Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
170
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.12+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2011
This may start off as your usual mad bomber has placed 3 bombs somewhere,and they must be found thriller,but it's one of the best i've seen of this nature.
With the bomber in the iterrogation room not willing to give any other information but that of there are 3 bombs out there somewhere ready to give some serious damage,they have no choice but to bring in Jackson's character.
To say he's unorthodox in an understatement,he's clearly sadistic from the get go,dishing out malicious torture.
But with the bomber not willing to give the needed information,other than a false lead or 2,what next? What indeed.
With an end that makes a draconian point,it gets you thinking. Are we justified in doing the unthinkable?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
This is a well thought-out movie. Both suspenseful and engaging and I commend the acting, it is truly a worth-watching piece. One point of concern is that they (directors) always portray terrorists to be Muslim. Other than that, great movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
Implausible interaction between people - e.g. shouting at each other in front of the prisoner. Gratuitous violence. Stupid plot. Poor acting and characterisation. Samuel L Jackson acting as a shouty version of himself. Prisoner implausibly robust. I hated every minute of it. Do yourself a favour and skip this nonsense.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2011
UNTHINKABLE (2010) is a psychological thriller about a US citizen, Steven Younger (Michael Sheen) who has converted to the Islam faith and sends a video to the government in which he says he has set three nuclear bombs in various places across the USA. Henry Harold Humphries, aka 'H' (Samuel L Jackson) is brought in to interrogate Younger and ascertain the locations of the bombs. But getting the information from Younger by fair means and foul isn't easy, things don't go according to plan, and time is running out.

Samuel L. Jackson plays this kind of role so well and he excels in this. The movie doesn't just focus on the nuclear bombs but on Human Rights and on the methods of torture used to extract information. Personally, I just kept thinking how many thousands would die if nuclear bombs went off.

Younger isn't going to break (fine performance by Sheen) but then they bring his children on the scene and things change. I never saw the end coming.

Gregor Jordan is the director. He also directed Ned Kelly starring Heath Ledger and Orlando Bloom.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
Literally more than one-third of the film passes and you realize that discussions of whether to torture or not to torture the terrorist, and some torture scenes are literally the thrill that the film offers. Almost half of the film has passed by now and you wonder whether the guys will remember that there is supposed to be 3 bombs planted and thus whether they will drop the discussion and go out to try to chase the bombs... or whether they will carry on with the their morality of torture discussions. You get the point - it's not for those who like their action and thrill.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
Not what I was expecting. Some parts had me on the edge of my seat and some had me hiding behind a cushion. Really recommended if you like a bit of grit and surprise.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2011
I wasn`t expecting much after some pretty poor reviews but I have to say I thought it was an excellent film, outstanding performances all round, especially by Michael Sheen as the terrorist.

Please note: the extras are an audio commentary by the director and a trailer, which are not mentioned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
Definitely one for your collection.This is thought provoking very well acted and will keep you on the edge of your seat.BUY IT
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
Wow, interrogation was brutal, kept me on the edge of my seat 🆗
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
This is one of those very impressive little thrillers that slips under the radar. I was expecting a slightly unimpressive FBI drama with agents running around the city chasing tip-off after tip-off, and little excitement. What I got was a cleverly misleading opening, and very shortly Carrie Anne-Moss's conscientious but tough FBI agent and Samuel L Jackson's mouthy mystery man were brought in to question a scruffy and rather vulnerable seeming terrorist suspect played by Martin Sheen.
Sheen's character has made a video claiming to have placed 3 nukes throughout America - and they have little time to stop him.
The terrific thing about this thriller is that instead of the predictable route, it's power rests in the fact that it decides to confront the allegations about America torturing terror suspects head-on, with often incredibly shocking, tense and powerful results. The pacing is swift, the action highly dramatic, and the dialogue and atmosphere electrically charged.
Not one to ask easy questions - or provide easy answers - it challenges the viewer as much as providing very adult drama and entertaining tension.
Sheen is once again far better than I expected. Jackson fully embraces a layered and very challenging role. And Carrie Anne-Moss anchors the film as our moral conscience. It's a devious and clever movie.
Terrific and well worth watching, as long as you don't mind being pushed a little.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.52

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)