Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2016
The Boss, it doesn't get any better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
bruce at his brilliant live best !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
We,re on it!!!!!! Fab photography.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2010
Rarely do live outdoor concerts record well, either musically or visually, but this is an excellent example of when they do.
Crystal clear sound & vision but more than that, the filming captures the essence of what makes a Springsteen concert unique and still unmissable after 40 years. I was there and watching/listening to this was like being back in the Park on a sunny summer evening a year ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2010
I pretty much agree with Riggs here's review. At bit surprised the comments are so uncritical though.

Firstly, the Blu-ray is of excellent quality - crisp images and great sound. A very good visual record. That's not quite enough though (if you're after surprises).

I've seen Brucey on every tour, multiple times at that, since 1981 (Newcastle and Birmingham) and he always gives 100%. However, there's absoutely no doubt in my mind that his E. St. shows are now so rehearsed that he's really predictable. Sure, he does the song banner thing and the band always produces a couple of surprises but, even the on-stage banter is the same night and night after night after night....

I remember when he used to stop the show and tell his long stories, so long that they couldn't be adequately be rehearsed and so sound wooden. I know the subject matter was typically the same but the way he delivered the stories always had a local feel. He's not so spontaneous these days.

The other (very big) issue is that of his song choices. With very few exceptions (the first tour), his shows since the E.St reunion have almost always been limited to songs from BTR, DOTEOT, BITUSA, with a few from The Wild, the Innocent...and The River. These songs, although brilliant are more and more difficult to squeeze genuine excitment from. On the last couple of tours, where have been the great songs from 'Tunnel', 'Human Touch', 'Lucky Town' (Better Days, anyone?), 'Tom Joad', 'Devils and Dust....? All of thse albums have wonderful songs, often transformed by the E.St band when they've showcased them. Why has he stuck to the old tried and tested?

The 'Seeger Sessions' diversion was great but, I don't believe, right from the heart. Looking forward, I'm looking for him to shake things up a whole lot. Different musicians, more solo, changing the dynamics. I must of heard 'BTR' or 'Badlands' a thousand times and, make no mistake, these days they don't lift the roof off like they used to.

Bruce is brilliant and 'Hyde park' was a great gig. A re-boot is required though.

By the way, anyone else feel that, despite Hyde Park being so good, he was just a little knackered from the night before at Glasto - and it showed?
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2010
From the perfect opening "London Calling" to the end, this might better Live in NYC and Barcelona. Outdoors, the sound is great, Hyde Park is rocking, band is on and Bruce is well, Bruce.

We saw them a few days later in Herning Denmark, and unfortunatley due to the wind, the sound was off, so this was our chance to hear the Concert.

It's a 10 in my mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
The Boss at his best. Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2016
reliably brilliant performance
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2016
ok sound and picture qvalitet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2010
Absolutely fantastic sound recording, superb mix, crystal clear. But the digital filming constantly jumps and the zooming is so jumpy, particularly when panning across the crowd. DVD one is worst, surely this poor quality cannot be deliberate !
Best bet would be digital recording for sound, but film for the movie.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)