Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
53
3.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 August 2010
Was genuinely looking forward to watching this after reading the back of the box and expecting it to be a UK version of the warriors, but oh how wrong could I have been!this film is atrocious, its concept that the UKs economy could crumble and implode is worryingly believable in these times but thats about the only good thing i can find in this film. The rest is slung together with some poor dialogue and a "grime" soundtrack, maybe im just too old (28) to be watching this type of film but I found that there was too many pointless scenes where nothing happens. cant even tell you what happens in the end because id turned it off well before then! avoid like a rough London council estate!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
This film has quite a high reputation but sadly it's not deserved as it is let down by the most important aspect of any movie: the script. The characters set out on a journey to get revenge, they walk up to someone for advice start banging their chests and threatening each other then they calm down and ares sent to meet someone else who they meet, start banging their chests and threatening each other then calm down and are sent to meet someone else, who they meet, start banging their chests ect ect. This is the narrative of the film and it does it repeatedly about 5 times and it gets real old, real fast.
The dialogue is interesting in that they try to do a slight Clockwork Orange type thing all talking in slang and rhyme unique to this future vision of London, which would work if they were talking about anything more interesting than their own egos. The characters are all very one dimensional and have no development. You expect one of them to have betrayed the group and have that as a twist at the climax but no.
However, the film does get a star for having really strong visuals and great directing. It looks really good with decent cinematography and a few really striking images at the start that really work well. There are two dream sequences one in the style of a CGI video game and the other in the style of a anime action movie. These both look great but the problem is that they don't develop the narrative at all. You could remove them and the story would still be the same.
At it's best the film feels like a graphic novel with it's strong visuals, style and voice over. However, the narrative is so weak and after the first act (a very good first act that gets your hopes up) goes absolutely nowhere. Characters and situations are introduced but then they are completely dropped and aren't developed at all. It is only 90 minutes but feels much longer because you are so bored for the last two thirds of the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
This film is so bad I could go on and on about it, but I won't.
It's just awful, don't even watch it, let alone buy it,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2012
Seriously this is one of the worst films I've ever seen. TERRIBLE PLOT, TERRIBLE ACTING (although to be fair to the actors with a script and story like this they were probably embarrassed to be doing the scenes)
This is one of the stupidest story lines I've ever even thought of, never mind used as a plot for a film.
Trust me don't waste your money and time on watching Shank, swerve this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2011
This is one of the worst films i have ever seen, the biggest load of rubbish ever!! If you liked kidulthood which i thought was very good and your hoping this is the same FORGET it, Dont waste your money what a load of crap shame on you!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
The plot reminded me of the kind of thing we would think up in school drama class aged 13/14 and in a timescale of a bout 15mins. The acting is dreadful (school drama class again), script like its been made up on the spot, and plenty of stereo type unbelievable characters. There are attempts at humour which dont work and the sound track is predictable...Was expecting a cameo from the great one "Danny Dyer" to just about cap it all off...!!!In a word..POOR
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2012
This is NOT what I expected. It looked so good in the trailers so I purchased it, watched it and thought "that's it?". Set in 2015, gangs have taken over everywhere (one would think how when you have the police and army) and there is food running out. The main character's brother gets stabbed and then he tries to find and kill the person who did him in.

Nope, not a good film at all. The only British gangster films that are decent (and will probably be the only ones decent) are Kidulthood, Adulthood & Anuvahood.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2010
I am one of those who enjoyed this film.
Two things I realised throughout watching the film.

First, the film delivers a great message overall, which from my point of view, is intending to get across to young people in general.

People who are after violence, and sex will be pretty satisfied. Just see the trailer and you'll want to see the film!

Overall, I can reccommend for those who are looking for either of the above to see this film.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2012
so bad had to turn it off halfway through , couldnt understand a word the characters were saying and what i could understand didnt make much sense! , if this is the sort of film "da yuffe" are watching for inspiration god help us.....,if inner city gang / knife culture floats your boat go for it and buy it , im sure you could always just go down to your "hood" instead and just watch it for real??.
i hate these sort of films they just fan the flames of problems that already exist and glorify this type of sewer lifestyle. avoid.... unless you a 15 year old wannabe white gangsta whos going to end up on jeremy kyle one day....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2010
This is the Best British Urban Film that I have seen! It's definitely going to be a cult classic.
SHANK showcases Britain's up and coming talent, not only the actors (watch out for a few rising stars on the London bus scene) but the director and writer show great promise for future films.
The film itself is set in gritty futuristic London and opens with an enthralling chase through a London estate. This is one of my favourite scenes. From here on in you'll be hooked and want to watch more!
I don't want to give too much away but SHANK is SO today and addresses current issues that modern day London faces whilst still being extremely funny and having you on the edge of your seat.
Definitely one for the DVD collection at home!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)