Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
43
4.2 out of 5 stars
Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (Xbox 360)
Platform: Xbox 360|Change
Price:£29.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 October 2017
My son is a great fan of spiderman and playing as different spidermen has kept him interested for hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
A very fun and unique take a Spider-Man story. Porbably the best story in a Spider-Man game. The gameplay and graphics are awesome to. Deffo check this game out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Great game. My son loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2011
Superheroes and computer games have never been easy bedfellows; for every `Batman: Arkham Asylum' there are ten `Superman 64'. The problem is that your average superhero can pretty much beat up everyone, except for your average super villain. Therefore, an army of normal enemies is not going to do much, the secret is to pack your game with bosses - this is exactly what `Spiderman: Splintered Dimensions' does. You play as four versions of Spiderman who each look and play slightly differently. The core gameplay is consistent, webbing around and taking out enemies, but whilst some are more action orientated others are more stealth based.

With 4 different realms the game never gets too stale, if you are bored of playing the Amazing Spiderman you can go ahead and play Spiderman Noir for some entirely different gameplay. Each of the 4 modes are fun in their own right, but for me Noir was the best as it was the most different; all the other three felt similar, but with different graphics. What I enjoyed about the game was as much about the characters and story, as the gameplay. Each level revolves around tracking down and defeating one of Spiderman's most famous enemies. The script is really well written and Spiderman is at his best when he is firing off sarcastic comments alongside his webs.

With diverse gameplay and a good script `Spiderman: Shattered Dimensions' is one of the best Spidey games to date, although I did enjoy `Web of Shadows' as well. The swinging around and fighting is not particularly original, but it is well programmed. Also Beenox did a good job in creating a camera that was able to follow Spiderman around as he darts across the screen. Overall, a good game that does become a little repetitive towards the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2012
After a run of free-roaming Spider-Man games (Spider-Man 2 & 3, Ultimate Spider-Man), Activision have returned to the more linear style of storytelling for Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions, which takes places in the standard Marvel Universe, with plot duties handled by current Spider-Man comic author, Dan Slott, ensuring plenty of nods towards recent storylines in the books. While Activision are cutting down on the free-roam aspect of previous games, they have expanded the character list by having four different Spider-Men playable in different universes, each with their own trademark power.

We have our typical Amazing Spider-Man, who is the average man of the group with no unique powers beyond his web-spinning and wall-climbing. Most of his adventures take place in the standard Marvel Universe, and feature familiar enemies like Kraven the Hunter, Juggernaut and The Sandman.

Next up is Spider-Man 2099, who is the futuristic version of Spider-man with the added ability to slow down time, in a Matrix-esque fashion. This is extremely effective when fighting shielded foes, or during the high-speed vertical chase scenes. His enemies include future versions of the contemporary Spider-Man's foes, such as Doctor Octopus 2099, Hobgoblin 2099 and Scorpion 2099. Most of these are original to the game, but fit the continuity of the Marvel 2099 universe from the comics.

We also have Ultimate Spider-Man, who is a younger version of Spider-man from a separate comics imprint. This version of Spider-man is the host of the symbiote (aka Venom) and has a Rage-meter, which accrues points as you defeat enemies allowing you to release Rage mode, increasing your power and combo count. His enemies are the Ultimate variations of the usual enemies, with Ultimate Electro, Ultimate Carnage and Ultimate Deadpool making appearances.

Finally we have Spider-Man Noir, which is another alternate version of Peter Parker from a Noir-inspired comics universe. This Spider-man has no powers, save for his web-swinging abilities and relies mainly on stealth to take out his heavily armed-foes. This is the first time that stealth has been a focus in a Spider-Man game, and I must admit it suits the character well. The sneaking in shadows does seem a bit simplistic and it can be frustrating when camera angles contrive against the player to make it impossible to see yourself, let alone any enemies in the area, but the stealthy aspect is strong enough to warrant its own game.

Each character is different enough to make playing through each chapter a fun experience without seeming too samey. The game gives you the option to play through each Spider-man's chapter in any order to complete each act. With four chapters per each of the three acts, and a final chapter featuring the boss, this is quite a long game, with plenty of varied environments and enemy types.

Fans of the comics will enjoy seeing enemies they never expected to see visualised in video-game form, since the usual pool of enemies get picked for this video game adaptations, but here we have obscure choices such as: Kraven the Hunter, Noir Hammerhead and Lady Octopus.

To add to the game's longevity, there is a 'Web of Destiny' menu screen, which features challenges unique to each chapter that earns the player experience points that they can spend on new moves, power increases and costumes to customise their Spider-men. This is a neat way to get players to replay old levels to earn specific rewards, and the challenges are easily tracked, so you know what remains to complete them. Some of them range from the easy to the frustratingly hard. I want to get all 180 challenges, so I can unlock the fourth and final costumes for each Spider-man, including my favourite variation: The Scarlet Spider.

Overall, this change of format is exactly what the Spider-Man video-game franchise needed after a slew of similar open-world games, which were beginning to repeat the same format. While some may consider it a step backwards to return to linear levels, the inclusion of various Spider-men distracts the gamer from this and introduces a totally new element to the Spider-man video-game.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2011
I really enjoy the main gameplay, lots of web slinging and fighting moves, and I particularly enjoy the Spiderman Noir universe which is really atmospheric and well thought out.

However, the end-of-level bosses are repetitive and dull. Every time it's a case of play the boss through once, probably die, restart the boss bit, work out their weakness, repeat that move 5 times.

Each level takes me about an hour (I'm not very good at it :-) so there's lots of game play content in there, but it does mean it's not a game you can just jump into for five minutes.

The control system is pretty good, although some of the combo moves are a bit tricky.

It's good, but it could've been a lot better.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
This is the best Spider-Man game available. It has amazing graphics and interesting villains. The storyline is basic but does not detract from the game and the controls are very easy to use and the levels are challenging. I would recommend it to anyone who likes Spider-Man.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2011
I actually loved this spider man game! I have both, spider man web of shadows, and this one. I can't really tell which is the best but they both have their own good things. Spider man shattered dimensions has an awsome combat system and four different gameplays and that makes the game more interesting and not boring once you finish it!!! It's not like SM WOS, where the combat system was just a button mushing!!!The swinging on SM SD isn't as good as the SM WOS but I think it works better with a game with levels and not free roam.SM SD also gives you a lot of costumes, which is really fun!!! The only thing that isn't good about this game, is that it's pretty short, but it's still one of the best Spidey games! But that's just my opinion!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
Awesome! Different times and dimensions is ultra cool. I like 1 Spider man let alone 4! My favourite is probably black suit Spidey or classic Spidey, it felt more fun. Hope I helped :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
I really enjoyed Shattered Dimensions. It's a really fun game and it has a variety of different Spider-men, which helps keep the game from becoming repetitive. There are four different Spider-men: Ultimate, Amazing, 2099 and Noir. Unfortunately, the stealth system in Noir can be incredibly frustrating at times, even if it does steal a lot from Rocksteady's little gem, Arkham Asylum. Another enjoyable feature of the game, is the long list of villains and boss battles. I'd recommend this game to anybody who enjoys a good beat 'em up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)