Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 30 August 2015
i am not a fan of Coppola's world, made of girlie women and hipsters (nut I loved Llst in translation). But here she managed to be honest and explicitely talk anout the world she knows better, that of star system and their families. With no moralism, she quietly and realistically tells a soft, oretty, yet also dramatic story with no emphasys or rethoric. Apparently a film about nothing, with a little story, but her talent lies exactly here: in putting the viewer inside a pn environment and make it live all their everyday details, moments of break and intimacy. Without sounding cliche. The first time I saw it I thought it was another of her annoying selfportrays. Watching it again I started to appreciate her storytelling. Not an easy one, although looking simple and easy
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2013
I thought this was a beautiful look at the life of a deeply sad actor, living what may be seen as a `dream' lifestyle but appearing ultimately lonely and depressed. This film does not have a beginning, middle and end as such; it instead observes the existence of the main character Johnny and takes a look at his changing attitude towards being a parent. If you liked Sofia Coppola's `Lost in Translation', you should like this as it has a similar feel. For anyone who just likes observing life and observing people this is a good film choice. If you are looking for action or something terribly gripping this film won't tick any boxes. However for the more philosophical film watcher this should hit the spot.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2013
I wanted to like this film SO MUCH as I love Sofia Coppola and I hold up The Virgin Suicides/Marie Antoinette/Lost In Translation as some of my favourite films of all time. But no, I'm afraid for me 'Somewhere' was severly lacking in any of the charm, style or substance of Coppola's previous films. The story line is a bit bleak and boring. Perhaps this would have been ok if there'd been an amazing soundtrack and stylistically the film was beatiful, but being set in modern day America is all a bit too familar and plain. With no interesting environments or characters, I just got bored with it. Shame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2012
Like other Sophia Coppola movies you need to be in the correct mindset to enjoy it the most, you need to "drink" it slowly, if you do, it will come back to your mind one and again as a memory that makes you think. There are not so many of these. It is another Sophia Coppola's subtle, beautiful portrait of loneliness. A small work of art.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2016
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2015
CD works as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2016
Interesting film. One of Sophia's strongest. Well acted and filmed with a fresh feel. Bears repeated viewing. Good stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2013
love love love this film. watched it about 4 times. Elle Fanning is excellent as is Stephen Dorff. Sofia copolla is just excellent. cant wait to see what she does next.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2015
Fantastic film, great service and great quality. Nothing else to say... Will definitely be buying from this company again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2012
I seem to be in the minority of people who love this film. If you like Coppola and have seen her previous works such as Lost In Translation you know what to expect. This film is deliberately slow, with longer takes than most films. I feel this film works best when you watch it by yourself in complete darkness, turn your phone off so you have no distractions. This is when the film is most powerful, and will hypnotise you with its beautiful composition and excellent music, and you will appreciate the growing relationship between a father and a daughter.
The plot in this film is minimal, and there is no cheesy epiphany tacked onto the end, like in a mainstream Hollywood film. The main protagonist is just as lost at the end as the the beginning, but this is what makes the film so great.
This is how relationships are in real life, complete with long pauses, and feelings of loneliness and isolation punctuated by moments of real connection with other human beings.
If this review has put you off, then good. You probably wouldn't like this film anyway. However give it a chance, and you will be stunned by this film.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)