Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
259
4.0 out of 5 stars
Style: ADSL2+ Modem/USB Router|Change
Price:£89.26 - £89.30
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2015
It is an ok modem, but the firmware didnt deal with my phone line very well... If you have a long line (1.5km+) or have speed of ~14-15mbps or below on ADSL 2+, then I would suggest looking elsewhere, though if your line quality is good then it is worth giving this a go as its great value and I know it has worked well for a number of friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
You will have issues on very long phone lines. The web interface is quite poor and I am sceptical about its security, but it seems okay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
I bought this as part of a replacement setup an ISP-supplied modem-router. It came with the latest v8 firmware installed. It's minimal, and works very well along with my new Asus RT-N56UU router.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2011
I've been using it for a month by now, there was no downtime, hasn't been restarted, does it's job as it's supposed to.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
I've been forcefully migrated to Sky from O2. My router is Asus RT-N66U.
If your ISP only has PPPOA and your router can only do PPPOE, and you want to use TD-8817 as bridged modem, don't buy this. It will simply not work.

You need a modem with PPPOA to PPPOE bridging capability.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
I bought a TP-Link TD-8817 modem in conjunction with the Asus RT-N66U router, as the two in combination was highly recommended by many Amazon reviewers and in other forums. I had decided to update my home network as my existing Netgear DGN5500 modem/router was creaking under the strain of a home demanding a lot from its wireless network, causing frequent wireless dropouts: quite a common problem these days where there are many tablets, phones, laptops etc. all trying to connect in the same household at the same time. There are also a lot of 2.4 GHz wireless networks operating in my local neighbourhood, adding to the problem. The Asus RT-N66U router has a dual band 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz wireless capability and as there were not many 5 GHz wireless networks currently operating in my neighbourhood the theory was dual band would significantly improve my network capability and give me access to an uncluttered band. A separate modem / router would also give me more versatility and less future redundancy.

So, I placed my order. Delivery from Amazon was prompt as usual.

The TD-8817 modem is quite functionally rich given its price. The GUI is simple to understand. I followed the setup & installation instructions per the supplied manual / disc. That didn’t work, so I then tried using the advice that other Amazon reviewers had been kind enough to post previously. This time around, I got the required connection and then proceeded to connect my Asus RT-N66U router to my TD-8817 modem. This went smoothly. Excellent, I thought. Job done!

Then the problems started. The TD-8817 modem wouldn’t hold the connection for more than a minute or two. I obviously had more internet forum research to do! But without a stable network connection, how could I do this? I disconnected the new TD-8817 modem and reconnected using my old Netgear modem / router.

After many hours of research - often having to compare / contrast seemingly conflicting advice (such are forums these days) - I identified that some different settings were required on the TD-8817 modem. So, I disconnected my Netgear (again), re-installed the TD-8817 modem (again) and the Asus RT-N66U router (again) and bingo – stable connection. This connection was stable over night through to 3pm the next day. Then the problems started again. Now, I know network speed tends to suffer when the schools turn out. The kids come home, check their Facebook accounts, start playing on-line games etc. But, the TD-8817 modem was completely incapable of holding a connection and when it finally refused to connect at all, I decided enough was enough! I decided that the TD-8817 modem needs to go back as it’s not fit for my purpose and I didn’t want to waste any more time researching, disconnecting, reconnecting etc. However, as I am impressed with the Asus RT-N66U router, I’m still using it, albeit with my Netgear DGN3500 operating in bridge mode. However, as I really want to use the Netgear DGN3500 as a wireless repeater, which clearly I can’t do at the moment, I’m now looking for another modem – although there aren’t many to choose from. Time will tell whether I keep the Asus RT-N66U router or whether it goes back as well.

UPDATE

Having subsequently carried out more research, it seems that the problem I have experienced with the TD-8817 modem is quite common. Basically, without going into the specifics of SNR, line attenuation, ADSL 2+, VPI/VCI settings etc., the TD-8817 modem is completely useless if you are more than 2.4km away from your local telephone exchange (telephone line length that is, not line of sight) because of the chipset the TD-8817 modem uses. I need a modem which uses a Broadcom chipset, which holds long-line connections much better. My old Netgear modem/router uses this chipset, which is why it’s working brilliantly in bridge mode. The frustrating thing about this whole experience is that TP-Link should be more honest with its customers and tell people that its TD-8817 modem is unsuitable for customers who have long line lengths from their telephone exchange. Especially since, given the TD-8817 modem’s price point, it’s likely to be bought by customers who are not network savvy – which I wasn’t until I had to go through this experience! I’m now a real bore at the pub, trying to impress everyone with my newly found knowledge on home networking! Don’t make the same mistake I did! Either do your research thoroughly and get a separate modem/ router appropriate to your particular networking requirements or get a combined router/modem combination and save yourself a lot of hassle.

So in summary, if you have a long line length from your local exchange (there are websites which will calculate this for you), don’t buy this modem.
1313 Comments| 165 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2011
I was looking for an ADSL2+ modem to go with a new TP-Link TL-WR1043ND gigabit router. I prefer the flexibility of a separate modem and router than an combined modem/router. This is especially useful if I move to a fibre based internet connection in the future as I won't need to change my router only the modem.

Searching for ADSL2+ modems shown them to be rather expensive for what they are. However a few further searches on Amazon found me this very cheap TP-Link TD-8817 modem (and single port router).

Installation was very simple (I updated to the latest firmware) and I was up and running in minutes! Initially I just connected a PC to the WAN port of the TD-8817 to check out access to the internet. Following this I then connected the supplied ethernet cable to my TL-WR1043ND.

Note to anyone considering a similar setup and is a little lost on the networking front.... As supplied both routers have the same default IP address and DHCP switched on. I changed the TD-8817 from the supplied 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.0.1 and switched DHCP off. I left the TL-WR1043ND router with the supplied 192.168.1.1 address and DHCP switched on, but configured the WAN connection as 192.168.0.250 (note this could be anything you like in the 192.168.0.xxx range, e.g. 192.168.0.100), subnet 255.255.255.0, gateway as 192.168.0.1 and DNS as 192.168.0.1 to ensure internet traffic from the TL-WR1043ND passes to and from the TD-8817 modem/router. All was up and running smoothly within 30 mins. This setup has also continued to run without any rebooting for the last couple of months I've had the kit.

I thoroughly recommend the TD-8817, great value for money and it just works straight out of the box. The same is true of the TL-WR1043ND, it has a very useful USB port on it which I use to provide a network access to USB disk drive.
88 Comments| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Nice little modem, cheap, the setup screen is simple and gets to the point.

The modem is more than capable of setting up your account which is perfect for a single computer but if you are running this with side a more expensive wireless router then just set this little fellow in bridge mode and let the router take care of the account settings such as PPPoE, PPTP etc, that way the modem becomes a nice simple little box that allows you to connect to your router's WAN port. Bridge mode is just going into "Interface Setup" and selecting it on the ISP menu

I've heard some reports that these can get hot and overheat, my one runs cool, I assume that's possibly due to the fact it's acting as a simple bridge and not engaging in any firewall and account activities hence raising the heat on it's chips, which is another reason I let my ASUS router take care of that stuff, taking the stress off this, could be wrong though.

Leave this as 192.168.1.1 and set the router up for 192.168.2.1 And your good to go.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
Had to move to an area without BT Infinity, but wanted to continue to use my Asus RT-N56U Router, so thought I'd give this a try.

Setup was not too tricky for standard BT Broadband, thanks to previous reviewers. Set it to Bridge Mode, selected PPoE, turned DHCP off, changed the VPI to 0 and the VCI to 38, used the user name bthomehub@btbroadband.com, and used the password 'bt'. Finally changed the IP to 192.168.2.1. (Don't change this until the end, as otherwise you might find it tricky to reconnect to it without using the reset switch). Then plugged it in to the wall and the Asus Router, and off it went.

I've had no problems with it that I'm aware of, and I am getting the same speeds I was with the BT hub. I've now got it connected to a powerline converter, with my router in a more useful room, and there has been no speed drop or other trouble, which perhaps says more about the powerline converters than anything else.

All in all, very pleased!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
I used the TD-8817 in combination with an ASUS RT N66U wi-fi router.

My local telephone exchange supports 21CN, so I've configured them both to use PPPoE.

This combination is working very well, with a reliable ADSL connection, even though I'm some miles from the exchange.

I used the above combination to replace a Billion office grade ADSL modem/router, that had complete wi-fi failure after only two years.

I'm hoping that "separates" rather than an "all in one" is a more longer lasting approach.

The TD-8817 is a small neat unit taking up very little space, and runs cool to the touch. Setup was fairly straight-forward, mostly using defaults, apart from selecting PPoE.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 37 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)