Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
171
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2017
One of the best detective series made in Britain. Idris Elba is excellent in the title role. Detective Luther, a troubled man recently returned to active service, attends the scene of a double murder, he is suspicious of the couples daughter and begins an investigation that will have a profound effect on his, and his soon to be ex-wifes lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
great thriller good eye candy easy eyes luther
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
A very good series, but an awful disc! Couldn't manage to get episode 4 to play properly, it was just pixels.
(Annoyed that I can't return it!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Love it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
Excellent one of the best British crime dramas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
Excellent series - very enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
gripping
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 17 September 2013
"You do know the man is nitroglycerin," warns a colleague about John Luther. This detective in London, Luther, is played by Idris Elba. Most notably know from the series 'The Wire'. Luther is a different man, volatile, crazy, and engrossed in his job. We meet him as he is chasing a very bad man. Something awful course and the next time we see him seven months has gone, and his career and marriage in shambles.

Back he comes on the job, fragile in some ways, but Luther becomes involved in a weird murder case where he meets a crazy and possible killer Alice Morgan, played by Ruth Wilson. he has met his match. Alice can see Luther has a troubled mind. One grisly murder after another occurs, and they all lead to Alice. The cases get more disturbing until the final two episodes where things start to boil over.

Luther becomes addictive, so watch it!

Recommended. prisrob 09-16-13
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2010
The 4th episode aired last night, so I obviously can't speak for the entire series. However, based on these episodes, I have to conclude that this is one of the best BBC tv series' in a long time. Whilst it may appear to be just another detective show, it is so much more, and John Luther (Played by the always great Idris Alba) is one of the most compelling characters I have seen in a long while. Like many great characters, he is deeply flawed, his job an obsession, and he toes a fine line between good and bad. In many ways, he is like "House" who also treads that line. Idris Alba, like Hugh Laurie in House, however make sure that you root for his character.

Each episode revolves around a different case, however their is the overarching story which is possiibly more compelling. I cannot go into too much detail without giving spoilers, so I will end by saying that the show is fantastic, and needs to be watched. The only concern I have is whether the bbc will provide us a second series, or return to the safety of their period dramas
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)