Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
60
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.74


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 February 2017
I have always been a big fan of William Shatner but never really knew that much about the man beyond the tv and movie screen.
So when I found out he had written a biography, I immediately purchased it. This book tells the story of Shatner from his childhood days in Canada as he rowed his way south of the border all the way up to the modern day of Boston Legal. It is written in a way that only this man could with jokes posted throughout but. He also tells of the heartbreaks in his life with the many, MANY women who he has been with and goes into great detail of his troublesome time just after finishing Star Trek in the 1960’s.

It is a fun and enjoyable read and I learned so many things about this man that I now see him in an even better light. He does touch on the subject of not being liked in the Star Trek days and it is great to hear how both he and Leonard Nimoy went from hating each other to being the best of friends.

If you don’t like Shatner or simply don’t find his style of humour funny then you won’t like this book. If you do however, which makes sense if you are looking for it on Amazon, then you will enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
WHAT A LAUGH-A-MINUTE THIS BOOK IS . HOW WONDERFUL TO FIND A 'CELEBRITY' WHO DOES NOT TAKE HIMSELF SERIOUSLY , AND CAN AFFORD TO BE THE BUTT OF JOKES !

I KNOW HE WOULDN'T MENTION THE OBVIOUS - BUT I CAN'T RESIST --- 'BEAM ME UP SCOTTIE ' .

MAY YOU HAVE MANY YEARS OF GOOD HEALTH AND FUN LEFT MR.SHATNER ! YOU HAVE CERTAINLY MADE ME LAUGH OUT LOUD FOR THE FIRST TIME IN AGES.

IT'S LIFE JIM --BUT NOT AS WE KNOW IT !!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
such an interesting man. funny and spiritual. worth a read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Well, ok, yes it is a book. I enjoyed it. You will too. Or not. But I doubt that very much!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2008
William Shatner makes it clear fairly early on this book that his keyboard is firmly in his cheek as he retells the story of his life and trys to sell you stuff from his on-line store.

While some will find the style off-putting this is a very personal memoir from a television icon - an actor for almost 60 years he has at least three great shows to his name (Star Trek, T.J. Hooker and Boston Legal) but the book is about more: his joys, his tragedies, his life "up till now".

If you are a fan of his work there are plenty of anecdotes about the well known shows and horror stories about the unknown films. Other facets included are his family, his charity work and his passions - food, woman, horses - maybe not in that order but you get the idea.

Shatner admits to making stuff up in the past, being no good at marriage for many years and making some truly awful films but he does it all in a way that makes you like him and, you get the sense, that may be his aim in all he does
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2009
What can you say about William Shatner that hasn't already been said a thousand times (more often than not by the man himself)? He seems to be something of a Marmite character; you either love him or hate him, and sometimes he seems to have been very hard for people to like. From his early beginnings as a respected stage actor through to his later much. Parodied. "Shatnerian". Style. Of. Acting. - he has certainly had a long career so, at the very least, you do have to respect him for that. You might not think much of his acting (I happen to think he's very under-rated) but you can't deny that he's been very successful at it.

This, the latest of his autobiographical works is a lot of fun (although not as laugh out loud funny as some would have you believe) and takes a breezy informal style to tell the story of a very complex and hard working man. The plugs (mostly for his own websites) that interrupt the text are entirely in keeping, as is the running gag of a long list of STAR TREK memorabilia that keeps popping up. Keeping every half hour of his life busy (and boy does he keep busy!) seems to be the secret of his success, and even his failures ("Transformed Man" anyone?) seem to become opportunities for him to strive on into the future with his very complicated career.

However, it's not been fun all the way, and he does speak very frankly and movingly about the darker areas of his life. From a period of having to live in his car, and his frustrations when his pet projects fail, to the many tragedies of his personal life, all are handled very openly and sometimes quite poignantly. He also waxes philosophical about coming to terms with what it is to be an aging action hero and what that can mean to your prospects for acting work. The revival of his career as a character actor well into his 70s is something we can all admire, and even he seems surprised at the amount of luck he has had in his long and very active life. Actor, comedian, writer, director, sky-diver, horse breeder, recording artiste... he seems to have done it all. And do you know what? I'm really glad. If the world hadn't had a William Shatner, we'd have had to make one up, but I suspect no-one would believe it.

This is the story of a quite complex man living his life to the full and loving it, coming to terms with his place in the world, staving off the long dark night and learning to laugh at himself, and as such makes for a very pleasant and enjoyable read.

NB My paperback edition has one blank square where a photograph should have been. Maybe a late copyright issue, or maybe a publishing error that will be corrected in future editions. Not important at all, really, but worth a mention if that sort of thing bothers you.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Struggling to read........he's trying too hard to be amusing and it becomes tiresome!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2010
William Shatner's latest autobiography has a vey quirky feel to it, and focuses mainly on his acting career. Born in Canada, young Bill decided he wanted to act, against his father's wishes, and as soon as possible headed to Broadway
under the promise that he would become a star.

The first third of the book covers the years before Star Trek, and Shatner describes in a very informal manner his formative years and his early acting life. He details a surprising number of stage and television performances. If you are looking for anecdotes about Shatner's time on Star Trek though you will be disappointed. These have already been covered in Shatner's previous works 'Memories' and 'Movie Memories'.

The middle section of the book I found hardest going. These were really the post-Trek years of the seventies. The final part picks up again. Shatner covers his tragic relationship with his third wife Nerine, and then demonstrates a real passion for his most recent role as Denny Crane in Boston Legal.

The one thing that irritated me was the feeling that the book was just an advertisement for Shatner's work, rather than a memoir about doing it. There is a running joke whereby Shatner tells the reader that things are available to buy from his website, but after being repeated in every chapter it gets a bit sickeningly shameless.

Overall it is an interesting read. The impression I get is mostly of honesty from Shatner and a sense that he is quite amazed by how well he has done out of his career. If you are a Shatner fan then it will probably be a must-read, but if you dislike him then you will probably find it a cheap sales pitch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2009
William Shatner has a reputation as a bit of an egomaniac and this book reinforces that (admittedly most autobiographies can be a bit egotistical). There are pages about resuing kids from drowning and how many lives he saved via his Rescue 911 show etc.

The fact that most of his co-stars hate him is dismissed in a few paragraphs. There are loads of plugs for his online store. These are in a jokey fashion but its still advertising.
All in all this is a readable book but not great.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 March 2010
It's hard to believe that I was enjoying the original Star Trek series nearly 40 years ago and so this was a nostalgic book for me. Shatner is a good writer: one feels he is talking to the reader about his life; and what a life he's had full of highs and lows; tragedy and triumph. I hadn't realized what a varied acting career he's had. He's endearingly self-deprecating in describing himself and his work. Some of his anecdotes will have more resonance for an Amercian audience as I didn't recognize some of the shows/series he's been in, but this didn't spoil my enjoyment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)