Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
68
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2010
Damages is one of, if not the best legal drama on TV. If the rumours are true and this is the final season, then the show goes out with a bang, rather than a whimper. Glenn Close is on top form as usual as ruthless Patty Hewes, as is Rose Byrne as Ellen Parsons, who no longer works for Patty but still manages to get caught up in her world. This season has so many twists and turns and in usual Damages fashion, results in one hell of a shocking first episode, which plays out over the season through a series of flashbacks/flashforwards. The only strange aspect of this season I was not overly thrilled about was the return of Ted Danson as Arthur Frobisher, who's rise and fall are being made into a movie. I thought this whole storyline was unnecessary, but at the same time, it was still an enjoyable distraction from the rather depressing albeit gripping main season-long storyline involving the Tobin family. Ted Danson is great as Frobisher, but I just thought it was a strange reason to bring the character back. Other notable performances this season include Tate Donovan as Tom Shayes, Lily Tomlin as Marilyn Tobin, Martin Short as Leonard Winstone and a brief return from the fantastic Timothy Olyphant as Wes Krulik (he returns in the season finale). The season finale ties up all the loose ends of the season but also helps to wrap up other stories from earlier in the show, and would serve very well as a fitting series finale, if the rumours are true. However, until it has been confirmed, we can all hope and dream that this fantastic show will grace our screens again next year.
22 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2010
Please don't listen to a certain review below, whilst season 2 was a dip in form, season 3 is gripping, not just one of the best legal dramas, one of the best tv shows. Period.

We can only hope for season 4, but if not, season 3 was a good way to go out.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2010
Damages 3 begins with high drama (especially so for those who know the first two series because the drama concerns a key player who had thus far been relatively unscathed by the action). The opening events are unexpected and unexplained (until the end! As with the first two series the watcher is then taken back and forth between the narratives of the present and the narratives of the past building to an explanation of the opening shocking scenes. It helps to have seen the first two series because those stories are picked up here as threads in the overall plot. Glenn Close is, as always, spellbinding but the other players including Ted Danson are also excellent. The plot is intricate and complex (so better to watch on dvd than tv because you can pause to work it out!) The side narrative about Glenn Close's son is well woven in and really gripping with its unexpected turns of event. The overall production - photography, music, locations - are an integral part of the pleasure. Excellent! Enjoy!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
Series two of Damages seemed to lose its way a little, but here Patty is back to her devious best.

The familiar format of showing you an event in "flash forward" and the main action explaining how we got there.

If you had doubts about series two, this is a reassuring return to the style and tension of series one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
Great entertainment and excitement
For a very fair cost we the family will enjoy again and again by one and all.
So can I now take a moment please on behalf of our whole family group to state loudly here and now
...`We Thank You`
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
Fantastic as always. This series doesn't disappoint. Contrary to other reviewers I find the whole set of series fantastic. This series continues the journey. Not keen on the repeated 6 months ago, 3 months later, to-ing and fro-ing makes it difficult at times to keep up with the story at times but it all comes together at the end. Glenn Close is just fabulous - ice cold.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2011
Whilst it was always going to be difficult to live up to the original and gripping first series, Damages has always remained great TV. Ok, it is not perfect... the plots might get a little over convoluted and the stretch the bounds of credibility, but for sheer entertainment value I give it 5 stars. After the dip in form of the (still watchable) second series, the third series is back on form and it is the strong cast that really holds this show together. Buy and enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
A friend suggested I watch these and I am glad I did. Glenn Close and Rose Byrne are excellent in the lead roles. This is the story of a ruthless, successful lawyer who is tempered by a more human assistant. The storylines are great. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2011
Thoroughly enjoyed Season 3 of Damages. It is entertaining, intriguing and reveals the darker side of legal and business firms. It deals with issues that we presently hear about on the news from American and in the UK/Europe. Family life is one of the main victims as family members come to a bloody end. The characters have their own agenda and end game. Some act inconscionably while others are devastated by guilt. Patti, the main partner in the legal firm, tries to keep the real issue in her sights as the case unravels itself. Eager to see Season 4.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2011
Received the complete box set for Christmas and loved the first and second season, but was incredibly disappointed with the third. I truly don't understand how a production team could let something like this past the gate. Patty and Co. stumble round an incredibly mundane plot with a bewildering array of pointless characters and dull subplots - special mention needs to be made of the Frobisher film strand (why?). Gone are the larger than life villains of the previous seasons, instead we are stuck following the Tobin family in an ever increasing circle of mediocrity as they attempt to cover their crime - Yawn. What a shame.
22 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)