Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
26
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2014
I first met Paddy Roberts' songs when a student in the 1950s and thought his easy, laid back style gave the relaxation needed. I would certainly recommend this who wishes to listen to light entertaining music and words with out either being shouted at or listening to the performer's agonising love life. I would put Paddy Roberts in the same field as Jake Thakery but better although he does not have the variation of Tom Lehrer. All of whom I still find enjoyable even if nostalgia ain't what it used to be.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
Remember when my older sister bought this year's ago on its release .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
Although Paddy Roberts has written large amounts of music for others tghis album is nothing like them. This is his preferred personal genre. It's very old type music, not quite Music Hall,, but clever well written comedy songs. Well worth every penny.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
Sometimes rather arch, sometimes louche, occasionally risqué for the 1950s, this is a lovely reminder of the sort of songs we used to think were 'naughty' when we were very young. Now understanding the lyrics, it's hard to think what all the fuss was about. Mainly bought to remind myself of the lyrics to 'The Ballad of Bethnal Green', this three quid's worth brings back some happy memories of times long disappeared.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
Very funny,yet not rude in anyway by todays standards,just sheer fun to sit back ,relax and enjoy an innocent giggle with the very cleverly written words of Paddy Roberts.You will be sorry when it's over ,i'm now looking for more of his work.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2010
Bought this in memory of the vinyl LP I bought in the 60's.

Transferred it to my I pod and listen to it in the car. Quality is dire and nothing remotely like digital, however its harmless fun at its best.

The product arrived within a few days. No problems yet again.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
Why does a company market a product that has such poor sound quality and not warn the buying public what to expect? This CD was advertised as "original recording"! It sounded to me like someone had played their copy of the original LP to a microphone and recorded the songs with turntable rumble, record contact noise like there was dust or small scratches on the surface and atmosphere distortions. Do not buy unless prepared to enjoy Paddy Roberts' imaginative and clever lyrics as if you listening to a well-worn album 50 years ago. It is very poor sound quality.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2010
Although the product was delivered quickly as promised - and received in good condition, the audio quality of the CD was extremely poor. It appears to have been copied from a very worn 33rpm LP. The turntable and cartridge used were both noticeably poor in quality. There is distortion on most audio peaks, deck rumble and on parts of the recording, that awful regular sound produced as the possibly distorted LP rotates - a sort of scrunch - scrunch- scrunch sound.
This is a very poor amateur recording and should only be offered for sale with the appropriate warning inforemation.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
The first Paddy Roberts LP, now released on CD. Wonderful, very slightly naughty songs, sung in an inimitable way by the man who wrote them, so he knows exactly how to deliver the goods. A special favourite is "The Ballad Of Bethnal Green", but they are a delight.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
This CD arrived within a reasonable amount of time from first placing the order. Paddy Roberts is a very amusing lyricist and anyone with a sense of humour will enjoy his songs and quirky "take" on life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.00

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)