Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
102
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2011
This game is both simple to play and quick to set up. It's ready to play from the box but counters or paper and a pencil can be helpful for keeping score. The objective is to be the first player to eat 13 brains without getting shot. The catch is that you must always roll three dice per "roll" with various weighting of risk and reward. Dice feature three different graphics representing brains - the objective, footprints - victim ran away and the die can be rolled again for a different result (as part of the three dice rule), shotgun blast - three hits and your turn is over. Brains and shotgun blasts are set at the side of your play area for your turn. Green dice are easy prey, yellow are intermediate and red dice represent tough opponents. Brains scored prior to gaining three shotgun blasts can be banked and play passed to another player, if you get three or more shotgun blasts in your turn then you don't get to bank any brains for that round.

Typically a game lasts 5 - 10 minutes when played with three or four players and can be played with any number upwards of two people. The packaging is a similar size to a can of soft drink so is easily portable but players with bigger hands may want to use a cloth bag for drawing dice as it's rather a tight fit to draw three dice blindly from the tube.

I often play this at the pub before and/or after a main Munchkin session with a regular crowd and is quite a popular choice. As a quick, easy to play distraction for 15 minutes or so it's ideal but can become tiresome if played for more than a few games back to back.
review image review image
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
Zombie Dice is a wonderful little game where you are a zombie trying to eat as many brains as possible without getting your head blown off by those pesky survivors. You randomly take 3 dice out of the cup and try to roll brains, rerolling any runners and trying to avoid getting shot. You keep any brains and shots rolled. You can continue randomly picking up to 3 dice to keep rolling (pushing your luck at time when all you have left are red dice that mean it is far more likely you will get shot) or stop picking more dice and your turn at any point and mark down how many brains you ate.

The game is fast to play and if often over in 5 minutes so it is a great filler to play between games or at the end of a gaming night, or you can just keep having as many games as you like. The game has a fairly low target number of brains to eat before the game ends so we usually increase that to have longer games, but the design and rules are so elegantly simple it is a work of genius.

Easily one of my favourite games.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
Such a simple yet fun dice game. Quick to play, easy to learn but always with enough interest to keep it fun. You have a cup of dice, take three (without look) roll with the hope of getting'good side up. Simple. But the fun comes with deciding if you stick and keep the points or roll again for more but risk losing all your points that turn. Like the hare and tortoise, do you build your score slowly or be a bit greedy and gamble on a few more. The fact that the bad sides are gun shots to kill you and the good sides are the opportunity for you as a zombie to eat human brains just rounds off the game's humourous and silly side and of course helps tease the teens off their mobiles for some real people interaction. Sure it's aimed at adults and older children and the principal would work just the same with bunnies eating lettuce and a farmer with a net but but who doesn't like some nice clean Zombie fun every now and then. We all loved it, totally recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
This is very much a silly, push your luck style filler game. there is no tactical play involved. Its just rolling dice and deciding whether to stick or twist and push your luck for more points. And yet for all its simplicity, it is fun. One of the advantages of the game is that due to its nature it can be played by any number of players (could even be played solo if you really wanted to). My Mum, who is in her 60's, played this and enjoyed it. Not one she would want to own but would certainly play it given the chance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2015
One thing I love is a fun, family friendly and pocket sized game. This fits the bill perfectly. My 8yo said the pictures on the shaker were a bit scary at first but still very much enjoys the game. The shaker is very noisy with dice in it so I cut a circle of card and wedged it to the bottom to quiet it down a bit - worked nicely. Very simple game mechanic, good fun, nice and quick to play. Great stuff.

I help to run aboard gaming group at work and this is a great little ice breaker to get things started. You can have any number of players but if you go too high, say more than 12, you will end up waiting a fair bit between turns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
This is a well made and well designed game. The game tube is made of a strong plastic, not cardboard as I originally thought, so it’s very sturdy and okay to shake the dice about in. The dice themselves are all of high quality and are engraved with the logos on, rather than having stickers. I love how easy it is to pick up and it is suitable for all the family. It only takes around 10 minutes to play depending on how many people you play with, so this is a great game to play to pass the time or whilst waiting for another game to be set up. Overall I love it and can’t wait to play it again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
Cool little game that hooks you in. We keep the pot next to us on the sofa at home, and usually one of us will randomly pick it up and start a game whilst we're watching TV! It's very quick to play, and fun too. We played it as a group of 4 at a pub quiz the other day, in-between rounds. We started making stupid sounds when people rolled things...so we'd all say 'braaaaaaains' when someone got brains, or 'run away run away' in the style of Monty Python (Holy Grail) when people rolled the feet. It's the sort of game you can make as silly or sensible as you like!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 June 2015
This game is what it is, a simple portable game with good quality dice. The theme is ok but it could be anything to be honest.

I saw it played on Tabletop and they made a great job of making this game seem a lot more exciting than the reality is.

I don't think it's a bad game and as a little filler while someone is out of the room or in between games it fulfils a purpose but you can bore of it quickly and it is purely luck based with next to no skill involved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
I can only really add to the steady stream of praise already directed towards this game. For what it is, it’s brilliant.

I’ve often seem Zombie Dice referred to as a ‘Gateway’ game - an introduction to the wider world of Tabletop gaming – and I’ve found that to be true. I’m a long-lapsed Tabletop and RPG gamer, and have recently been looking at getting back into the hobby. I’ve been circling games like Zombicide, King of Tokyo and Pandemic, all of which are many factors more complicated and strategic than Zombie Dice; but they’re also quite expensive and intimidating for newcomers. Zombie Dice is neither of these things, and all the better for it.

This version of the game consists of 13 dice, a rule sheet, and a cardboard tube which can be used for storage and play. Thematically the game’s pretty simple. Players take on the role of Zombies while the dice represent Survivors (whose brains you naturally want to eat!). Turns, dice rolls, and a ‘Push Your Luck’ game mechanic (think Blackjack, kinda) let the scenario play out in roughly 10 minutes per game. Competitive play requires a minimum of 2 players but I can’t see there being any upper limit, and if you wanted to play solo it’s not impossible – trying to get 13 brains in one turn would be a lonely task but something of an achievement!
The real strength of Zombie Dice is how easy it is to pick up and play. I’d consider myself fairly geekily-minded and was able to learn how to play in 5 minutes or so, but my girlfriend (who’s decidedly non-geeky) picked it up just as quickly…and proceeded to beat me on our first 2 games >_> Once the basics are learned, you start seeing a slightly deeper element of strategy to the game as well; identifying how many of the easy, medium and hard dice are left in play when you decide to re-roll. It’s a minor but important element of the game which does add a layer of tactical thought to your Turn, and as such it’s a clever and welcome inclusion by Zombie Dice’s designers.

All of the above and the game’s £10(ish) price tag should mean that you feel pleased with your purchase, and might well leave you tempted to dip your toe deeper delve into the Tabletop gaming waters. For myself, it seems like moving up to King of Tokyo wouldn’t be too much of a stretch...and I might now be able to persuade my girlfriend to try a few rounds of that too! A brilliant little game that deserves every kind word said about it, you don’t need to be overloaded with brrrrrrrrrrrraaaaaaaaaiiiinnns to see this as a sound investment!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
This is the 2nd set of zombie dice bought by us. A good game, I enjoy playing this, even when I lose. However this set has been sent to Father Christmas for my grandson who will undoubtedly like playing the dice as much as I do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here