Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
36
4.0 out of 5 stars
The Stuff [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.69+ £1.26 shipping


on 6 March 2011
Where to begin.

The Stuff is, a mix of sci-fi and horror that does hark back very much the the b-movies of a previous era. Even though sometimes the script and the acting may seem below par, that really is the charm of this film, it never takes itself too seriously and neither does it claim to be anything more than a low budget flick that does reach the parts other deserts just can not reach.

I will not ruin the plot by disclosing any more than you have probably already read, other than to say that this really is one of the those movies that doesn't fit one particular pigeon hole, and for all it's flaws as you have no doubt read in other reviews, is still very much a film that you will enjoy despite or maybe because of, it's naffness.

You just won't be able to get enough... of THE STUFF
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
The original cover of The Stuff was a very memorable feature in video stores back in the day. It set the tone up for watching this movie. Larry Cohen directs well enough, though be sure this is a low budget almost homage to the paranoia sci fi movies of the 50s. Plot in short sees a brand new product go on sale, a tasty yogurt, that seemingly everyone loves and is devouring. But slowly and surely this yogurt is controlling their minds and then destorying humanity. Can a kid whose family have become the latest addicts save the world?

Also stars the excellent Michael Moriarity and has an eye stealing scene toward the end. Good stuff though the first half of the film is more superior.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
I thought Poultrygeist was the worse crap ever.I was wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
Five stars for the delivery and price, quick delivery I ordered it on a Saturday evening and had it by the Tuesday, I remember watching this as a teenager thinking it was awful and I'd never watch it again, fast forward twenty something years and it's still awful but brilliant at the same time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2015
the movie is not bad. I laughed a lot seeing it again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2011
A bare bones disc with no extras, no subtitles or captioning.
But a perfect copy of this B-movie.
I'm satisfied with the purchase, very pleased with the price (2.44) and happy to add this to my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
A film about a ice cream type dessert that is collected by an unscrupulous company from a hole in the ground. The dessert takes people over and they become stuffies, like drug addicts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
Overall, you need to go into a film like this not expecting too much, and you won't be disappointed. Actually, the storyline is really quite good, and with some great wooden acting at times, the film grows on you tothe extent that some of the inconsistencies don't matter. I gave it 4 stars for entertainment value - and so will you, if you know what a good B-movie should be like.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Excellent very pleased with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
A film that can do adverts like the Truman show.... You can't get enough of the stuff. Even the yogurt pot looks like real Retro.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Slugs [DVD]
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)