Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 22 February 2018
The Making of Modern Britain and A History of Modern Britain by Andrew Marr provide, in my opinion, the best general history of Britain in the 20th century. Each book covers political, economic and social history written in Marr's unique style; you can almost hear Marr's voice reading the history to you as you peruse the paragraphs and prose within them. So good in fact that I bought copies for my father (now sadly passed away) and he loved them too. Indeed it would be hard to fault these volumes; almost impossible I would say as they are so well written and well put together. Though I suppose some would argue that Marr's personal views are present within the text and this creates a certain bias in the books. This can arise via the topics chosen and the way some topics are treated. Others for example may have chosen differently to Marr and provided a slightly different take on the topics selected. It is because of this that it is often said that no one can actually write a book free from bias. One way or another it will always creep in. But I failed to see any of this in Marr's writing. What I saw was a fair, balanced treatment of the subject from a great writer. For me these books simply read beautifully from start to finish. They provide an very readable history of our country, and I believe it will be quite some time before they are surpassed by any future volume(s) covering the same period.

I hope your find my review helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2017
Great potted history of modern Brittain, exploring themes as well facts. I waited a while to get hold of this 5 CD set at a decent price but it was worth the wait! Because its written & narrated by Andrew Marr the politics is interesting and well explained, told in his clear & concise way. Enjoyed it very much and will listen to it again. Bravo to the Vendor for offering at a great price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2011
I've now read both of Andrew Marr's 'History of...' books, and I have to say that I have thoroughly enjoyed them. They are accessible, amusing and full of little asides that bring the whole subject alive. I don't think you necessarily have to be a lover of history to both read and enjoy them - in fact if such a thing still existed, I'd suggest that they are made compulsory reading at school - they're not 'heavy going' but they bring social and political history to life, make you aware of where you belong, where you came from and (hopefully) where you're going. Oh of course there are a few little niggles, but isn't that what makes the whole experience really enjoyable?

Mr Marr clearly loves his subject, and the enthusiasm comes through, which I think is possibly what makes the books so enjoyable - you share in his enthusiasm. There's nothing dry or dusty about them - they are what a good history book should be.

Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2015
Just couldn't get into this. I quite like Marr on tv, and bought this on the back of it. However, his writing style just isn't right for me, and found I was looking for other things on my kindle to delay me getting back this book after little more than a chapter. My wife, who is an avid reader, also had a go at it, but also found the style cumbersome. She lasted 2 chapters. Wish I liked it; I'm sure that I would have learned a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2013
I like modern history and this book fits the bill for me.
I hope Andrew Marr soon recovers from his stroke.
My only criticism would be he missed Churchill's support for annual Land Value Tax.
Churchill said "Land monopoly is not the only monopoly, but it is by far the greatest of monopolies -- it is a perpetual monopoly, and it is the mother of all other forms of monopoly.

Unearned increments in land are not the only form of unearned or undeserved profit, but they are the principal form of unearned increment, and they are derived from processes which are not merely not beneficial, but positively detrimental to the general public.

Land, which is a necessity of human existence, which is the original source of all wealth, which is strictly limited in extent, which is fixed in geographical position -- land, I say, differs from all other forms of property, and the immemorial customs of nearly every modern state have placed the tenure, transfer, and obligations of land in a wholly different category from other classes of property.

Nothing is more amusing than to watch the efforts of land monopolists to claim that other forms of property and increment are similar in all respects to land and the unearned increment on land.

They talk of the increased profits of a doctor or lawyer from the growth of population in the town in which they live. They talk of the profits of a railway, from the growing wealth and activity in the districts through which it runs. They talk of the profits from a rise in stocks and even the profits derived from the sale of works of art.

But see how misleading and false all those analogies are. The windfalls from the sale of a picture -- a Van Dyke or a Holbein -- may be very considerable. But pictures do not get in anybody's way. They do not lay a toll on anybody's labor; they do not touch enterprise and production; they do not affect the creative processes on which the material well-being of millions depends.

If a rise in stocks confers profits on the fortunate holders far beyond what they expected or indeed deserved, nevertheless that profit was not reaped by withholding from the community the land which it needs; on the contrary, it was reaped by supplying industry with the capital without which it could not be carried on.

If a railway makes greater profits it is usually because it carries more goods and more passengers.

If a doctor or a lawyer enjoys a better practice, it is because the doctor attends more patients and more exacting patients, and because the lawyer pleads more suits in the courts and more important suits. At every stage the doctor or the lawyer is giving service in return for his fees.

Fancy comparing these healthy processes with the enrichment which comes to the landlord who happens to own a plot of land on the outskirts of a great city, who watches the busy population around him making the city larger, richer, more convenient, more famous every day, and all the while sits still and does nothing.

Roads are made, streets are made, services are improved, electric light turns night into day, water is brought from reservoirs a hundred miles off in the mountains -- and all the while the landlord sits still. Every one of those improvements is effected by the labor and cost of other people and the taxpayers. To not one of those improvements does the land monopolist, as a land monopolist, contribute, and yet by every one of them the value of his land is enhanced. He renders no service to the community, he contributes nothing to the general welfare, he contributes nothing to the process from which his own enrichment is derived.

While the land is what is called "ripening" for the unearned increment of its owner, the merchant going to his office and the artisan going to his work must detour or pay a fare to avoid it. The people lose their chance of using the land, the city and state lose the taxes which would have accrued if the natural development had taken place, and all the while the land monopolist only has to sit still and watch complacently his property multiplying in value, sometimes many fold, without either effort or contribution on his part!

But let us follow this process a little further. The population of the city grows and grows, the congestion in the poorer quarters becomes acute, rents rise and thousands of families are crowded into tenements. At last the land becomes ripe for sale -- that means that the price is too tempting to be resisted any longer. And then, and not until then, it is sold by the yard or by the inch at 10 times, or 20 times, or even 50 times its agricultural value.

The greater the population around the land, the greater the injury the public has sustained by its protracted denial. And, the more inconvenience caused to everybody; the more serious the loss in economic strength and activity -- the larger will be the profit of the landlord when the sale is finally accomplished. In fact, you may say that the unearned increment on the land is reaped by the land monopolist in exact proportion, not to the service, but to the disservice done. It is monopoly which is the keynote, and where monopoly prevails, the greater the injury to society the greater the reward to the monopolist. This evil process strikes at every form of industrial activity. The municipality, wishing for broader streets, better houses, more healthy, decent, scientifically planned towns, is made to pay more to get them in proportion as is has exerted itself to make past improvements. The more it has improved the town, the more it will have to pay for any land it may now wish to acquire for further improvements.

The manufacturer proposing to start a new industry, proposing to erect a great factory offering employment to thousands of hands, is made to pay such a price for his land that the purchase price hangs around the neck of his whole business, hampering his competitive power in every market, clogging him far more than any foreign tariff in his export competition, and the land price strikes down through the profits of the manufacturer on to the wages of the worker.

No matter where you look or what examples you select, you will see every form of enterprise, every step in material progress, is only undertaken after the land monopolist has skimmed the cream for himself, and everywhere today the man or the public body that wishes to put land to its highest use is forced to pay a preliminary fine in land values to the man who is putting it to an inferior one, and in some cases to no use at all. All comes back to land value, and its owner is able to levy toll upon all other forms of wealth and every form of industry. A portion, in some cases the whole, of every benefit which is laboriously acquired by the community increases the land value and finds its way automatically into the landlord's pocket. If there is a rise in wages, rents are able to move forward, because the workers can afford to pay a little more. If the opening of a new railway or new tramway, or the institution of improved services of a lowering of fares, or of a new invention, or any other public convenience affords a benefit to workers in any particular district, it becomes easier for them to live, and therefore the ground landlord is able to charge them more for the privilege of living there.

Some years ago in London there was a toll bar on a bridge across the Thames, and all the working people who lived on the south side of the river had to pay a daily toll of one penny for going and returning from their work. The spectacle of these poor people thus mulcted of so large a proportion of their earnings offended the public conscience, and agitation was set on foot, municipal authorities were roused, and at the cost of the taxpayers, the bridge was freed and the toll removed. All those people who used the bridge were saved sixpence a week, but within a very short time rents on the south side of the river were found to have risen about sixpence a week, or the amount of the toll which had been remitted!

And a friend of mine was telling me the other day that, in the parish of Southwark, about 350 pounds a year was given away in doles of bread by charitable people in connection with one of the churches. As a consequence of this charity, the competition for small houses and single-room tenements is so great that rents are considerably higher in the parish!

All goes back to the land, and the land owner is able to absorb to himself a share of almost every public and every private benefit, however important or however pitiful those benefits may be.

I hope you will understand that, when I speak of the land monopolist, I am dealing more with the process than with the individual land owner who, in most cases, is a worthy person utterly unconscious of the character of the methods by which he is enriched. I have no wish to hold any class up to public disapprobation. I do not think that the man who makes money by unearned increment in land is morally worse than anyone else who gathers his profit where he finds it in this hard world under the law and according to common usage. It is not the individual I attack; it is the system. It is not the man who is bad; it is the law which is bad. It is not the man who is blameworthy for doing what the law allows and what other men do; it is the State which would be blameworthy if it were not to endeavor to reform the law and correct the practice.

We do not want to punish the landlord. We want to alter the law."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2018
Engaging and clear, amusing in places. Unsurprisingly, similar in vein to the accompanying TV series. Informative if you are new to this, although there might be some minor factual errors (some other sources give slightly different details on a few points). Overall, a good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 August 2011
Stemming from his book and television series of the same name, it is a very enjoyable way to reach both; I had seen the programme but had not had time to read the book. Going on a lengthy journey, I bought the CDs and put them on my iPod.
It was a very enjoyable, interesting and informative way to while away hours behind the wheel. I always enjoy Andrew Marr and have a few of his works. This is an excellent addition to the collection and for anyone who wants an interesting companion in the car, jogging or just sitting, Marr's as good as they come.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2017
This is history as it was never taught to me at school. Fascinating, interesting, and with a wealth of views and comments from a gifted writer.
This has to be one of the best books I have read and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to improve their knowledge of the history of our country - bugs and all!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2014
Apart from glaring grammar mistakes, the odd convoluted sentence, flipping forward to C.21st. I found this book highly readable, 90% accurate (well, maybe more!) and in places, amusing. It's an almost unput-downable book, neatly segmented if you have to go and make a cuppa and read on.
I wish there were a Volume Part Deux - honestly; why most most events finish with WWII! Please: Vol II
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2017
As described
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)