Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
248
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£3.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2013
This movie has nearly all the makings of an Epic motion picture. It has an exotic setting, a new crisp plot, plenty of action, and a beautiful woman. Our hero starts out as a street orphan who champions goodness against the Persian army as he jumps around rooftops like the Phantom. However, once he becomes adopted by the king, he loses a lot of personality. He is not as colorful as other leading men in Epic films, mostly due to the writers who gave him lousy lines.

What was really missing in this movie outside of exceptional dialogue was humor. I don't mean turn the movie into a comedy, but when you want to be compared to Pirates..., Indian Jones, or other epics such as Star Wars or even the grand daddy of them all LOTR, they all had some comical element in them with leading men that were able to deliver those lines. This movie lacked that human element and it showed as it failed to hook me.

In spite of the inability of either the script writers or director to create great characters, the plot, action and scenery were enough to carry the film to where it would be enjoyable. There was one "joke" as the princess kept an amulet with the sands of time in it on a necklace located at her cleavage...the last place anyone would look, except maybe Prince Dustin who noticed it right off.

Yes, there is a time travel element to it, but it is not really a time travel movie, i.e. it is not bogged down with nerdy time travel paradoxes. Time travel was a gift from the unnamed god(s).

The movie has a happy ending with a message of hope as well as violence, killing, and snakes. I consider it better entertainment than Robin Hood, or Iron Man II.
4 1/2 stars.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
I was impressed with this movie. There seem to be a lot of people who don't like it and I've heard a lot of bad stuff myself from friends etc . . . However, I have to disagree. This movie isn't the disaster many people make it out to be. I think the problem stems from people expecting it to be like Pirates of the Caribbean, but in the desert. Same studio and the way the movie looks can certainly put this misconception across.

All in all, the story is enjoyable. It has its moments where you wish the dagger would stop getting lost or stolen but that's just the way they've done it. It's supposed to be a fun kid's adventure and that is what it is. The effects are nice and not overdone and I loved the sets and costumes. Acting is good - not meant to be Oscar winning stuff - in a fun, light-hearted kind of way. Jake Gyllenhaal is a convincing lead and pulled off a role I was expecting him to fail miserably in.

The kids will love this movie. You'll probably love this movie. Don't be put off by a few bad reviews.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 December 2013
This fantasy adventure film was made for pure entertainment and it fills this role pretty nicely. Not a masterpiece but a nice watch. Below, some more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

As the title indicates this film was inspired by the old computer game "Prince of Persia", of which it keeps the premise (Thousand and One Nights-like lands), the main hero Dastan, who actually is kind of a prince of Persia (even if he was adopted, not born in royalty) and the swashbuckling and acrobatic character of story. Jake Gyllenhaal is maybe not exactly the kind of actor I would immediately associate with adventure/action films but in this one he proves that with enough makeup, CGIs and the help of a battalion of stuntsmen anybody can be a hero... Which is kind of a heartening message... Also, as dialogs in this film are not half bad, the actor playing the heroic prince can actually do here some occasional acting, between two acrobacies covered by his stuntsmen.

All those who enjoyed the three old "Sinbad" films will most probably like this film too. As always in this kind of movies there must also be an evil guy and here this role is played by no other than Sir Ben Kingsley - who is really a pleasure to watch.

Also, there must be a chick in slave's outfit and lo and behold, there is one and a very pleasant sight she is, as she is played by Gemma Arterton. Her character, Tamina, has the necessary shapes and also quite a mouth, which she doesn't hesitate to put to good use once she meets the prince - for dialogs, of course... Because, you know, dialogs are good... And ever since Leia all princesses need to have a mouth which they put to good use once they meet an attractive guy - for dialogs, of course... Because, you know, dialogs are good... OK, I stop here.

The film is visually quite pleasant and this is why I bought it on Blu-ray (it was actually the first Blu-ray I ever bought) and it was a good decision.

Bottom line, this is a film made for pure entertainment and quite good for this kind of thing, with some good action, good effects, some nice verbal sniping between the two main characters and a guaranteed happy ending, complete with the obligatory betrothal and the promise of glorious bedding - I mean wedding... Enjoy!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
I don't know about you but on these dreary, wet and windy days and nights there is nothing like a bit of escapism is there? PLUS Jake is in it so that can't be bad!!

It's an interesting and entertaining story about love, time travel, greed and power. It has the Arabian Nights feel to it and has some amusing moments too. Gemma looked pretty and was feisty playing opposite Jake.

I would recommend it to those who want to escape to a warmer climate!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
I bought this film because I love it. It's great on Blu-Ray, the HD quality helps to show off the special effects and locations used in the film. I won't go into detail about the plot, I just really enjoy the action, the combat, the special effects, mysticism/magical elements and the twists and turns throughout the film. I really enjoy the storyline and have watched it multiple times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2016
A fantasy feature in which rival prince and princess attempt to stop a world conqueror from using a magic artefact - a dagger. Unfortunately the leads do not display any chemistry between them and the film struggles to stay afloat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
Well I think the 2010 Disney film of the Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time is a brilliant purchase to own because it has many twists and turns everywhere it is great for all the family to watch a gritty sense of suspension and it is action packed from the beginning to the end. First of all the main character. I think that the actor of Jake Gyllenhaal did a brilliant performance as the Prince of Persia because he is fantastic and he has a good sense of humour. Secondly the Spider Man Two actor of Alfred Molina did a tremendous job as Sheikh Amar because he has a true perspective of the nature within his character. Thirdly the Quantum of Solace actress of Gemma Arterton is lovely and beautiful as her character of Princess Tamina. Finally the villain within the film. Folks I give you Sir Ben Kingsley. I mean he means tough business as his character of Nizam. Overall this film is brillant and I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in Disney or a fan of watching films. Thank you Amazon.co.uk. Five stars all round!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
VIDEO:

The 1080p 2.40:1 AVC picture is a stunning cinematic experience, with a warm colour palette that perfectly captured the age-old desert settings. Contrast is excellent. Hues are rich and warm. Blacks are deep and solid. Resolution is also sharp, revealing fine facial and texture details. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

The DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 is dynamic with good work-out for all the surround speakers plus the subwoofers. The music by Harry Gregson-Williams enhances the mood with full orchestral treatment befitting of the storytelling. (4.5/5)

FINAL THOUGHTS:

For the viewers with anamorphic lens, I am glad to inform you that the subtitles are within the stretched picture frames. Thank you Disney for listening to our complaints.

The movie was supposed to derive from a video game. There was a mild surprise twist to the ending, which I will not give away here. It was an enjoyable 116 minutes. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2011
A Good family film not to be missed, from the word go its action packed, the film is well thought out and starts off fun and friendly, then our main star is set up for a fall, but as time passes the truth comes out to why his father was murdered.
Can the Prince Prevail........watch it and see :0)
9.5/10
Overall this film is really worthy of a watch, i was pleasantly surprised by everyone involved within this film Nice 1.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 November 2015
I guess ultimately it is what it is, a Disney backed video game adaptation of the blockbuster kind.

In truth it works just fine and dandy as a family fantasy adventure, with swords and sandals - shields and sarongs, all in abundance. There's the mythical and the magical, the swish and the swash, the HD photography a treat for the eyes. The leads are pretty, likable and energetic, and even though it consistently reminds us that it is based on a video game (jumping and rolling, jumping and rolling), the choreography is niftily arranged and there's a lovely old fashioned feel to the story; which works in that wonderful Sinbadish way.

Not perfect by any stretch of the imagination, and if one was so inclined? One could deconstruct the faults of the production with the same clinical impact of that achieved by Ben Kingsley's (Sir) wallet when it hit the floor after this paycheck was deposited. It should be viewed in the spirit of how Alfred Molina plays his character, with tongue in cheek and a complete understanding of how to have a good time with popcorn fluff. Prince of Persia is forgettable come the end credits, but at least it was a fun date. And for that we are truly grateful. 7/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse