Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2010
This latest edition to the Chilled series takes an even more down-tempo approach to volume's I and II, with an array of softer, guitar-led music.
As well as a sprinkle of stripped-back live and acoustic versions of well known tracks, there's plenty of chillout classics and a lot more pop and indie songs.

Disc One takes a trip back to some 90's classics that have stood the test of time, with tracks from Morcheeba, Radiohead, Paul Weller, The Beta Band and one of The Chemical Brothers' kaleidoscopic collaborations with Beth Orton on `Where Do I Begin'. There's also some great new offerings from Röyksopp and Lindstrøm with Prins Thomas.

Disc Two features artists from the last few years in a more reflective mode. The well known likes of Adele, Lily Allen, KT Tunstall, Athlete and José González rub shoulders with a few obscure artists such as Kings Of Convenience and Télépopmusik on the most song-led of the 3 discs.

Finally Disc Three brings us bang up to date, with choice offerings from Jamie T, MGMT, The XX, Example and Miike Snow. There's also a wealth of blissful music to discover from James Yuill's `This Sweet Love' and The Field's `Everybody's Got To Learn Sometime' to the funky `If I Ever Feel Better' by Phoenix.

This new approach to the Chilled series works very well, the careful ordering of the tracks and the best album artwork yet make this a beautiful and essential collection. A great value musical escape for the summer!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2010
Thanks Ministry for a really fresh sounding and interesting chillout album. Sweet tracklist with a few unmined nuggets from The Chemical Brothers, Morcheeba, Tracey Thorn, Lindstrom and Phoenix. One very happy punter!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2010
Having got most of the MOS compilations, this follows suit. If you're expecting a purely acoustic album, then you might be dissapointed. 'CA' has got some of what you might expect (alternative/acoustic) mixed with some chillout (Mylo/Jakkata/Moby) and some mainstream numbers like (Dido/Athlete/Lily Allen oh yeah and Radiohead - why?) with the odd classic. (Weller etc) Overall not a bad effort. I gave this a pretty average rating based on value for money. With the '100 Hits' line of compilations you get more for less and there's never much difference between 100 Hits and MOS. This is also a good compilation if you want to explore the genres and introduce yourself to some new musical talents I suppose. Furthermore MOS have released two similar compilations: 'Chilled' and 'Chilled II' that are orientated more around the dance beat/remix scene that are also worth checking out.

I don't regret buying 'Chilled Acoustic' although this is a compilaition that I'm sure to forget about real soon. Is it worth the extra couple of quid over other compilations like '100 Hits', at a push perhaps it is, just for the pretty name tag and the logo that screams Ministry of Sound.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2010
5 stars for these 3 x CD's?? You must be kidding me, unless I'm listening to something different. CD 1 was "ok" and contains some good songs. I have to say I have most of these songs already as most people will have. However as we move into CD2, oh dear.. what were they thinking, drab, non-acoustic, lost tracks that have been dug up to be stuck on this compilation. Always in these compilations you have a few tracks that just don't belong, and they just seem to come one after the other on this.

If you have a small music collection you might like some of this, but if you know better, then just avoid this compilation! It's boring, full of poor songs and not very well thought out after CD 1.

I would have preferred ONE really excellent CD rather than 3 bland ones. If you are doing something around the house other than listening to this while it is playing, you might get away with thinking its OK.

If you really like something chilled out try Hybrid SoundSystem 01 (CD1). Now that is an example of a seriously well put together compilation.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2011
I have a hard time giving 5 stars to any cd because I expect perfection to be waiting just around the corner.This comes close. I do not know many of the artists but it has introduced me to a new genre. Best of all you can play it for your kids,or even grandchildren, and nod saying I know good music when I hear it... sagely.At the price it is a steal!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2010
Bought, listened was a bit disappointed. Some very good tracks but way too many very average, forgettable tracks. I play it in the car and find I skip the dull ones - will download to ipod soon and get rid of the rubbish! Less would have been more in this case - reduce th enumber of tracks and so increase the overall quality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
Three CDs of great acoustic versions of some well known and some not so well known tracks and artists. If Chill is your genre then this is an eclectic collection that should appeal to those who like the familiar and not so familiar......with a twist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2010
This is an inexpensive compliation of soothing, mellow tracks. It is pleasant enough to listen to in the car on long journeys and keeps the children quiet enough. Is made up of a few quality classics that supports a majority of pretty much unknown stuff that is o.k. on the whole, really good in places, and sometimes a bit irritating.

What you would expect. Not bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2010
Had this album for a while now and still finding great tracks. Ideal for these awesome hot summer evenings in the garden. It'll not knock your socks off if it's high impact inspirational rhythms you are looking for, but if it's well known names playing good music at a smooth relaxed pace to get your stress levels down, look no further!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2010
We've been asking Chill to produce a compilation CD for years but to no avail, now MOS have gone and done it! This is a good thing. 3CDs very much in the style of Chill on DAB. If you're a fan of the station, you'll like this CD :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)