made, looks great and is exactly what you need to store the beans in, as in the past I have bought them from lakeland and other such places and the plastic containers have split within a few months dispersing the beans everywhere. All in all a good value and quality product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2016
If you like baking quiches and flans, these are a must. The container is a useful touch to keep them in (don't buy them in a bag, you'll have nowhere to keep them); there are enough to back 8-10" quiches. Good product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
Needed beads for blind baking - these were cheaper than buying fro a supermarket and they turned up the next day!

The retro tin is so nice that they live on a shelf in the kitchen above the Aga.

The whole contents is just enough for one 22 cm flan base so if you are planning baking in bulk you will need more. Not a critisism just an observation.

Overall they do the job and look good on the side in the kitchen - "Brucie bonus" :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2015
Great for quiche, flans and tarts. I put some baking paper in the base and cover it with the baking beans and get a much better result. I wash the beans once they have cooled and lay them out on kitchen paper to dry and back into the container ready for the next time. Easy to use with good results.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
Fed up with using rice and saying I must get some baking beads? I was, so I bought these. They do the job and make me feel like a proper baker rather than a last minute one. They may even help to make your bottom less soggy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)