Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
16
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£24.69
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 March 2012
Bought this book as I am a first time DB builder and Access user. I have the Excel 2010 bible and find it a very comprehansive and usuable volume, but I cannot say the same about this book.

It is simply badly put together, some sections are written as if the reader has been working with DBs for years, then the next section is so basic as to be laughable. I am a part-time VBA prgrammer in Excel, and struggled with the VBA in this book, as it simple doesn't explain with enough examples, and seems to not look at many of the uses I would think are quite standard in DB development.

And the errors are so frequent to make the book almost unuasable - text frequently refers to images that simply are not what is referred to, and many of the examples on the CD again do not match the text. Very frustating.

All in all this book did allow me to get going with my Access 2010 project, so it does merit a few stars - but only just.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
A very clear and usable way into Access.

I found this an understandable and very helpful book and I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to understand how access works and how to design a simple database.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
Never seen such a badly written book in my life! It's FULL of mistakes on every single page including factual mistakes. It's horrendously unorganized, and unreliable. I would not recommend this book even if it was offered for free!

Sorry not trying to attack anyone, just for the benefit of any one thinking of buying this book - Don't! Get another book "Access 2010 Inside Out" ISBN 9780735626850 is an excellent book! Very well written no mistakes and extremely reliable - you'll learn the best ways of doing everything in Access.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
As you might expect from the title this really does cover all aspects of Access for the part time developer. Lots of examples and gets you started with the new features really easily. Good index so you can find what you need.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
A very helpful book. The author clearly understands the subject perfectly and is able to communicate difficult concepts with clarity. Access is not a tool that can be rushed, so expect to need to study carefully to really develop competence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2010
Book contains too much complex stuff on VBA access, of little use to an average home user. Chapters 1-9 and 16-20 are useful and in general good, remainder is "professional".
My version contains many errors, omissions in text and diagrams- I have so far listed 9 in my far from complete reading. Book is not as useful to average user as was similar Access97 Bible by n Prague.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
Very poorly illustrated and impossible to follow. Examples are poorly explained. Not a book for someone trying to learn about the programme, it may be of some use for the expert programmer. When trying the examples there are clearly steps that have been omitted or poorly explained. Very disappointed will definitely be returning the item asap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2012
The book covers all you need to know develop to databases as a whole and Access databases in particular.Good as a reference material for developers as it comes up very handy when you need to refresh the brain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2011
Brilliant book, Covers every aspect of Access 2010 extensively. My husband is very happy with it and the cd is a bonus and supports the book perfectively.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
This book will give you all the information you will need to produce a simple or complex database. Worth the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)