Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2014
it was for a present. excellent purchase. he loved it, it was right up his street. very cheaply priced also.thankyou
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
Very informative, interesting, scenic, well presented. Well worth watching.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
I had high expectations after reading the book, which I rate very very high.
The documentary is good, solid but not at par. But then again one had to cramp loads of information into just a limited amount of DVD time too keep the viewer interested. So all in all, see the DVD first and then read the book. :-)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
I bought this for my 9 year old son, who has already watched it repeatedly. I have seen it with him at least twice, and I think it is a great attempt to link history of civilizations and geography, not just for kids !
Really worth the money, and I wish there was a sequel !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
Don't quite know what to make of this - so I'm giving it to my brother-in-law. He's an Academic and therefore knows everything. Or so he believes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
Not what I expected, the documentary took a long time to get to the parts I found interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2016
This video must be a must read for college students.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
Good very useful tool.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
Very good service, dvd arrived in good condition and quickly. An excellent interpretation of the book by Jared Diamond, everyone should see this at least once.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2009
This two DVD documentary is very obviously designed for the liberal audiences of Professor Diamond's politically correct Californian homeland. Although very professionally presented, with the slogan "guns, germs and steel" (and Jared Diamond's name), being repeated innumerable times; the historical content of this documentary is unfortunately both patchy and selective, being largely centred around the Spanish conquest of South America, where Prof Diamond's 'theory' does fit quite nicely. However; whilst a case can be made for plagues having played a major roll in human affairs, the effects of the Black Death on medieval Europe being a major example; I find it both amazing and tragic that this line of thought can be extended so radically without any meaningful disagreement!

Was Western civilization the only one to domesticate animals? or did they do the same elsewhere? Was Europe the only place to suffer from disease? I seem to remember that most of these plagues originated elsewhere; Smallpox from Africa, Bubonic Plague from Asia, Syphillis from South/Central America, Aids from Africa/West Indies, etc... etc...... Furthermore, the population now 'geographically fortunate' to be living in Europe and America originated far to the East amidst the windswept emptiness of the Asian steppes. The horse was the only real asset available in those far-off days and once domesticated, enabled the Germanic/Aryan peoples to arrive in Europe as 'nomadic' cavalry warriors centred around tribal wagon convoys in the 'Volkswanderung' migrations/invasions; which sparked the confrontation which destroyed the Roman Empire in the West. Earlier waves of migration had pushed south to establish the first civilizations of ancient Greece, Persia and India; but that's another story.

A thousand years later, the descendants of those same Germanic/Aryan invaders were still applying their naturally high intelligence to overcoming ever more of life's problems. Adapting gunpowder, inventing firearms, designing/constructing railways, and building ships seaworthy enough to cross the great oceans of the world. Our fore-fathers used those tools amongst others, to conquer the lands we now call America, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and the rest; exactly as their ancestors had conquered Rome.

We are now using the latest inventions of those same ancient bloodlines to first explore, and then develop, the Moon and planets of this Solar System. Given time, our children will develop the knowledge and build the technology that will enable them to reach even the most distant stars. Don't try and tell me it's all been a matter of germs and luck Mr Diamond. National characteristics and personal initiative/genius contributed massively; from the dawn of history right through to our own times.National Geographic: Guns, Germs and Steel [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
44 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)