Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
91
4.7 out of 5 stars
The Toll-Gate
Format: Audio Download|Change


on 12 December 2015
Another delight from the pen of Georgette Heyer.In my case I have enjoyed listening to the stories and find a great pleasure of picturing,a well
crafted,romantic novel.set in regency England.Although,I do admit that the tales do run to a formula,but I have never been disappointed, and, find
a very comforting joy, listening to yarns of young damsels and ne'er-do-wells,set in an era of long ago.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2015
When reading this book, you are swept away to the era.A wonderful book, and as always the characters are so well written you can actual see them. As usual I found this book ended far too quickly.

When I was very young I read her books, but have not read a Heyer for almost 30 years now, and then decided to re-read some. I find I just love the books as much as ever, and of course there is so many more to read. I am having to stop my self down loading them all and just sitting there reading them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 September 2017
Not the best of Heyer's historical novels but still an easy "read". She writes well, as ever, and although the plot is a bit far-fetched in its details, there are no dull moments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2017
Loved it again, I have read this book too many times to count and it never fails to satisfy, would recommend this book to anyone whether they are a fan of historical romance or not - just a fab read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2017
Georgette Heyer's characters are always interesting. The story line is different from many of her other stores. A good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2017
Brilliant book as usual from GeorgetteHeyer. Every woman,s hero, Capt Jack Staple, brilliant. Lucky Nell. Adventure.romance and skullduggery in Recency England
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2017
Everything I would expect from the wonderful Georgette Heyer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2017
Georgette Heyer - excellent, as always. Great story and great characterisations, as well as the wonderful ways of speaking each of them has.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2017
Great read - rare murder in this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)