Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 March 2003
Sublime were one of the greatest bands to ever roam the music road. Unfortunately, they didn't get the recognition they deserved until Brad Nowell's untimely death.
40 oz. To Freedom is by far the best, deepest and most ambitious CD featuring dubs, raps, a bit of thrash, ska, punk and reggae. This CD will grow on you until you cannot live without your daily Sublime fix. I've had the CD since 1999 and I can say I still love listening to it as much now as on the day I bought it.
Standout tracks include Don't Push, Date Rape, Ebin, 5446/Ball and chain, and Scarlet Begonias.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2000
This is where it all started for Sublime, and as you listen you can practically hear the energy of the band at work. The songs deal with differant themes-fachism, rape, oral sex, "smoking two joints", but they all are recorded in a relaxed laid back manner, more typical of reggae than "ska-punk" in which Sublime are pigeon-holed. If you listen to the later self titled album then you will hear a contrast as later on Sublime did become more punk. Bradley Nowell's guitar work can be compared to the likes of Bob Marley and I personally think he deserves the same status as the afore-mentioned legend. It is difficult to pick out the best songs on this fine album as they are all of classic quality, although "date rape" and "smoke two joints" are the catchiest. Download one of the tracks from this page and if you like it buy the CD, then you will see why it is worth 5-stars.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2000
This has to be one of the most diverse and eclectic album's that I have ever heard, Tinged by the bands Massive taste in music we are treated to Punk (We're only gonna die), Stripped down Dub (Waiting for my Ruca), Feel good Reggae (Badfish)And hip hop (Scarlet begonias), The genius of the band is hard to find in some songs but after a couple of times of listening Brad Nowells creativity shines through, Underpinned by Eric Wilsons Bass and Bud Gaughs Ever reliable drumming, A must for all fans of this Much missed band.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2004
I got into sublime by listening to their followup album, self-titled. That is good to get into the band, but this cd really shows their versitility, Brad manages to provide some of the best punk, ska and reggae riffs whilst backing them up with everything from dubb, skacore and reggae vocals. Better known songs like 'smoke two joints' and 'date rape' are indeed excellent, but they only scratch the surface of this band which seem to be able to create a perfect sound with every style of music they create, and their tallent is second to none, something which is rarely the case with a band which whose material is prodominantly Ska.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2003
I'd recommend this album, In my opinion it's not quite as good as its successor- the self-titled "Sublime" but still a great buy. There's a good mix of punky guitar (We're gona die for our arrogance) and feel-good reggae songs (Badfish). The album has quite a raw sound to it, as it was made in Sublime's early days.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
Wondering if anybody could direct me to an online store to pick up this vinyl vers of the great sublime 40z have all albums, after records, especially this, wow to vinyl format and wowww to this art work! Cheers all, enjoy the music :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2004
This is a brilliant album. Sublime are one of the most versatile bands I know and this album shows them at their best. With a proper album length (twenty something tracks) and a brilliant general mix of dub, punk and ska, but with plenty of pop, hiphop, sampling and reggae, plus a couple of covers (rivers of babylon, scarlot burgonias), this is one of the best played albums I have. It has plenty of cool riffing and good vocals and all the songs are great. Oh, except for the punk songs, which suck. They should have just left that to real punk artists, but still, with the exception of a few crap tracks, this is an excellent album and if you don't have it, buy it, nick it, burn it or download it. NOW!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2005
Wow! This album is a must for the collection, great clever lyrics,punk/reggae/dub mix and some borrowed tunes do make for a good combo. These guys had a passion for music, they were'nt in it for the cash. Ten years after buying it and many copys stolen later I still listen to it alot.
The whole album rocks but my favourites are 'smoke two joints', 'bad fish', 'D.J.s' and the Bad Religion cover of 'were only guna die', but really I love them all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2003
This is a great album which is a mixture of punk, reggae, Ska and many other kinds of music. While some songs are quite heavy many songs on this album make it a really good chilled out smoker's album. So buy this album and smoke a big fat joint of sinsemilla while you listen to it and your problems will soon disapear.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2002
B4 i start this reveiw i feel i must say im NOT a ska/pop/punk fan.
you may hear people say that self titled is sublimes best album. This is wrong. Their debut album is one of the best albums put together in the last 20 years and hasnt got atall boring in the two years ive had it.(infact im listening to it for the second time running at the moment). this albulm has every thing you can expect from sublime, but the raw sounding production of these songs helps bring out brads emotion. despite being a big fan of self titled i must say it is a glossily produced peice of mainstream crap in comparison to this.
EVERY FAN OF SUBLIME SHOULD HAVE THIS ALBUM. and those who arnt should ne way.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)