Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
16
3.3 out of 5 stars
Return to Horror High [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 October 2017
No connection to the 70s horror HORROR HIGH, Return to Horror High is a self reference comedy horror which revolves around a film crew making a documentary movie on the school killings at 'Crippen' high school which occurred 5 years previously. To make everything as authentic as possible the crew film in the actual school. Movie takes a non-linear approach and switches back and forth to what happened to the crew, it can become a muddled affair as we are constantly switched from within a movie, to life events and then back again, and that includes dream sequences. In short what we had on paper was a classic send up of slasher movies, becomes a disjointed one. However the film rarely bores and still has some wonderful dead pan one liners.

Infamously known as having a young George Clooney (his movie debut) though he has a very small role as an advising cop. Less known for being an obvious influence for Wes Craven's SCREAM. Even the killer costume looks the same, though unlike SCREAM this is evidently 100% spoof. To date this is director Bill Froehlich's only full feature.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2017
88 films delivers again another cult classic on Bluray. A+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 March 2016
Here we have a rather strange (for the time) combination of horror and comedy, wrapped up in a fun slasher picture which was unmistakeably made in the 1980s. Although the idea of a comedy horror has since taken off and been carried out very well (and much less so) in some cases, 1987's 'Return to Horror High' might well have been one of the first attempts at a crossover of the two genres.

A young George Clooney, in one of his very first screen roles, receives top billing on the poster art which graces the DVD's front cover, but his part of the ill fated Oliver is very small, and the lead cast are much less famous. A few years earlier, panic stations flew over Crippen High School, when a mysterious serial killer, who was never caught, took the lives of several people in a series of bloody murders. Now in the present day, a small movie company has decided to make a movie about these events at the location of the school, which has now since been abandoned. History begins to repeat itself as one by one, members of the cast and crew start to disappear without a trace.

Although it could well have been, this B movie isn't all that bad really, offering plenty of laughs with some good jokes, genuine moments of creepiness and a little, but strangely, for a 1980s flick, never excessive use of blood, a few decent twists, and an overall entertaining 90 minutes of horror. 'Return to Horror High' is wonderfully campy and cheesy, but a thoroughly worthwhile popcorn film. It made me laugh, and I'll probably watch it over again. The 2010 DVD release from Boulevard Entertainment offers a good transfer of the picture, which was probably ahead of it's time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
Plot. Some years back Crippen High School was the scene of some brutal murders and the killer never caught. Now a low budget film crew are there to make a film about the killings except people start getting bumped off. Is it the killer back again to continue or someone else.
Supposedly a horror comedy from the late 80s but I only bust a gut on just one occasion when a breast exploded. I did smile to a few other humourous scenes but for me this wasn't enough. Alex Rocco who I remember from gangster flicks plays a producer and is brilliantly over the top.
There's a bit of blood splatter about, some gore and gratuitous nudity but very brief. It's of course a film within a film and we get some flashbacks to the original murders except the way it's been cut in is a little confusing. The whole film is corny entertainment and a low budget effort and feels very dated now. Mr Clooney in one of his early roles gets whacked early on and like most of the deaths in this we don't see how. Just some blood on his face as he presses it against the window of a door. Cut to the bottom of the door and a puddle of blood. Worth a look but only as a comparison to todays fare.
Extras nil just a trailer. USA Release but plays Region zero.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
In 1982, Crippen High School was forced to close its doors after a series of brutal murders took place within its walls. Naturally, the crime was never solved, and the killer remained at large... Some time later, a film crew moves in to the now derelict high school to shoot a sleazy low budget slasher pic based on the real-life Crippen High killings, and soon enough, cast and crew members start dying off. First, there is the young actor who gets lost on the way to the car park and ends up taking a knife in the back. Then another young actor is decapitated, and then...well, you get the idea. With the film set covered in fake blood and gore and actors and crew threatening to walk out left right and center, nobody even notices these strange disappearances, except for our leading lady and her slightly dim-witted co-star, who promptly take pad and pen in hand on a quest to uncover the killers identity. Will they succeed? Return to Horror High is a low budget B horror movie which is a mix between a funny horror spoof and a clever slasher flick like the Scream series. Unfortunately, the movie is not as clever as it thinks it is due to some glaring plot holes. While it did have an interesting premise and it does have a decent budget, the ending comes off as a big cliche especially if you've seen these type of slasher films which parody the genre i.e. Scream, Student Bodies ect. Though the real reason to watch this horror film is to see a young George Clooney in his early years and Maureen McCormick also known as Marcia Brady in a weird and hilarious role as a police woman who gets turned on by the sight of blood. Overall, the film was decent enough with a few gory death scenes, and there were some interesting moments. There are alot of worse slasher flicks than Return to Horror High out there like Blood Sisters and Don't Go in the Woods, but the film could have been alot better. Some horror fans might want to give this one a miss as it's only recommend to hardcore slasher fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
I love this movie, i used to watch it when i was younger, I'm So Happy i found it on Amazon :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
Return to Horror High is one of those films that's very entertaining but misses the mark and you know you could never be bothered to watch it again. It's O.k., there's a fair amount of gore and some interesting plot developments. The film within a film and recreating the past horror is pretty cleverly done. There are some effective exciting and scary moments as well as some deliberate comedy which is hit and miss.
If you're buying it for Clooney then it's best not to bother as he's only in the film for about 10 minutes.
The copy I watched was widescreen, but there was no extras.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
If you're like me and love a cheesy horror movie with parts to laugh out loud at, this is for you. If you are solely buying this for George Clooney, don't buy it as he isn't even in it for 10 minutes. This movie adds some good gore, back story and good plot twists. It can be confusing at times due to the contrast of what is real and what is the past and what is being filmed, but it is well worth a watch. Definitely one to have in any avid horror collector's collection. Good B movie, picture and sound quality is perfect!
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2012
This movie is very unlike most 80s horror, it has a weird plot and at some points throughout the film its hard to keep track of whats really happening and what isnt, it has some good ideas and a few good bloody kills but leaves you a bit hung dry at the end and a headache, its good cheesy fun though with a bit of gore and nudity you expect from the 80s and a funny cameo from George Clooney who appears in the first 10 minutes and is the first to die. Watch it if you enjoy cheesy tongue in cheek horror at a cheap price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
this film is kinda like a bmovie but I watched it anyway eic f ff3f f3e rr3r 3r ff ff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)