Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
92
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 February 2015
Good sequel. Only really bought it for the nostalgia value and was not disappointed. If it wasn't linked to the original film then I think it would have just been another film and would not have really stood out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
I have not seen the first film but this sequel was, IMO, a good follow up. It has Susan Sarandon in also. I couldn't tell you what the films about, that's all way over my head. But from what I did understand it didn't suck.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 8 December 2013
This film arrives with impressive credentials, how could it possibly live up to its predecessor. Contrary to expectations Oliver Stone, an unsubtle and bombastic director, has produced a fairly disposable lifestyle movie with a comfortable moral at its heart.

Although like its predecessor it has a Byrne/Eno soundtrack, it is not the harsh mechanical tracks from My Life in the Bush of Ghosts, but later far more mellow fare.

Throughout it is shot like an advert for the lifestyles of rich bankers. The film does not so much hit the odd wrong note within a symphony, as attempt to play Beethoven on a stylophone. The banking jargon is all complete cobblers, the characters are either stereotypes or unconvincing, and the best thing here is Michael Douglas tired but still retaining a dangerous twinkle in his eye.

If you can discard any expectations of a hard edged and insightful critique of the 2007/8 crash, then this is impressive eye candy, constantly engaging, and it rightly puts Douglas at its centre, as a reformed and contrite Gordon Gekko, or is he?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
While this is far removed from the classical British TV Stock Market series 'Capital City' 10 stars!, non the less, it is a great watch, and I actually watched Wall Street soon after it. I enjoyed both. Very pleased at the used price I paid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
I will say the acting was good and the film moved along. The opening scene of Gordon Gekko (Michael Milken type) getting out of prison and getting his belongings made me long to watch the "Blues Brothers." The soundtrack sounds like a bad Beatles cover bad. They really didn't think hard there. Once out, Gordon writes a book about the coming collapse on Wall Street. The crash of 2008 provides a background of corruption, greed, stock manipulation, etc. for a drama that centers around Gordon, his estranged daughter and her Wall Street boyfriend. If you are looking for a good film which exposes the collapse, this isn't it. If you are looking for a movie which is true and the names of the characters have been changed, this isn't it. If you are looking for a heart warming drama with a happy ending, you've come close, but a lot of the background jargon interferes that warm and fuzzy feeling you are supposed to develop for the characters. Cary Mulligan as Winnie was perhaps the person we could identify with the most, although her character's disdain for her father was a bit unbelievable. This appears to be a half-hearted effort by Oliver Stone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 November 2010
What a disappointment. The original Wall Street seemed to capture a particular moment. Given current and recent events you would think there could not be a better time for a sequel.

Unfortunately this film is just plain dull. The story does light up a bit whenever Gordon Gecko is involved (the release from jail and his lecture both being quite hilarious) but the rest of the time this piece completely failed to engage me. In fact (and this is absolutely true I swear) somewaht ironically , bearing in mind the subtitle, I fell asleep watching this.

If the film had featured more of Michael Douglas' lizard-like performance (well why do you think they called the character Gecko) then the film might have been salvaged, but to me the rest was just a waste of time and money.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2010
Hugely disappointing sequel to the excellent Wallstreet; Money never sleeps begins well with Gecko's release from jail but whilst I don't dislike Shia Labeouf I do think he is badly miscast along with Carey Mulligan who we later find out is Gecko's estranged daughter. The two principals before in this role were Charlie Sheen and Daryl Hannah who both played convincing characters who enjoyed riding the financial crest of an eighties wave.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
UK fans of Oliver Stone's 5-star "Wall Street" and its 3-star sequel should note the following if they're buying on BLU RAY.

“Wall Street” and “Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps" on 'US' 20th Century Fox BLU RAYS are both REGION A LOCKED - so they won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

The obvious option is to go for the 'UK' BLU RAY bundle of both films.

But if you're up for more – the original 1987 "Wall Street" film has also been re-issued Stateside in 2012 by Oliver Stone as a 'Filmmakers Signature Series' edition - and this 20th Century Fox BLU RAY is REGION FREE. It offers the amazing "Greed Is Good" behind-the-scenes extra that runs for nearly a whole hour.

Confusing I know - but that's Region Coding for you...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2010
Let no-one pretend that Oliver Stone's original Wall Street, a legend in its own right, wasn't a cheesy, glitzy, bombastic pastiche. That's what made it so good: Stone's singular genius has always been his ability to harness the oceans of cheese, syrup, paranoia and hyperbole at Hollywood's disposal to make his point. To complain that this long-awaited sequel is frequently simplistic or corny, at least by comparison, is therefore well wide of the mark. Stone doesn't do art house, and you can expect, among flowing rivers of stock-tickers, coursing Madison Avenue traffic and tumbling dominoes, to be walloped fairly firmly over the head with every significant development in the film. You may have no fear of blinking: you won't miss anything. Except, perhaps, the significance of the rheumy-eyed and wizened old grandee who pops up at critical points in the drama to do portentous whistling bird impersonations. That stumped me completely, and I dare say I wasn't the only one.

Instead, give thanks that Gordon Gekko is back: An aged Michael Douglas has a whale of a time throughout: the eyes may be dimmer, the brow more creased, but the sparkle is there. As it is with the film, as long as it follows the money (advice Gekko would endorse): it is liquid, volatile, assured, intelligent, incisive and surprisingly even handed in its assessment of the latter day moral hazard.

It gets more mired when it goes offroad into the illiquid, sticky depths of the tangled Gekko family history: Carey Mulligan, as Gekko's daughter Winnie, battles with a conflicted (bordering on nonsensical) role prone to winsome smiling, floods of tears and a tendency to walk out at (and sometimes before) the first sign of trouble. Gekko's motives are confused: the film can't decide whether he's in this for reconciliation posterity, for revenge, or simply "for the game". Perhaps, in a way, that's the moral point.

Similarly, Shia LaBeouf's Jacob Moore fluctuates between cocksure, instinctive prop trader, misty eyed eco dreamer (he thinks he's stumbled on something sounding awfully like a perpetual motion machine) and dopey, gullible rookie kid depending on how the situation presents itself. Moore is more Ralph Maccio than Charlie Sheen: he's too earnest by half, and too nice by three quarters, it being the 2000s and all (apparently mankind gave up philandering in the late 1980s). As a result, despite talking a lot about it, the film never quite generates the same electricity that its predecessor mustered in 1987.

Gordon Gekko remains the beating heart of the film. Around him twirl flying ticker tape, bouncing stock charts and bubbles of all shapes and sizes: bubbles which, as we know, cause destruction, but which Stone gently reminds us (as in a children's party) can transfix us with fascination, (as in the Cambrian explosion) are the source of all life and (as in the womb) are the source of regeneration. This is no anti-capitalise screed: We need bubbles: it is a lesson of physics as much as economics that there is no return without risk

In 1987 Gordon Gecko carefully qualified his famous statement: "Greed," he said, "for lack of a better word, is good". With his allusion to evolution, revolution, the passage and renewal of life and the inevitable cycle of human frailty, in 2010 Oliver Stone has found that better word: greed is inevitable.

Olly Buxton
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Gekko is promoting his book, his estranged daughter Winnie is a political muckraker engaged to Jake Moore, a hot-shot Wall Street trader, and an old nemesis of Gekko's, Bretton James, devours the firm Jake works for.

When Jake's mentor takes his life, Jake wants revenge and Gordon may be the perfect ally. Can Jake maintain Winnie's love, broker a rapprochement with her father, get his revenge, and find funds for a green-energy project he champions?...

A belated sequel to a classic film is sometimes uncalled for, but in this instance, this film is very topical and one feels that it was only made due to the 2008 financial meltdown.

The best thing in the film, Langella, is only in it for the opening act, but sets the whole story moving. And because Langella puts in such a great performance, the rest of the film sadly goes downhill from there, but only slightly.

For once, Labeouf is watchable, and isn't as unlikable as he is in his other movies, but there isn't much chemistry between him and Mulligan, and as they are more or less the central characters, they sub-plot is quite boring and there scenes feel lethargic.

Douglas on the other hand, is what you expect, a little more vulnerable in some instances, but still the man. And you can tell he knows this film wouldn't have been made if it wasn't for him, as he swaggers around in his scenes and is effortlessly cool whenever he utters a line. And kudos to him for making Gekko more human this time around.

Whenever the more seasoned actors are on screen (Brolin et al), the film is electrifyimg and is as good as the original, but these scenes are few and far between and Brolin doesn't get as much screen time as his character deserves.

These are a few minor gripes though, the film is slickly made and has the Stone trademark to the film, but the yuppie thing is missing, and that was a pivotal point of Wall Street.

So all in all, it's a good movie, sometimes pretty pointless, but it's good to see what Gordon did next.

The Sheen cameo is nostalgic, but feels very awkward and is pointless
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)