Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
78
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2011
I had just finished reading Andrea Levy's book when I watched this. So often when books are made into films too much of the story is removed or changed or the actors aren't how you imagined the characters in the book to look like or be. However, this was not the case with this adaptation. I was captivated at how everything I had imagined came to life. Excellent casting played by excellent actors. I would thoroughly recommend this DVD. It's a gripping tale of love, struggle and defiance in the face of adversity. Buy it, you won't be disappointed!
11 Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Having recently read the novel that the DVD was based on. I was very pleased that for the most part the dialogue was ' straight from the page', even though the events were changed a bit (but the novel kept going forwards and backwards in time and it actually made better sense in the DVD. One disappointment was that it didn't really cover Bernard's war story which made sense of his character in the novel but it was a lovely watch and made me uncomfortable with the prejudice shown to the Jamaican characters,at that time of our history . An excellent historical period piece.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
So good, I had to buy it twice, as someone borrowed it long term.
Nothing made since comes close 5 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
This is as good as the book. It feels authentic and was a real treat - wonderful drama and informative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Brilliant a must watch. Bought after reading the book and just loved it. Got me back into reading
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
Great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
A very thought provoking film, well made and casted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2010
Small Island [DVD] [2010]This is an absolutely amazing story of how Jamaicans viewed Britain before the war, how they served in the military during the war and how they were treated as second class citizens during that conflict, and then when they started to migrate to UK after the war, again how they were treated as menial labour. Absolutely enthralling.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2011
This is a great movie situated during the second world war. It deals with prejudice,love,forbidden love,joy, sacrifice and loss. It also shows what can be achieved if you have stong inner strength, faith and determination. The end is not what you expect and you are left with a feeling of great love, understanding, sorrow and inner peace. Well worth watching and all the actors are great in their roles.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
This DVD does not state that it is episode one only.On the front of the cover it states that it is 'As seen on the BBC' Did the BBC only show episode one. I am disgusted, having being left high and dry in the middle of the story.What it the point of only having one episode on the disc I would like my money b ack
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)