Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 2 September 2010
Having spent a memorable holiday in New England last June I realised that my knowledge of the Founding of America and it's fight for independence was limited to the Boston Tea party!

This excellent 6 DVD set combines two programmes made for America TV. What you do detect is that there were more commercial breaks, now of course taken out, but there is a lot of recapping. Indeed the last two sections are a complete rehash of the previous 11.

That said, this is still a most informative and entertaining set of DVDs and at a superb price.
11 Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2016
This would have made a great radio programme.

As others have said, the pictures don't add anything to the story. Lots of talking heads and actors dressed up n strutting about looking concerned

And boy, is it repetitious. I can understand the constant recaps introduced to deal with the advert slots (which have been removed). But in the later episodes they constantly flash back to earlier episodes. For example disc 4 is supposed to deal with the aftermath of the war, including Washington's presidency. But i woild estimate 75% of the disc is padded out with earlier extracts. There is no excuse for this other than padding out 3 disc material to sell 6 discs. I wonder whether those who gave it 5 stars actually watched the whole set. Maybe they simply fell asleep in the middle of one episode and awoke 2 episodes later.

As a Brit viewer, very interested in American history, the story seems quite impartial so if you interested in the subject, in detail, go for it! Just don't expect to be entertained.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2015
What a Great set. At last a DVD collection that covers more than The Boston Massacre, The Boston Tea Party, Battle of Bunker Hill and the British defeat and surrender at Yorktown. Plus a 2 DVD set Founding Brothers which covers the period immediately after the Revolutionary War, including the founding of the US Federal Government and the drafting of the US Constitution.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2011
I read the reviews on here and despite some of them being negative i purchased this box set and boy am i glad i did. It made fantastic viewing, great detail, great video footage recreating those moments in history, with superb input and commentary for historians, authors etc.

Have to say i found it highly informative and thoroughly captivating. I'd absolutely recommend it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2013
This 6 DVD box set covers the period and topic in usual History Channel style. When viewed in this format (ie without the constraints of televisual scheduling for adverts and episode length) the serial repetitions and summaries become tiresome. Removing duplicated content would reduce the time told to tell the story by approximately 10%.
The sole benefit of the style, is reinforcing key points; but the penalty in terms of continuity is too high a price to pay for enforced rote learning!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2012
This dvd set is all and more than I had hoped for - I studied American history as part of my Degree course - oh how I wish I'd had this resource available then! It should be available on all secondary school resources programme. Many thanks and well done.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2013
I agree that sometimes you need input. But you Americans ruin the program by getting the Oxford and Cambridge UK mob to rewrite history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2013
very disappointed - disc 3 of the box set doesn't work and there is no way to contact Amazon - only option they offer is to return the whole set - not possible because discs 1 an 2 have been played already. Feel ripped off. Disc 3 was key to the series and will not play on any dvd nor laptop. What happens now!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2016
fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2016
good customer service. good product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)