Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
55
3.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2012
Having long admired and read Antonia Fraser, likewise Harold Pinter, many of whose plays I saw in London, and also having been fascinated at the possibilities of their relationship, reading this was gripping. Her writing is so easy and the story wonderfully human. Having recently lost a second husband after a thrilling relationship of 37 years I relived my own story with her's, and the unimaginable grief and relief at the passing after 6 years of increasing illness and disability. It was for me a joyful and uplifting read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2015
What a pain this woman is, far from intelligent writing and too self indulgent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2010
This book could have been just another over detailed and very personal account of the 'grand affair'. However as it has been
written by an established, excellent writer we do learn of the progress of the developing relationship but only in the context
of their interesting and literary life. We meet so many of the authors, writers, actors etc. of their acquaintance so that the story of their long and loving relationship grows slowly in our minds and leaves us feeling that this was certainly a partnership that was meant to be. A memorable read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2015
A delightful read written with great tenderness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
good customer service. good product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2011
Librarians beware! tough to know what shelf to put this on - and that's supported by the mixed nature of the reviews to date.

Imagine trying to capture 30 years of a marriage in about 8 hours? What to include and what to exclude? Its clearly going to be tough. And you're going to leave yourself open to all sorts of criticism focussed on superficiality, lack of insight, lack of detail/too much detail, prefer the Private Eye version of events ...

But if you like Diaries, if you want to learn about Pinter and Lady Magnesia, if you enjoy love stories, you are probably really going to ennjoy reading (or listening to) this book.

(The extremeley posh for them what wants to know) Sandra Duncan puts in an excellent performance (with help from Gareth Armstrong* reading the poems. Gareth Armstrong may be better known as Sean Myerson, the publican of the Cat and Fiddle on Radio 4's the Archers, the serial's first regular gay character).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
Very good, very revealing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
frank and interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
I chose this book as both Antonia Fraser and Harold Pinter are people of this century who are/ were both well known and talented people. I also wanted to find out why AF was exposing her life - and family and close friends - to the public.

I liked her style of writing very much - very personal without a sense of exposure. Rather a sense of sharing their time together.
Never boring, she has the ability to write in a warm and interesting style which kept the pages turning......gently!

I am not sure that it would appeal to all men but certainly to most women
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
Very interesting insight into these two famous people and their lives together. They seemed to know everyone famous at the time in political and literary circles as well as Antonia's many posh friends !. Wasn't aware of how politically they were involved with a number of foreign leaders like Havel which was impressive. It could have seemed a bit like showing off but wasn't at all mainly down to Antonia's genuine and nice personality which came across strongly as well as her openness and honesty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse