Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
269
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2010
Like a lot of people, I'm unfamiliar with the comic book, but that didn't stop me loving this day-glo salute to whiteboy twentysomethingness, when bands and gigs and girls with dyed hair are the Most Important Things In the World. Scott Pilgrim - bassist for too-cool-for-school no-hopers Sex Bob-omb - is just starting to get over a terrible break up when he meets and falls for Ramona, the coolest girl in the world. The path of true love never runs smooth, etc, and soon Scott is literally fighting for Ramona's love as he takes on her seven Evil Exes in mortal combat.

This very thin premise wouldn't carry the movie for ten seconds if it wasn't all pulled off with such hectic, humourous energy. The video-game nature of the battles, mixed with the achingly cool characters and the endless geek-friendly gags, would be too much in the hands of a less skilled director, but Edgar Wright keeps all the elements in check, and they are never allowed to overwhelm each other. It's also remarkable that a film with something like 11 one-on-one fight scenes never gets boring.

Most indie-kid obsessions - Japanese cool, retro kitsch - are referenced. The mindset of bands - neurotic lead singers and grumpy girl drummers - is affectionately spoofed. Vegans are mercilessly lampooned. Michael Cera has never been more engaging. Canada has never been so cool. A definite win.
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2010
FILM

Like others before seeing the film I had never read the comics, having now read the entire series I can attest to the film being highly enjoyable for both fans of the comics and to those who have never seen it. Director Edgar Wright brings his own stylistic choices to the series but with the creator of the books, Bryan Lee O'Malley, lending extensive support to the film the end result is a very enjoyable adaptation of a remarkable series of graphic novels.
The film itself has a slow start (and a nauseating credit role as well unfortunately) but this serves as an enjoyable contrast with the later action. The scenes themselves are lovingly shot in Toronto itself and the attention to detail and special effects are outstanding. One thing in particular which seems remarkable is how much fun the actors and actresses are having (particularly Satya Bhabha and Chris Evans as Evil Ex 1&2). The films many references and homage's to classic games ('look I can play the Final Fantasy II base line') to anime and comics (spot the Akira reference for example), those for whom Nintendo and anime means little or nothing (and those over 30) are likely to find the film more difficult to enjoy and at time befuddlining with its eye popping special affects, pop-culture references and rapid fight scenes, the music is always diverse and exciting (featuring some great songs). One could complain that the final third of the film can drag a little, the final fight scene, while epic, drags on longer then it should, plus some of the more interesting side characters from the books are never touched on and others such as Kim Pine and Stephen Stills could have used some more development.
However as a whole the film is both funny, touching and exciting, anyone who enjoys video games, anime, comics etc will find it doubly so, 8.5/10

DVD/EXTRAS

The DVD package is excellent, inside a nice shinny slipcase there are two discs filled with hours of extras. Disc One, apart from having the movie itself also has an alternative ending, some very funny outtakes, commentary and gallery. The second disc is crammed with extras, a full 50 minute documentary on 'The Making of Scott Pilgrim' which is highly enjoyable, a series of videos looking at the visual and sound effects, trailers, a very funny 'TV safe' version of the film with the sections with bad language having silly words inserted instead. Along with several other extras there is also the 4 minute short 'Scott Pilgrim VS the animation' an animated segment that looks back at Scott's history with Kim Pine (basically being a retelling of the second books, first chapter) it was so much fun I wish there were more shorts like it. Excellent package, 10/10

Conclusion - If you enjoyed the books or are looking for an inventive, unique film there is nothing quite as funny and enjoyable as this.
66 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 August 2016
I really thought it was a great film.
It has everything a nerdy comedy should, including obscure references, random humour, tons of sarcasm, exaggerated characters, and a bizarre but easy to follow story line. For fans of the comics, it is almost word-for-word extracted from the books, which is pretty rare for a film. A lot of love went into the making of this movie, and it shows.
t's a heavily stylized film so it's definitely not going to be to everyone's taste but here the style definitely helps with the substance. If you're older or don't have any history with video games, you'll more likely hate this film. It has a very distinctive style and you're either going to love it or hate it, it definitely hasn't been toned down for mass audiences. I thought it was fantastic, funny, charming and full of energy. It has a freshly inventive and boldly unique approach to film, there definitely isn't anything like this out there. From the very first shot of the SNES Universal logo and midi music playing, you know you're going to see something special. The editing and the effects were superb and appeared very seamless. The movie is endlessly creative and delightful with an impeccable focus on detail, I was grinning like an idiot the whole way. The fight scenes are brilliantly over-the-top and hilarious. The movie's pace was relentless as well.
I would definitely recommend this movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2011
First up, should you buy this film and, should you buy it on blu ray? One thing is for sure, the film looks and sounds fantastic on blu ray, which you'd expect given the vibrant colours and visuals on offer and the great soundtrack.

Will you like it? Well, if you like quirky, highly inventive, visually spectacular films with great action and sharp humour, you will probably love it, but I can see that some simply won't get it.

Basically, if you're buying this as a conventional action/comic book adaption I'd advise that you look at the basic component parts before buying - Michael Cera is the superhero (so you know what you're getting), it's filmed in Canada with an English director and an quirky, English sense of humour.

So, if you like your humour obvious, your story structure conventional and your characters/situations to be believable don't buy it. This is not a conventional movie.

What it is is 10 times more imaginative than the usual Hollywood output and, though that bravery means that not absolutely everything works, the film's scattergun approach means there is a refreshing, surprising and highly entertaining bit that does work perfectly just around the corner.

The action scenes are just brilliant and never fail to surprise and delight, the one-liners are frequently hilarious and the whole quirky love story is quite touching, with really likable geeky characters.

With so many saying Avatar will be the 'game changer' for future cinema, I'd like to think Scott Pilgrim will have more of a lasting impact. Because, while Avatar will indeed change things from a technology, commercial and marketing point of view (much like Star Wars in the 70s) in terms of storytelling and characterisation it was as conventional, uninventive and hackneyed as they come.

Scott Pilgrim on the other hand has some truly new ideas that we can expect to see copied massively in the coming years. The disjointed storytelling takes some getting used to and is, on occasion, diverting, but it is very refreshing.

I can see why some compare this to Kick Ass. Because, although very different films, they buck the recent industry trend that superheroes need to be dark and saddled with serious grown-up issues (The Dark Knight and Watchmen for instance). Kick Ass and Scott Pilgrim are both serious fun in a world (much like our own) where its finally OK for geeks to become rockstars or superheroes.

Very highly recommended as long as you don't mind something a bit different.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World must rate as one of the best films of recent years. Clever, funny, stylish and deeply different. It was so good I went to see it twice in the cinema. If you're something of a geek and will appreciate the video game and comic references you'll love this film.

So why am I giving it just three stars? Because whoever made the DVD version was unspeakably lazy and incompetent. It's presented in 16:9 widescreen - fair enough - but the film includes a lot of pop-up captions that go to the edge of the original cinematic frame. Had the makers bothered to move the cutting rectangle around to ensure these were included that wouldn't matter much, but they clearly think your money isn't worth the effort and so simply hacked these (often very funny) captions off in the middle leaving you missing important parts of what made the film so good.

We shouldn't have to put up with this kind of outright contempt from DVD makers.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2010
I have never read the comics but I love this film. It's directed by Edgar Wright, the British genius behind comedy marvels, Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz. His comic timing is unique which is perfectly fitting for such a stylistic and clever film.

A plot without spoilers: Scott the "anal" nerd meets "happy-go-lucky" Ramona- they fall in love. Buttttt there's a catch, Scott has to defeat all seven of Ramona's evil exes! It sounds very stupid I know, but it isn't, trust me. This is not your average "Breakfast club" meets "Mortal kombat" film, there's more depth to it.

Why the film stands out for me, is that it takes something that we've seen billions of times on screen; romance. Yet transforms this concept, into striking new grounds; that in Scott's world, everyone acts like they're in a video game. It's the little details that stay with you and keep you laughing from beginning till end. If you love playing "The Sims" or "Zelda" you'll love this film.

It's a quirky innovative way of bearing the human soul but juxaposing them with the happy slapstick life of video games. It's clever and not just for children, which is what every great film can offer, a wider scale of audience.

It reminds me of "School of rock" and my childhood, playing video games. If you like clever "LOL" comedies, then please buy this film.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
Where do you even start with this film? I know I'll start by saying it's frickin amazing! One of my all time favourites, it's just so hilariously stupid, silly, dumb etc... The cast do an absolutely brilliant job, some of the quotes and one liners still have me on the ground laughing even after the 100th or so watch of this film. Just the way in which the film was shot gives it that video game type feel to it which is very cool, the music is top notch. This is just one of those films you can watch over and over and over again and never get bored.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2011
Why this movie did not succeed at the box office (when dross like Transformers 3 made money) is completely beyond me!

Edgar Wright directed this movie with such visual (and audio) flair that you might expect it to be weak on characterisation but he also pulled off the trick of portraying likeable, human characters. There is not one single weak character in the whole movie and every actor in it is admirable. I defy any man not to fall for Ramona Flowers and Knives Chau at the same time, (just like Scott Pilgrim.) Even characters who make fleeting appearances are memorable. And did I mention how good this movie is visually?

Everything about this movie tells you how much Edgar Wright loved the source material and how respectful of it he was while also making it a joyful work which stands in its own right.

The blu-ray is gorgeous and is the best I've ever bought for extras.

For me it has been the most enjoyable movie of the year and, whatever age you are, you will be charmed by a movie which so cleverly and funnily expresses the awkwardness and joy of what it is to be young.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 December 2013
THE FILM

Scott Pilgrim vs The World was not a film I was expecting to be able to sit through much less love. From the trailers, the cover of the Blu-ray disk and the premise of the movie I was not expecting what turned out to be a really enjoyable movie that was as unique as it was fun.

This is definitely not a movie for everyone and certainly not for someone who enjoys their films to be grounded in reality. There is so much in this movie that would be on most film makers 'do not do under any circumstances' list but for some reason it works here.

I could go into great detail about what was great about this ridiculous story of a young man who has to battle 'seven evil exes' in order to win over a young woman he is infatuated with, but instead I will ask you to simply take a chance on it. The film is highly surreal and bares little resemblance to reality but that only ads to its charm.

VIDEO AND AUDIO PRODUCTION

The picture and sound quality of this film is top notch.

It is a great film to watch in blu-ray because the hyper clarity of the world in which this movie is set. The action sequences are well filmed and look brilliant in high def and the ultra high contrast and vivid colours will give your TV a thorough testing.

The audio as well can't be faulted. The sound is immersive but not overwhelming and only ads to the quality of the film.

OVERALL VERDICT

Overall this is a highly enjoyable film that succeeds as both an enjoyable movie and a great Blu-ray production. Again it is not for everyone but for people looking for something a little different I recommend giving this a try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
Thoroughly entertaining geek noir. The emotion is entertainingly grunge flat, the fights are a bizarre OTT homage to gaming. It's like taking a time warp back to the eighties and the embarrassment of being young with a lot of entertainment thrown in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)