Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
35
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.69


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2015
The first book was promising, but this second instalment kind of dropped the ball.

First, the smart, capable heroine of the series spends the first full half of the book locked in a tower, during which time the whole plot goes nowhere. After that, things pick up pace and the book becomes much more enjoyable, but it's clear there isn't enough plot to cover the page count.

Also it seems as though the author hasn't clearly worked out or defined the properties of his fictional technology - there's no apparent internal consistency and everything is simply capable or incapable of whatever the plot needs it to be at any given time. Similarly, a few of the bigger plot elements (such as the Emissaries and that one character who should've stayed dead) just seem like they were tacked on to fill the sequel rather than being part of a plan from the beginning.

Still an enjoyable read, but disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The second novel in Gary's Shaol series and one that has had fans clamouring for more since the original release of Stealing Light. Expanding on the themes as well as concepts introduced in the previous novel its definitely one that will more than please the Sci-Fi Geek within as it brings everything you'd want to the table. Strange and unusual races, characters that face insurmountable odds, choices that weigh heavily on the few for the many and topped off with a pretty high speed pace that can leave you gasping for breath. Gary continues to do what he does best and makes him a firm favourite on my own shelf. Great stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
I am really enjoying this series. It's fun and easy going. Nothing too serious. I like it a lot.

An enjoyable read, sit back, relax and enjoy.:)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Start halfway through & you won't be dissapointed - seriously.

I really enjoyed the first book in this series but unfortunately I found this one hard work. I felt the first half of the book could have been condensed into a couple of chapters & would have lost nothing, there is just page after page where nothing in particular happens.

Having said that the second half of the book is much more as I was expecting & far more enjoyable but in the end it was an effort rather than a pleasure to finish this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2009
I have just finished Nova War...wow!
It was just the other day that I was wishing for another author to work at Peter F Hamilton's level of skill. Well, here he is - Gary Gibson. He has forged a nice slot for himself amongst the greats this country is currently blessed with (particularly Scotland).
Gary seems relaxed and confident throughout his storytelling, his latest the Nova War, is a balanced and unrushed follow-on from 'Stealing light'.
Looking forward to more...much more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
A firm favourite of mine, can't wait for the new book in the Shoal series. If Gary can top the first three, he is a genius.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
When you can blow up a planet its a shame not to do so.

To do it too often makes it become trivial.
And thats an issue when your main weapon in an interstellar war is blowing up suns.
The sereis does a good job of skirting the edge of the envelope - so each use is still a shock and not just a statistic.
its a difficult task that many writers cant manage. Here - its done well - without it drowning out the character actions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
Original, fast-paced and well-ploted space op', the Shoal trilogy has affirmed Gibson as a mature SciFi author.
Second in the trilogy, Nova War extends the plot to a new depth, introducing new terrifying aliens and highly destructive technology.
If maybe not as enjoyable as Reynolds or Asher comparable works, it still is a page-turner and i have to rate it high
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2010
I admit I approached this sequel to Stealing Light with a little trepidation. I enjoyed that so much I went and read his first two novels, and was frankly disappointed. But I needn't have worried - Nova War is the novel of an author who has hit his stride. I look forward to number 3 in the sequence. Gibson is definitely a rising star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2010
In this second volume Dakota and Corso find out how deep the derelict's history goes. The plot gets more and more interesting that you have to keep reading, I'd say that in this second volume the reading gets more addictive and gets you begging for the next....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse