Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
180
4.4 out of 5 stars
Aphrodite
Format: Audio CD|Change


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 January 2016
all the lovers
get outta my way
everything is beautiful
aphrodite

when kylie's much anticipated 11th studio album crashed straight to number 1 in the uk album charts, it gave her the accolade of being the only female artist to have a number 1 album in the 80s, 90's, 2000's, and 2010's. and after all these years, shes still cooking up fantastic pop music.

opening track and smash hit single all the lovers is a fantastic slab of dreamy pop and just gets better with every listen. get outta my way is classic kylie which sounds like spinning around, love at first sight and wow have been popped into a blender to create this catchy ditty.

the albums darker moment, closer, is a creepy electro dancetrack with pulsating harpsichord whilst the gorgeous everything is beautiful, penned by tim rice oxley of keane, is both stunning and sexy. the title track 'aphrodite' samples her own track 'heartbeat rock'live arrangement from the X tour, and is a fiesty anthemic pop powerhouse with a thumping military drum which would have marched it up the charts if it had been released as a single

all in all this a brilliant album for pop fans, it was packed full of potential singles, its also really cohesive and the tracks slide into each really well. an excellent addition to the kylie cannon!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
Just replaced a copy of this CD - Just arrived and annoying the neighbours, who I am sure are secretly singing and dancing along. Very upbeat and catchy and I think it is up there as one of my fave offerings by Ms Minogue
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2017
Perfect conditions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2017
Recommend to Kylie Minogue fans and anyone who wants to try something new if they've never listened to Kylie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2016
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2017
d
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2017
all ok!!! love it!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2012
What more can You say , if your a Kylie fan, Got the Blu-ray O2 Arena Conert too. This is never far from a Cd player, and now I have a car, albeit, needs New speakers, I can chill out with her any time. For some unkown reason, my blu-ray player gets stuck at number 5 track, and plays it over and over, any other player, even on the computor, or CD radio in car, is perfect.

Fun fun fun!

What a Showgirl She is!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
Such a great pop album from the Aussie gay pop icon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 May 2011
In ancient Greek mythology, Aphrodite was the goddess of love (and by extension, sex and allure). All three have their place in Kylie Minogue's latest pop album "Aphrodite," which reverberates with the best of Minogue's past few albums -- lots of deliciously infectious club beats, satiny cool melodies and luscious instrumentation, with her wispy voice in the middle of it all.

"Dance/It's all I wanna do/So won't you/Dance/I'm standing here with you/Why won't you move?" Minogue says softly over a building electronica beat. Then it explodes into a sinuous, writhing melody that assures her boyfriend, "All the lovers/That have gone before/They don't compare to you..." Up next: the beat-heavy, neon-tinged "Get Outta My Way," which sounds like a track cut from "Fever."

And there's plenty more to come -- the wild cascade of "Put Your Hands Up (If You Feel Love)" and "Can't Beat the Feeling," the silky merry-go-round of "Closer," the sparkling forceful title track, the champagne shimmer of "Illusion" and "Too Much," the thick beats and mellow flavor of "Better than Today," the charming "Cupid Boy," and the delicately frothy piano-and-strings-led "Looking For An Angel."

What did I not like? "Everything is Beautiful" is a nice song, but it feels... lackluster compared to the colorful, sparkling songs that surround it. And some of the beats in "Can't Beat the Feeling" sound like Mario Bros. music (don't hurt me!).

But despite those small flaws, "Aphrodite" is an intoxicating album -- imagine driving with your friends in an open-topped car on a hot summer night, surrounded by glittering signs, dance clubs and shimmering stars. That is what this album is like. It's an unadulterated guilty pleasure that also happens to be really entertaining; I dare you to put on some of these songs and not feel your feet twitch, just like with "Fever."

And for an album crammed with clubby dance music, Minogue manages to include a lot of musical variation here -- her danceable beats can be heavy and thick, ethereal and silky, flexible, or a rapid rain of silvery electronica. There's also some gauzy swirls of softer, cooler synth, blips and some heavy squiggling -- as well as some soft interludes of piano and strings that add an organic edge to the album.

As for Minogue, she sounds like she's having fun -- lots of songs focusing on how she wants to dance ("My heart plays a rhythm in my head, I can't help, but move"), or lose herself in her love for a "cupid boy" ("If only you knew I shimmer for you/Oh the very thrill of it!" she coos in that song).

"Aphrodite" is a welcome return to the sort of clubby, shimmery pop that Kylie Minogue does best, with lots of flourishes, sexy coos and intoxicatingly dancy melodies. Hard to listen to just once.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Fever
£5.64
X
£4.84

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)