Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
70
4.2 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Change
Price:£9.51+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2013
I have not played the original castlevania series but this one was a nice experience. The story is good and fights are epic. Different terrains to traverse and monsters to kill. You have a replay ability of stages which is a nice addition. The only thing I would like to see are additional weapons in a future installment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
I heard rumours this game was a God of War Clone. I have never played God of war so I can't comment on that. But as a game in its own right... Fantastic. The narration by Patrick Stewart is fantastic and adds atmosphere to the game.

Graphics are beautiful and music is atmospheric. Story is deep and keeps you hooked. It adds to the game that boss fights aren't always easy. Most of the time you have to figure out a stratagy or perservere like us 80's gamers used to have to rather than have a game spoon fed to us like most modern games.

Worth the money, especially at Amazons current price
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
This game is more close to the DevilMayCry/God of War/Bayoneta series, but it is the very first 3D Castlevania that can be considered a good game.

It will take more than 10 hours to finished, very good graphics, excelent artistic designs and astonishing music.

You have to give it a try!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2011
Castlevania: Lords of Shadow is an action adventure game, combining combat with puzzles and adventuring and it does everything so well. It's a reboot to the original series. The combat is excellent, fun and bloody. The more puzzles you solve and the more enemies you kill then the more XP you earn and with this XP you can purchase new combat moves and other upgrades for Gabriel. The puzzles aren't exactly hard but they do prevent this game from being just a hack and slash which is good. If you do get stuck with the puzzles, you can access your travel book (contains information about characters, monsters, weapon upgrades and from here you can purchase new moves and abilities) and click on "solve puzzle" to get the answer to a puzzle at the cost of losing an XP reward for completing it. Then there's the adventuring where you must climb, repel with the combat cross (Gabriel's weapon) and jump through exotic and beautiful environments accompanied by an epic score of music. It's truly wonderful. The game may not be like the originals but it's a great and almost perfect game in its own right.

The boss battles are pretty good as well and always accompanied by epic music which just makes the battles even more amazing. There are 12 chapters and it'll probably take you 20 hours to finish them all and maybe 40 hours to finish everything (i.e, replay on different difficulty levels, complete level trails, find all weapon upgrades). What with Lords of Shadow being quite cheap now, you'll get more than your money's worth.

The story is quite average at the beginning and begins slow with Gabriel seeking to resurrect his beloved wife, (this story has been done so many times to death now. It's too generic.) however it gets more interesting in further chapters as you see that Gabriel has a dark destiny ahead of him and then during later near-end chapters it gets deep until it reaches epic. Everything compliments one another. The areas that Gabriel transverses, the music, the atmosphere. As Gabriel progresses to defeat the final evil in the game, he travels completely alone in desolated and almost forgotten places. Dark, tragic and forlorn music plays in these areas and all of this goes hand in hand to show Gabriel's decent into darkness. Combine that with the narrator (Patrick Stewart who plays Zobek) speaking before every quest and the story truly does end up being amazing. The ending isn't bad (far from it!) in my opinion but I did find it rather odd.

It is a Castlevania game despite what others say. Combat requires thought, timing and skill on harder difficulties and enemies all have their weaknesses. It simply lacks the non-linear exploration of some other Castlevania titles but many of the older CV titles had linear progression through levels like Lords of Shadow does (although LoS is actually more open in its levels but you practically advance through the game stage by stage like the old games). However the game is a reboot and the series needed this. Obviously, as a reboot, it's going to be different to the original games in that it introduces new gameplay mechanics.

With that said, Castlevania: Lords of Shadow has many memorable moments - fighting the ice titan, scaling the castle walls (yes, the castle is in the game for 5 chapters and the expansions bring it back for another two), fighting advancing forces of vampires and travelling through beautiful environments.

If you're looking for a good game that will last you some time, then this is it and it was most certainly the best action-adventure game of 2010 and could even still hold this title for 2011.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2010
When I heard there was going to be an Xbox Castlevania, I rejoiced. I was expecting the non-platform to be a lot like the hand-held versions just in 3D, roaming around a castle battling new and interesting enemies as I went. It's not. The map's cut into sections, and each level is incredibly confining with often only one or two thin paths to take. The enemies too are unimaginative, the characters are quite dull and the combat is interesting, but loses a little from being too complicated.
It's a good game in its own right, but don't expect it to be like classic Castlevania.
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
So i was searching through my local game store looking for a good shooter and after not finding any to peak my interest decided to get an adventure game i have never played castlevania even when i had the old sega master system or nintendo gameboy games i think one game you have to save a princess and fight against evil foes villians so i got this game and have to say this game looks amazing its a hack slash assassins creed sort of game you use combo attacks and fight winged beasts demons huge titan enemies that you have to string combo attacks to defeat them patrick stewart voices your friend mentor which is a nice suprise and robert carlyle is inthis aswell the camera is a bit annoying wen you are fighting baddies scaling walls ledges etc but wen is the camera in a game ever gd ign gave this game 7.5 good saying its dull not castlevania what are they blind or just plain stupid just because they have to praise cod call of duty as the lord master of games excuse me but the last castlevania game was 20 years ago and gameing technology has advanced alot since then this game was designed to be adventure explore castles forests fight evil multiplayer would not work inthis game and sorry cod fans but call of duty isnt the centre of gaming universe ign you dont know what your talking abt castlevania is so much fun my advice is ignore ign and buy this game now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2010
Let's start talking about games that are around and you might have played.
I can compare this game with Dante's Inferno, it will be the same style of game (you are not able to change the view camera, combos to unlock, excellent graphics etc) with a bit of Devil May Cry 4.

So if you liked these type of games you MUST get this one.

The graphics as I said they are amazing, the stages are beautiful and full of details, the cut scenes are stunning. There is nothing to complaint about here.
The game play is very much like Dante's Inferno/ Devil May Cry (or God of War - PS platform), I kill monsters get EXP points to buy new tricks and etc.

I have seen people complaining about the lack of exploration and on that bit I have to agree and disagree, it's true that you cannot "explore" the stage in areas that you would like to go because of invisible walls, but, that is because the way the game was made, it was made on the shape of "fixed cameras" (like the games above) where you cannot go everywhere you want, but you do have areas where you cannot explore early in the game because you don't have the necessary items to access this part of the stage, so you have to go back there to explore this bit.

So that's why I agree and disagree at the same time, it's definitely not an open world game, but it does have exploration!!

Also this game has so many stages! It comes with TWO cds!

I'm definitely enjoying playing it and I would recommend to anyone that likes this style of games, it's worth every penny!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2010
It is often said that imitation is the ultimate form of flattery; well if this is the case, JRR Tolkien and/or Peter Jackson must be very proud men indeed.
Castlevania LOS is a fantastic game with some beautiful level design; some top notch voice talent, a very stirring musical score and some brilliant creature design to boot. The only place where the designers seemed not to have strived for 110% is with originality. There are some glaringly obvious nods to a certain fantasy book or film trilogy including Wargs, Giant Spiders (not unlike Shelob) and even vampires that bear more than a passing resemblance to the Uruk Hai. We even have a main narrative character called Gandolfi! You can't help but smile at these things and yet, this does not detract or make the game anything less. If anything, the game is stronger as it feels that little bit familiar especially to anyone who has seen the films. With Old Skool game design right at its core and in the very best traditions of Devil May Cry and Onimusha, this hack and slash game spread across 2 bursting at the seams discs really is value for money! If you fancy a bit of story driven fun, albeit a little bit Lord of the Rings inspired, then this may just tick some if not all of the boxes!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2010
Great atmosphere, some spectacular level design / set pieces and is huge! Frame-rate issues didn't bother me at all, considering what was being displayed. This game has some minor issues with gameplay etc but it's strengths far outway it weaknesses. It all comes together to make something much greater than the sum of it's parts.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2011
Its mechanical was familiar to me, I had played a lot a PS2 title which remainds me Castlevania Lords of Shadow: Rygar.
Every location in this game has a strong game play and very nice design, and the character evolves as the story goes on.

The most remarkable thing in this game is the fact that the graphics are somehow superb. Not only pushing the console to its
limits but also creating an entire world and working with it in every place. You can find yourself walking between some nice
trees and bushes and in between find some ruins and other piece of "furniture" which makes everything look wonderful!
http://www.amazon.co.uk/review/create-review/ref=pe_16251_23074061_cm_cr_ec_add_2_h_c23074061?ie=UTF8&nodeID=&asin=B003ICW7BC&customerID=AJSIYHNAPZ75A
Great game, old school stuff but also wonderful to look at.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)