Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
126
Slash (Special Edition)
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£10.99


on 19 June 2010
Which is what actually makes it appealing, there is probably something for everyone here. Yes it's no vintage G n R u-like nor is it the last word in rock classics, and it's probably not the kind of epitaph that Slash himself would choose to be remembered by; nonetheless there are some good tunes in here. Like most I like Andrew Stockdale's contribution, but I don't like Fergie. I was impressed by Myles Kennedy at download this year, and I like both of his songs. They are indeed a bit more MOR than you might be comfortable with but if you are adult enough rock is a big church.
I think it's a worthwhile purchase if you are a fan of any of the artists, as each one lends his or own her style to a Slash-esque foundation. And that's the rub, its a Slash-esque album rather than a full on 'proper' album. I like it, if only because Slash in half hearted commercial mode is still one hell of a guitar player, irrespective of where they are played in the song.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2010
When I looked at all the different great rock artist Slash was performing with on this album I knew it was going be something rather special. Slash really shows off his gutar playing skills on this album because each track has it's own unique sound to it and at times he really goes for it and digs deep. My favourite tracks are "Beautiful Dangerous", "Promise" and "By The Sword" but I would like to say all the songs are very good. Thats not surprising for me when he has got some great rock singers/legends such as Ozzy Osbourne, Chris Cornell, Iggy Pop, Kid Rock and Andrew Stockdale from Wolfmother performing with him.
Slash's new album hammers Guns N' Roses: Chinese Democracy into the ground and no self respecting rock fan should miss out on this great rock album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2012
Slash is iconic, no one can argue that. Mention a guitar, a top hat and shades and pretty much everyone will know who you are talking about. But, at the end of the day, he is a guitarist who doesn't sing and, unless you're a classical musician who is famous the world over for playing the piano or the violin, releasing a solo album just doesn't sound like a good idea.

Thank God he didn't let it stop him.

So how do you turn a bad idea into a good idea? Simple. You get other icons, both old and new, and you get them to perform with you. The result, in this case, is simply amazing.

This album is filled with surprises galore, and all with Slash's trademark rifts and solos. Now don't get me wrong, not all the tracks are instant classics. But even the mediocre ones are rather good when considering mediocrity. That said, I feel they did take the best of the tracks and release them as singles to promote the album which, I suppose, does make sense. However keeping tracks such as By The Sword and Beautiful Dangerous back would have made an awesome surprise for first time listeners and a stroke of tactical genius for the producers.

And the line-up of artists who sing? Again, simply genius. Where else would you find some of the older icons of rock such as Ozzy Osbourne (Black Sabbath), Lemmy Kilminster (Motorhead) and Iggy Pop on the same album as newer icons such as M Shadows (Avenged Sevenfold), Chris Cornell (Soundgarden), Myles Kennedy (Alter Bridge) . . . the list just goes on and on. Ian Astbury (The Cult), Dave Grohl (Foo Fighters), Andrew Stockdale (Wolfmother)as well as fellow G'n'R performers Duff McKagan, Izzy Stradlin and Steven Adler. But, for me at least, the biggest surprise came from the only female performer on the album. The first time I heard Fergie (Black Eyed Peas) singing Beautiful Dangerous I was blown away, absolutely stunning track. This one track alone made this album worthwhile and proves that she is wasted in a R&B group.

If this album isn't a current classic, and I think that it is, it is definitely a future classic. Please, please let's have more from Slash and friends. Let's definitely have more Slash and Fergie. If this album is anything to go by, there would definitely be some good things coming if there were.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2011
A very surprising offering! After Guns'n'Roses ends up in a mutual knock-out, Slash is the first one to get up (I wasn't too impressed with Velvet Revolver, at least the first album). R'NFR rocks hard, with great sound, great production, and great tunes. Unpretentious and talented, the opposite of Chinese Democracy where a real talent in ruined by pretentious production.
I was really thrown by the quality of this album. Slash gets his mojo back and shines as a musician. Even his playing style has evolved with a few more flashy licks thrown in for good measure.
Stunning groove and melodies, immensely enjoyable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2013
i guess i didn't get the memo when this album was released. i'm not a huge slash/GNR fan, so his releases are off my radar, but this album should have created some kind of aftershock that eventually reached the rock masses.

the strange thing about 'slash', is that the man actually seems to take a backseat to his many amazing guests. the presence of rockers like ian astbury, iggy pop, chris cornell, ozzy and alice cooper is not only impressive, but because slash chooses to imitate the guitar style associated with these icons, you'd swear he was in fact, simply a guest guitarist on one of their projects. this is a slash album, right? a strange effect, indeed.

fortunately for us, slash revels in his task, and we are treated with brilliant track after track - these songs are good!
i eventually bought the deluxe edition, just for the beth hart track 'mother maria'. it's a shame it's not included with this release.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2018
Great compilation of music from some of Rock's finest artists of the last few decades. Excellent album from start to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2013
Well, sorry for being 3 years late, but I've just bought this album, and I'm extremely impressed. It's some feat to be a guitarist and yet anchor the whole album whilst the singer (and other personnel) change around you, but Slash has definitely made it work. There was only one track I didn't like, and that was the one with Fergie on, but I thought the rest was really good, with not one weak song.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2014
Who could ask for more. ...slash and a mutitude of rock singers including Lemmy, Ozzy Osbourne and errrr Fergie. But don't be fooled she kicks some serious rump. If you can can the delux edition as the rendition of Paradise City, in my opinion, is as good (if not better) than the original.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2018
love the album fair price and fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2018
Great for a dedicated fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)