Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
33
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2016
I've not quite finished this book yet due to a mad lifestyle these past few weeks! What I have read so far though has been easy to follow and not patronising. It's also nice to have an English point of view as most information on the web is American!
I'm 24 with no children of my own and what started off as a good relationship with my Stepkids and their bio-mum, has recently become difficult due to the bio-mum turning into a Jekyl and Hyde character and my Step Daughter reaching the dreaded hormonal stage! After a few episodes, I completely lost my confidence and having no-one my age in the same situation, I needed help! This book has provided real comfort knowing I'm not alone and everything I'm feeling is normal! It's given me another take on things rather than fretting and reading in to everything too much and has taught me to deal with things more effectively. Whilst I feel a lot of the book doesn't relate to me a great deal, I have still been able to take advice and comfort from the authors words.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2016
The first time I have really felt understood and made me take a practical approach to some of the challenges you face as a step-mum. If I had read this book a few years ago I wouldn't have felt so alone and would have appreciated the guidance. Certainly a great book for any step mum to read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2011
Can't believe just how good this book is. It has totally transformed my relationship with my step son. Its easy to read and packed full of straight forward advice for all types of step mums (i.e. with kids, without kids, full time or part time). Definitely recommend it as both a self help guide and gift.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
Excellent service.
Very informative book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
This is a great book for anyone struggling to deal with step parenting. It really helped me put things into perspective and deal with things in a whole new happy way. I can't recommend it enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
I would strongly recommend this book, and not just for stepmums, but for the husbands or partners in a step-family too. The core themes, of the importance of communication, patience, understanding are relevant to both sexes. And the core problems, such as not being sure what your role is, feeling resentful, the ex causing issues, are also something that both adults in the relationship could think about.

The book was easy to read, in that it was free from gobbledygook type jargon. It was inspiring however, and thought provoking. It was organised and structured in its approach, but most importantly it came up with ways of dealing with the problems of being a step-mum that are positive and aimed at reducing animosity long term. It does not advocate being a doormat, but the approach does remind us that to be truly happy we do need to give and take, and let time tell, and be patient and kind -not constantly trying to assert our rights and territory. Often in the book - and this is a good thing - the author does not preach to the reader what the correct answer to a problem is (such as who disciplines the children?), but reminds us that whatever it may be will come from the step parent and biological parent communicating honestly about the problem together, agreeing a solution and applying it consistently.

I read the book cover to cover, but have already delved into it from time to time to read back over some passages that I found particularly helpful, and advised my partner to read it too.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
this is a really well written and easy to read book. it has helpful quizzes to help you assess where you are and lots of information based on research which gives you an idea of what other stepmums feel. this helps you feel 'normal' as every possible negative emotion you can have experienced is covered. i should have read this years ago.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
Im an 'unoffical' stepmum (not married) of 24 to my boyfriends 7 year old daughter.. a very scary transition was eased by this book.. knowing my up and down thought patterns were normal was a relief and whenever i need a pick me up or reassurance first thing i do is turn to this book. its been a life changer for me.. must have for new stepmums, experienced or girlfriends xxx
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
I can't recommend this book highly enough. As a relatively new step mum to 4 children I felt invaded and resentful each fortnight they came to stay in 'my house'
I felt guilty, selfish, lost and confused. I don't have children of my own and had never dealt with so many young children at once.
This book helps you work through the causes, of frustration and provides solutions. I cried when I read the quotes from other women who felt the same as I did. I felt such relief that I wasn't alone, and then cried again reading quotes by children, as I realised the kids were probably feeling as confused about everything as I was.
My partner has been so open to the suggestions in this book, and we now have house rules in place. My house is 'our home', the children's behaviour has improved, they are so much more content, and adapted really quickly to the changes. My relationship with the children is now a 'positive' to being with my partner, and I ensure that I do something with each child on their own each time they come, and for special occasions spend an afternoon with them doing something we both enjoy.
We ensure that each time we are together as a family we do something together as a family, be it hide and seem in the local woods, or deciding what to cook for a themed dinner that night.
There are times when I feel I could do with the kids not coming, but I find that once they're here it's great fun. My parents have been so open and welcoming to the children, and the kids said themselves that although they'd prefer their mum and dad to be together, this arrangement is a really good second best. (The parents have been separated for 3 years)
I now love the Sunday morning 'invasion' of children in the bed playing 'there were 6 in the bed'.... And feel lucky that these wonderful children have so readily accepted me in their lives.
Thank you thank you thank you for writing this book, I really don't know what I'd have done without it,
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Got this book as although I'm not new to the game, I was struggling with a few issues that weren't going away. Lisa provides realistic, practical advice to help you and your partner work through the problems you face. Also good that she quotes other stepmums, so you are reassured that it's not just you who feels what you feel, and your mental/emotional struggles are not unique. A recommended read for new-to-the-role stepmums, as well as the veteran ones!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)