Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
52
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 January 2007
Having just read McNab's Recoil, I was disappointed with this latest Chris Ryan novel, which I felt was significantly weaker than McNab's latest. Previous reviewers have mentioned the typos, which are indeed very frustrating. What I found even more frustrating in this latest book was military inaccuracy - when co-ordinating the attack in Baghdad there is much reference to cruise missiles and Paveways as interchangeable terms. This is not at all accurate. Tomahawk cruise missiles are self-propelling and would 'buzz' overhead. Paveways are laser-guided bombs, which are not self-propelled and merely use gravity to reach their target once dropped from aircraft. You could not 'launch' a Paveway from a ship or a submarine, for example. I simply do not believe that Ryan would make this mistake himself, so I am drawn to the conclusion that a ghost writer is being used. I find this disappointing - the attraction to these writers, for me, is that they are writing from memory almost, and have been there themselves. In some of the recent books this has been lacking.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2007
Have now read a number of Chris Ryan's titles but found this one to be a severe disappointment. The story is far fetched, ill thought out and highly predictable. His previous titles were far slicker and the sort that are difficult to put down. You could give up on this one easily. Hope his form returns with his next title.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2007
Another good read from Ryan. Although not his best, it's still a great story and worth reading.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2007
I usually really like Chris Ryan's books but this one is a shocker. The plot is childish and ill thought out. The characters are not remotely believable and the interactions between then are painfully false.

Sorry, but this one should really be avoided.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2006
Another great read from Chris Ryan. The storey gripped me right from the start, and seemed a lot more topical than most of the SAS stories. Definitely the man's best work since Greed and The Increment. Keep it up, mate
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2007
Having read every one of Ryan's Books I was eagerly waiting this novel, now I am just feeling rather disappointed. The plot is so so far fetched it is almost science fiction, It has so many twists but all are so see through and predictable that you guess the story before even reading it and the ending is so abrupt you are left wondering why you bothered.

Not like Ryan books at all. If you can't decide on this or Mcnab Choose Recoil By Mcnab it is a much better read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A missing scientist with an ex SAS dad and a current SAS boyfriend is the setting for this one. With links to the Weapons Of Mass Destruction and the kick off of the Iraq war this story starts in the UK and ends up with the guys fighting their way across war torn Iraq.

Not bad and the background politics are interesting but some aspects are a little obvious such as the relationship between the two main characters.

So, Ryan tries hard with an interesting topical twist, but some aspects lack sufficient depth. Not bad but not brilliant either.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
Read this on holiday. An ok read, but nothing brilliant. There are two soldiers, the older veteran (inner demons, ex SAS and alcoholic, burning desire for redemption, etc) who is as smart of a bucket of bricks and tries to beat his way through the book. Unfortunately he gets beaten up all the time and despite broken ribs, a shattered hand, broken legs, etc, all early on in the book, he just seems to keep on going. The other young soldier is less well defined. They are both working to save a woman who is so thinly sketched out you don't really care for her. After a few false endings and a final revelation you could see a mile off I finished the book feeling disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2007
I have read a lot of the Chris Ryan books and i must say this one was great i just wanted to keep reading and reading story line was great and the action was gripping but the end seemed to fade a little but overall a great book
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2006
I have to say first and foremost that this was a great story although not Ryans' best but it was good, however it seems it was not proof-read before publication as it has so many errors of one form or another it is unbelieveable. The errors include spelling errors, words with letters missing, poor grammar and punctuation and continuity errors such as a charactors name changing in the same sentence (from Rob to Ron then back to Rob again) to name but a few, I found this incredibly irritating and have already begun to write a strong letter of complaint to the publishers. I have to say however that this should not put you off of buying this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here