Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2012
I don't often write reviews because I find them quite time consuming however I thought I would make an exception in this case. I have always been a fan of Wilbur Smith books due to their adventurous story lines and settings in Africa and this is no exception. It helps if you have already read some of the previous books in this Courtney season to have already engaged some of the background of the characters, however it is not essential.

The book is a great insight into post-war South Africa and the apartheid era. Wilbur gives an impartial view from various families and characters from all sides of the spectrum which is quite fascinating and the pace of the book is relentless even though it is almost 800 pages. Overall a tremendous vivid story from of a dark cloudy time in history definitely worth a read!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
The Courtney's continue as ever ! Wilbur Smith at his detailed best 😀
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
This is another masterpiece of Wilbur's. The title is apt with the book based on South Africa's troubled times of appartheid and sanctions. This book includes items of modern history and many names will be familiar. As usual Wilbur has been careful to be as factual as possible while also creating a story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
As fantastic as all his books!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
As usual a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2017
Pure Wilbur Smith
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Really great read kept u interested. From start to end
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
very good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
A really good novel all about South Africa and the development of apartheid; pronounced ‘apart-hate.’ It covers British White people, Afrikaner White People, Black People, Coloured people; the instance of the many different tribal loyalties and hatreds. This book tries really hard to give each individual point of view. One really good read with sex and violence thrown in for good measure but primarliy a good history book. I married a coloured South African girl in South Africa in 1988 and I found the black people there to be incredibly warm and friendly and, just as Mr Smith described they all hated apartheid but their hatred was completely reserved for the system and the realationships between the different races were fantastic.
ONE REALLY GOOD BOOK..
CHRIS KINEALY.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse