Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Slash
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
122
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2017
love slash, love this album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
You can't expect any more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
Epic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2011
The biggest problem when Slash released his debut album earlier this year was that he included bonus tracks that were only available in certain countries, so many people were left without certain songs such as Fergie's & Cypress Hill's version of Paradise city, Alice Cooper & Nicole Scherzinger "Baby Can't Drive", as well as songs by Beth Hart and Koshi Inaba. Well now with this 2cd 1dvd Deluxe Edition all these are included and a whole lot more!

Also included on the bonus cd are 5 live tracks, 4 of which are sung by Alter Bridge frontman Myles Kennedy, which include an acoustic version of his own track from the album "Back from Cali" as well as Acoustic versions of Velvet Revolvers "Fall To Pieces" and Guns N' Roses "Sweet Child Of Mine", both are good versions and shows that Kennedy was definitely the right singer to take on the road in support of the album, we also get a full rocking version of "Nightrain" which is outstanding! Instrumental track "Watch This" also has a live version and while it doesn't match what Slash did in the studio with Dave Grohl and Duff Mckagan it still delivers. The big dissapointment is that Nick Oliveri's(ex queens of the stone age) track "Chains and Shackles" isn't included and that is a pity, however "Nothing to Say" sung by M. Shadows of Avenged Sevenfold is basically the same song just different lyrics and production and is included on the main album, it would have been nice to have both versions.

The Dvd includes a making of the album video and shows how all the different singers prepared for their parts as well as the different techniques they all go through, and of course they all talk about what an honour it was to work with Slash. Slash also does a track by track review which is interesting. It also includes the video for "By The Sword" sung by Wolfmothers Andrew Stockdale, it also has making of the video For that song.. It does not include the new video for "Back From Cali" or for "Beautiful Dangerous" which is sung by Fergie. It does have some live video's though for both Myles Kennedy song's "Back From Cali" and "Starlight" as well as Kennedy singing Slash's Snakepit song "Mean Bone"

Of course the main album itself is great with loads of stand out tracks, with plenty of guest vocals including Ozzy, Ian Astbury from The Cult, a great track from Chris Cornell ""Promise" which shows what a fine vocalist and songwriter he is, Kid Rock and Iggy Pop also contribute as does Lemmy from Motorhead.

The only drawback of course is that they should have released this at the same time as the main album as I'm sure Slash fans will now end up paying out for the album again.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
I listened to this the other day and got out a bottle of JD just to celebrate the legend Lemmy Kilmister was, I also took Emigrate out to listen to him again, another great album! Slash has got a great bunch to sing some great tunes. The talent that this album has on it should not and does not fail! I wish I was a rock star, oh , well back to corporate world!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
To be terribly honest I thought I'd be way out of my
comfort zone with this release, so, it is with some
surprise (and a barely suppressed "Hell Yeah!!") that I have
to report that Mr Slash has made a very fine album indeed.

If you're looking for innovation or experiment you
will not find it here but if you have an appetite
for four-square, hard-hitting, comfortingly predictable,
impeccably performed and produced MOR rock then you
will feel very much at home listening to this generous
fourteen track collection.

That Mr Slash is a fine guitarist, within the confines of
his genre is inarguable. He is in many ways the epitome
of his species (an endangered species at that!); an almost
loveable and instantly recognisable bad boy whose legions
of fans would doubtless quaff neat bourbon from his boots.

Inevitably there will be highs and lows when you pull
together such a diverse range of singers to breathe life
into your work. The credits indicate a strong degree of
collaboration between host and guests in the creative
process and at its best the album delivers more than
a few very fine musical moments.

I particularly enjoyed 'By The Sword', featuring Wolfmother's
estimable vocalist Andrew Stockdale, who comes on strong like
a latter-day Ian Gillan, especially in his stratospheric
upper-register! There is considerable light and shade evident
in Mr Slash's guitar playing both here and elsewhere on the
recording. His limber and colourful fingerwork is quite
wonderful at times.

Maroon Five's Adam Levine has his moment in the sun on 'Gotten'
and manages not to disintegrate in the face of our hero's
blistering power-chords in the central section. A curiously
successful confection given this somewhat unlikely pairing.

Fergie is clearly enjoying herself enormously on 'Beautiful
Dangerous', bumping and grinding as though her very life
depended on it! Slinky, sensual and as credible a manifestation
of 'rock-chick' schtick as we are likely to encounter again this
side of Christmas! She has a very fine pair of lungs indeed!

Hearing Lemmy Kilminster's dulcet English tones on 'Doctor Alibi'
is an absolute hoot! He brings a little much needed dose of
deliciously devilry into the proceedings. Two Lords of Darkness
raising a bit of good-natured fire and brimstone together!

'Watch This', an instumental, unites Dave Grohl on drums and old
mate Duff McKagen on bass for what is perhaps the album's true
high-point. Those big, big chords and beautifully fluid fretboard
runs hang in the air like a clarion call to battle. Cracking stuff!

Look, there's so much to enjoy here I really don't want to
limit the opportunities that a leap of faith of your own might
engender but don't take my words as gospel - take a deep breath
and jump right in. By any standard known to man this is good music!

Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
This is probably Slash's best albumn outside of GnR,s. The one I received jumped on tracks 1 to 4 but that is the suppliers fault and not the quality of the music. I will by again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
Brilliant album. Slash plus trends at their very best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2016
Quick delivery I can only say I must have drunk to much when I bought it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)