Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Amazon Music Unlimited Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
85
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
82
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 12 October 2010
In the cult tradition of SPARTACUS, the halls of every science department now echoes: "I AM SHELDON"!

Currently into its fourth season, THE BIG BANG THEORY proved to be one of the most funny TV sitcoms ever aired. I had not laughed out loud this hard ever since the best days of FRASIER and SEINFELD - and BIG BANG is **consistently** brilliant!

Sheldon Cooper is unavoidably the king of the show - the massive black hole this Universe revolves around if you will. A child prodigy, now a 24 years old theoretical physicist PhD with absolutely no social skills or known sexual drive. Sheldon may be on the verge of unifying the fields but cannot drive a car to save his life or break a smile even remotely resembling that of a mere homo sapiens.

Leonard Hofstadter is Sheldon's roommate and primary ...keeper. An experimental physicist himself, he juggles Sheldon's idiosyncrasies with his personal neurosis - not to mention his crush on his neighbor Penny. Which crush, like lunar eclipses, follows a predicted yet unavoidable periodicity.

Howard Wolowitz is the only one with no PhD yet (and Sheldon never lets him forget it). An electrical engineer whose crowning achievement is a mechanized arm that is used in the space shuttle (and is now working on its liquid waste management solutions). He also managed to wreck the Mars rover in hopes of landing a girl - but he made sure no one can prove anything.
The fact that he is a short man with a severely outdated and misguided sense of fashion, still lives with his mother, insists on using a collection of pickup lines straight from men's magazines advice columns - and yet carries himself as God's gift to women is just hilarious.
Now, if only he could find a practical use for that mechanized arm...

Rajesh Koothrappali is a particle astrophysicist with a fashion sense close to absolute zero and a severe case of shyness - to the point that he cannot speak in front of women unless inebriated. He keeps using the "poor Indian" defense although his father is a rich doctor who drives a Bentley.

Finally, Penny. She is the proverbial good girl next door who came to California with stardom aspirations but so far works as waitress and suffers a sequence of bad boyfriends (Sheldon has in fact calculated the exact number of them, extrapolated from a bell-curve that started at 14)- and, obviously, from her neighbors.

The show unavoidably makes use of previous sitcom combinations (the odd couple, the unfulfilled love-interest mismatch) but even if one manages to discern them they are used in such a fresh manner that all that is left is great entertainment!

The way to truly enjoy this is to own it on DVD. The writing is so smart and the jokes fly so fast (many of them non-verbal) there is just no way to savor it during its weekly air time. Well, may be Sheldon could but then again, who can compare his intellect with his?

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
33 comments| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
Big Bang Theory is both hilarious and smart at the same time. My favourite character is Howard but all the guys plus Penny are good.

With this box set you get the best of this show. The first two seasons are great and the third one is almost as good.

The fourth and fifth seasons though are leaning a bit too much towards grosse out and sexual humour, at the cost of the more clever stuff from the first couple of seasons. And a few not very funny side characters get too much space. I might get a zillion not helpful votes for pointing this out, since BBT is kind of a holy cow among its fans. But this is my opinion.

But if you buy this box you'll get the best of the best.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2010
I only discovered TBBT about a year back and am totally addicted. This is a good value set at Amazon's price. 10 DVDs altogether; episodes plus a few extras like a tour round the set and a gag reel. Frankly though, they don't add much and they don't need to. TBBT is hilarious. As Sheldon says "the game is fun, the science is real". Theoretical physics meets sitcom - superb. If you know anyone in the field, or you're at uni, or working in one, or a research facility, you'll immediately recognise these socially-inept geeks obsessed by computer games, Star Trek and comic books. Combine that with astronomically-high IQs and a prom-queen waitress neighbour and it is just very funny. Thank goodness series 4 is about to start here (E4, 4th November 2010, 9pm)
TBBT - Live Long and Prosper
Kapla!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2011
"The Big Bang Theory" advanced from this small sitcom about two nerds to a primetime series with (as fasr as I know) 12 million viewers per average. And I think after watching the first two episodes, maybe the first three, you'll know why.

It's hard to describe this kind of comedy in one word. "Sitcom" fits the genre, but it doesn't describe what's REALLY going on there. Highly intelligent jokes, wordplays, brilliant actors in roles you'll buy right off. The acting is good (especially Jim Parsons.. oh my, saw some interviews and thought "he kind of IS Sheldon.")
Fast-flying jokes, verbal and non-verbal really are a huge factor of this series. The different characters, which you cannot even describe in few sentences... deep characters, everyone with their own story which is revealed step by step.
It's funny, yes, but it's funny on a highly intelligent level. Nothing against flat comedy, but THIS, this is just awesomely funny.

You don't have to be an expert when it comes to Lord of the Rings, Star Trek, Comic Books or World of Warcraft... you don't even have to know much about physics (I think you don't have to know anything at all... ;) ) to understand the jokes. But it's definitely funnier if you do.
And just expect your inner nerd to be revealed. I always thought I was "a bit nerdy" but hell no, I'm a huge nerd, as it seems.

So: Totally recommended! Watch it. Have a good laugh and much fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
In my humble opinion the Big Bang Theory is the best thing I have seen on TV for many years, It's fantastic!
It follows the lives of four science nards and a new neighbour Penny (played by Kaley Cuoco, from 8 Simple Rules)
who moves in across the hall from two of the guy's, Sheldon & Leonard.
The whole thing mainly revolves around Sheldon (played by Jim Parsons) who is a 100% nut job, but is brilliant.
He knows all there is to know about known science & technology, but if you were to ask him if he had ever seen "U2"
he would likey say no they fly too high.
It takes a while to get to know the characters, but then it's just pure magic all the way.
Within the two weeks that I've had the box set of series 1-3 I have not stopped watching it, when I've seen the last
episode on series 3 I go back to the start of series one & watch it all again! I'm completely addicted to it.
Can't wait for the series Four DVD release in September 2011.
It the best comedy I've seen in over a decade...................go on treat yourself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2011
I remember when this first came on channel 4. When the first episode aired on TV i watched it for about 15 minutes, decided that i didnt like it and switched it off......how stupid was I? Nearly 4 years later and after reading loads of reviews on amazon and the fact that the show was still going strong i thought i'd make a leap of faith and buy the full season 1-3 boxset. I'm so glad that i did as i absolutely love it!

Being a bit of a geek myself the jokes are so funny and things that have happened in the show remind me of my own life in places (spending hours in comic book shops)

My fave character is Howard out of all them. Sheldon can be an annoying character in places but his lack of social interaction skills are funny to watch.

I would recommend this programme to anyone. In a way I'm glad waited to get into it as i can just watch one after another on the DVDs without having to wait a week.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
I'm a big fan of TV comedy, both British and American. Unfortunately, recent years have seen the era of great British TV comedy come to an end, and even the U.S. hasn't really produced anything of serious quality since the era of Frasier, Seinfeld, Everybody Loves Raymond and Friends (the first five or six seasons only). Recent shows tend to be cliche-riddled rehashes of old formula's that just fall flat, with precious few exceptions (e.g 30 Rock, Two And A Half Men, Arrested Developement). Then there is The Big Bang Theory....
It's an excellent show, very cleverly written with characters that are so endearing, it's impossible to pick a favorite. Sheldon Cooper is superb, one of TV's greatest ever characters, easily ranking alongside George Costanza (Seinfeld), Frasier Crane (Cheers/Frasier), Del Boy Trotter (Only Fools And Horses), Victor Meldrew (One Foot In The Grave) and Homer Simpson. The simplicity of the plots in most of the episodes yields such hilarious results, it almost catches you by surprise. I mean, if anybody told you that a show centered around four misfit nerds that play computer games, visit comic book stores and spend hours debating the merits of various fictional superheroes is one of the funniest on TV today, you'd have a hard time believing it. I certainly was when first told about this show. And then I watched an episode, and the rest is history....
This box set is excellent value, as each season just gets funnier. By the time you are watching the last episodes of season 3, you'll almost be wishing the season 4 DVD was included in the set.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
Take the snooty perfectionism of Niles from 'Frasier' and crank it up a good few notches; add a generous helping of Dustin Hoffman's Rain Man, including the lack of social skills; sprinkle liberally with the abrasive haughtiness of Doc Martin; add a twist of both Kenneth Williams from the 'Carry On' films and Julian Clary; then top with a light dusting of Mr. Bean and what do you get?

The answer is Sheldon Cooper, gifted theoretical physicist and geek extraordinaire, as arrogant, self-centred and narcissistic as he is childlike and loveable, and who is undoubtedly one of the finest comedy characters of all time - so much so that even the way he knocks on the door is hilarious!

Sheldon is what makes this brilliant sitcom really shine, but he is also aided and abetted by a motley ensemble of fellow geeks: the neurotic Raj, who can't talk to women without first necking some alcohol (and who reminds me of the hilarious 'Indian Keith' in 'Celebrity Juice'); the sleazy Howard, who is as obsessed with sex as he is unsuccessful at getting any, and who still lives with his belligerent, overbearing mother; and Leonard, who is just as pathetic as the rest of them, but who is their link to Penny, the 'blonde across the hall', and the world of 'normal people'.

I'd seen snippets of 'The Big Bang Theory' on TV and was generally unimpressed, but it was only when I watched it properly that, beneath the cheesy American feel (not least of which is the incessant and rather irritating laughter of the studio audience), I realised its utter brilliance. As epic and loveable as 'Friends' and 'Frasier', and as quirky and hilarious as the US version of 'The Office', this is a comedy that will rightfully take its place among the greats.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2010
What more can I say, this shows Is just absolutely brilliant, hilarious, every episode will have you laughing out loud. Regarding the acting, Jim parsons is far and away the best actor on the showm I don't know if it is because his character is so superiorly written compared to the rest,but still he is so brilliant, his Emmy is truly deserved.

Penny and leonard are believable, and provide considerable comic material, but I feel they are over shadowed by Sheldon, particularly leonard, who plays second fiddle all the time, but without him sheldon shouldn't be as funny.

Howard and raj are also well played, particularly Howard, who we could all so easily hate is made likeable by Simon helberg. Raj is probably the most minor character. His not speaking to women thing was funny at first, but is beginning to get a bit dry and unbelievable. I think the writers have limited themselves with this storyline.

If I had to be really picky, I would say the lack of cohesion between episodes is also sometimes annoying. The only continuing major storyline is leonard and penny, which is a little annoying. There is no running story lines like there was on say friends. I don't like how every episode stands on it's own, they should fit better together.

Despite this, the show is still brilliant, a must watch, a must buy, it just keeps getting funnier
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2010
i started watching this tv show about a year ago and think its one of the best series i have ever seen.
very well written and for me when i had seen one i just had to watch the lot.
a great tight show in which the characters blend together to make this show so good.
i would recommend these shows to anyone .
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)