Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
78
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£31.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2017
Classic collection. Kurosawa's work never goes out of fashion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
Having only seen Yojimbo one night on a 14inch Sony TV in the late 70's this is a revelatory experience.
Not seen all films yet - but just the Seven Samurai has wondrous breadth of character and action. 6 stars
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2010
To begin, obviously these are all brilliant movies, an almost perfect collection (but why no Rashomon? I guess the bandit isn't a samurai...).

However, there are two issues with the particular versions presented:
(1) Seven Samurai is the standard UK c.3h10m edit, which is c.20m shorter than the full Japanese version (or so I understand, I've only ever seen this version though myself).
(2) Yojimbo is supposed to be in anamorphic widescreen, according to the box, but isn't. It's widescreen but in 4:3 format with the result that it plays in a box in the middle of the screen on a modern TV (you can zoom in using the aspect ratio function on your telly, but that's not ideal as it reduces sharpness).

Basically, I get the impression that this is just a reboxing of several previous DVD releases together, rather than any kind of definitive / remastered type release. Don't be afraid to buy, as these are all awesome films, but do be aware that there are some mild issues.
22 Comments| 92 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
These films are brilliant great value I only wanted seven samurai but thought I might as well get four other akira kurosawa films for not much more if you price these up indevidualy they could cost a lot more as a huge samurai fan I am very happy with this set the transfers are good each film has a good story from a very good japanese director highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2016
While laid low with the flu for several days, I was stationed on my sofa in my duvet and literally devoured this boxset. Never mind "Chicken Soup for the Soul", the best remedy I can think of is "Kurosawa for the Soul".

Perhaps I was delirious with fever at the time, but the experience of watching these films in high-definition was absolutely remarkable. Especially surprising is how modern and fresh they feel, with a remarkable fluidity of action and character. Kurosawa is an artist in every sense of the word.

Three of the five films in this set are presented in the "Tohoscope" anamorphic ratio of 2.35:1, and the black and white visuals really sing on the blu-ray format. That's not to say that the other two -- Seven Samurai and Throne of Blood -- are presented badly, but that the others seem to have benefited the most from these transfers.

My only complaint is that Rashomon is not included in this set, nor Ran or Kagemusha, but I guess that's just me being greedy!

Eagerly looking forward to releases of the contemporary (non-period) Kurosawa films on blu-ray. Holding out hope that the BFI gets their mitts on "High and Low", "Drunken Angel", "Stray Dog", and "The Bad Sleep Well" very soon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2016
Kurosawa has been a director of note for many years and his movies reflect an uncanny ability in story telling. This collection is a great example of the man's talent and I look forward to revisiting the movies during the Christmas break.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2016
A good collection for a person who enjoys these type of dvds
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2016
The Seven Samurai stands out but they are all watchable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2016
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2016
Great product arrived next day very happy will buy again from trader
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)