Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 7 May 2012
Highly recommended. It is the perfect companion to the films.

The documentary itself lasts just under 4 hours, each film gets at least 25 minutes dedicated to it, and Freddy's Nightmares and New Line Cinema get a brief discussion as well. Asides from Johnny Depp and Patricia Arquette more or less everyone from the 8 films is interviewed. I watched the whole documentary in one sitting, at no point does it drag. It isn't just talking heads there are interesting behind the scenes photos and videos, some of which feature unused special effects and deleted scenes - including a replacement for Robert Englund if he had wanted to much of a pay rise for the second film, I'll say this, thankfully the two parties came to agreement! The interviewees don't just pander to one another and pat each other on the back, they are quick to point out flaws in their own performances and disappointment with others.

The disc also features an incredible amount of extras.

There are behind the scenes features on most of the films, ranging from a few seconds (!) to well over 90 minutes for the third and fourth films. TV specials not seen since the original air date make this up, but mostly it is footage camcorder shot and is fascinating to see how the films where put together, and how special effects were shot.

Deleted interviews from the main documentary last over and hour, and are as interesting as the main feature.

There are several featurettes focusing on Heather Langenkamp, Freddy's glove, poster art, music of Elm Street and filming locations.

I will say this on closing, I have been a Elm Street/Freddy fan for over 18 years, have seen previous documentaries and read horror magazines, but there was a wealth of information on this Blu Ray that I did not know beforehand.
99 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 May 2013
This is not just the greatest, and most comprehensive documentary about the Elm Street legacy that you will ever see, it's also one of the most interesting documentaries about film making in general and the rise of New Line cinema through it's Freddy franchise. Featuring a wealth of detail from writing, pre-production, production, directing, and with some insightful, funny, and nostalgic contirbutions from a huge number of stars, writers, and directors (including maestro Wes Craven) this is a thoughtfully made, and fascinating documentary that fans will utterly love, and fans of film making in general will find incredibly compelling. Covers everything from the first film, through to Freddy vs Jason, it's frank and honest, and superbly put together with excerpots from the original script, behind the scenes footage, alternate takes, and so many old faces reliving their Freddy expreiences that by the end of the three and a half hour ride, you'll be wanting to watch the whole lot again. If you are a fan, you simply HAVE to own this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2015
(this review is for the usa region1 blu ray discs not german region 2 blu ray disc)disc 1 contains a 4 hour long documentary.disc 2 is full of excellent documentaries etc.best to get the usa region 1 blu ray discs if u want this on blu ray because the german region 2 blu ray disc only has the 4 hour documentary on it it has no disc 2 extras and is a bad upscaled from dvd copy.but of course to watch these usa region 1 blu ray discs u will need a multiregion blu ray player as these discs will not play in uk blu ray players!!!! so to sum up either buy the dvd`s or the usa region 1 blu ray discs only.as a side note I wish all the studio`s would release all blu ray discs as multiregion as this would make the whole process easier for customers as well as sellers!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2014
As a fan of this franchise since watching the first film in my early teens I can not reccomend this documentary enough..each film is chronicled in detail with indepth interviews with almost all those involved (I say almost as it seems both Johnny Depp and Patricia Arquette still consider themself above commenting on their big breaks in the movies which is a shame). The extras too are essential viewing containing many treasures including revisiting of locations with some of the former cast from the films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2015
Purchased this from amazon over a year ago but after watching again decided to write a review. Been a big fan of the elm street films since my teens and have fond memories of the excitement of going to the video rental store to rent part 3 and 4 and running home to watch! Showing my age there i'm afraid! When a box set of all the films was finally released on dvd a few years back i was really disappointed at the lack of extras but this release more than makes up for it. Fascinating documentary and really informative, with each film covered in good detail. Nice to have heather langenkamp narrating too. Essential for any fan of elm street, the best horror franchise ever! Buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2014
This is a good documentary which goes over the whole Nightmare... series, looking at each film, with interviews of almost all directors, main actors in each movie, and scriptwriters and more. It maybe was not as deep and thought provoking as the Going to Pieces documentary, but very good anyway. Has to be seen by fans of the genre and the Nightmare movies.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2016
Love this DVD, first disc is on for 4 hours, talking to the stars of all the Freddy films. Not seen the 2nd disc yet so don't know how long it is on for but looking forward to it when I have the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2015
I hadn't known that this dvd even existed. When I found out, I bought it there and then, and was rivited all the way through. This is absolutely amazing. Completely fascinating. Lots of interviews, lots of behind the scenes segments, and goes into detail with all the movies. Great dvd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2015
Interesting documentary, but I couldn't watch it at once. Many interviews/sequences are about the same toppic, you hear / see things more than once. But interesting for die-hard Freddy fans!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2017
A really high quality production filled with some very interesting factoids about the Elm Street films. As a self confessed fan of the series it was great to see so many cast members involved in this. Loads of extras and commentaries available too. Really glad I bought this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)