Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
44
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 26 September 2010
It's a privilege to have so many versions of this, Mike Oldfield's terrific second album. The 2010 mix is superb, as it the 1970s original mix. The demo version sheds some interesting new light; you hear the piece from an entirely new angle. I don't yet have surround facilities, so cannot comment on this version's success, but it is accompanied on the DVD by pleasant aerial photography of Hergest Ridge.

My only complaint, as other reviewers have noted, is that the original mix does not have the original startling sudden start, used on all previous versions. Instead, it fades up, as if creeping in round the back, rather than ringing the doorbell. This should have been preserved on the 'original' mix, and as such, the album is not as-advertised. I will therefore be keeping my original LP and the previous HDCD from Virgin in addition to this otherwise magnificent set.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
This is a wonderful album originally. It is flawless. In this version with 2 CDs and a DVD-A, it was perfect. No fan who would not like. The two songs and a few more extra tracks with authentic Mike Oldfield values make this one of the best musician of very high resources and inexhaustible talent. He is a highly progressive rock album with fully instrumental tracks, appreciating good music. Excellent! Note 10.0.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2010
For old hardcore Oldfield's fans, the primary question about this release is: what's better? The old vinyl or 'new' cd version?
Usually, the new cds sounds more clear, crispy and cristalline, despite the loss of middle-bass, that means a more aggressive and harsh sound. For someone, a huge improvement; for others, a treason of original opus. Vexata quaestio. In my (humble) opinion, i.e., Tubular Bells still play significantly better in vinyl, but in this case, I'm for the new cd version (THE ORIGINAL MIX, to be clear). Losing a minimal parts of middlebass (than means fullness of sound), the sound is very more present, but not (very) harsh, and (oh yes) more pleasant. In comparaison, the 1974 vinyl sound congested, little bit flat, dull; in a word, a laborious listening. In some passages (i.g., the bass solo at 13'.00" in Part One), the vinyl still have a little superiority; but, overall, the cd is better. Not perfect, but better. I'll say cd deserves 8/10, old vinyl 7/10. That's my opinion: I don't expect this is the TRUTH: no problems with different opinions.
Now, I've compared the two with this components: (turntable) LINN SONDEK with LINN ADIKT cartidge. (cd player) LINN GENKI. (pre+finals) LINN KAIRN+ 2 LINN LK85. (speakers) LINN NINKA in active configuration. And, by the way, my own ears, that's are different to each other's ones.

About the rest. I'll don't say anything about the new 2010 mix (the FOURTH HR version!... er...), but the demo version is very very interesting, but for Oldfield fans only, I suppose. Anyway a well done gift, no discussion.
And... why a new cover? Copyright reasons, I hope.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
If you're not an Oldfield fan, DON'T start with Hergest Ridge. If you are: this is worth getting. The original Hergest Ridge was largely unpalatable multi-instrumental droning broken up by one great tune (side one) and one dreadful racket (side two). This remastered version improves both sides. Perhaps the oboe tune isn't quite as well mixed in this version but everything else is way better. Even the racket on side two develops new musical qualities. For me, this jumps Hergest Ridge from a 3* to a 4* album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
amazing stero and 5.1 mixes
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2010
A pre curser to all things hip hop along with touches of the new life movement Hergest Ridge comes again like the glider on the sleeve (incidentally this is NOT the ariel view of said place but infact two miles south!! - apparently all repressings will show correct image).
Mick's music really shows through the bell work of his first lp. Let's hear more remixes Mick!!

Can't wait to see the live performance of Ommadawn later in the year as well!

Go buy the Platinum Deluxe Edition as well!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
Excellent, thank you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
Like many others i had the original on vinyl and on cassette and loved the "fuzziness" of the sound, so when i could no longer play the lp i bought the cd and thought, "this doesn't sound right? Whats missing, it's as though the cd had been cleaned and remastered too much and it sounded a pale imitation of the original. When i discovered that the original recording had been released then it all started to make sense as to why the first cd release didn't sound the same. i now have a 1974 copy on cd playing whilst i write this review, taking me back to when i first listened to it nearly 40 years ago. Bliss!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2010
I seem to remember reading that the CD version recently available was the Boxed set inferior version.
Well this Deluxe version has the original 1974 mix as well as a very, very different remix from Mike Oldfield. The 2010 remix is startlingly different. The Storm passage particularly.
Both are eminently listenable - difficult to decide which is better.
The evocative description of Hergest Ridge itself in the booklet should provide a boost to tourism. Sounds a magical place.
Wonderfully put together package and excellent value. New cover is great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2017
Another favourite by Mike Oldfield in multidisc edition. Play it in 5.1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£12.15

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)