Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
69
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Robert Kenner's movie is a perfect illustration of F. William Engdahl's book `Seeds of Destruction', which explains how international agribusinesses are trying to monopolize vertically and horizontally (and profit from) food production on a world scale.

The world's food chain is built mainly on heavily subsidized and, therefore, cheap corn. In fact, all humans chew corn the whole day long from bread over meat (all animals are fed with corn) to deserts and drinks. Transnational corporations are even trying to learn fish to eat corn. Corn becomes nearly a food monoculture.
A particular transnational company even developed through genetic engineering highly efficient corn seed which it patented, thereby creating a nearly seed monopoly. Buyers cannot use the produce of the seeds as plant seed for future harvests. The company's own inspection force controls with hawk eyes that its clients buy new genetically modified seed every year. Some of the company's supporters and former directors occupy key positions in US governments and government administrations (FDA).

The movie shows the disastrous effects of intensive farming on animals, as well as the health and environmental risks of diminished standards at livestock farming and slaughtering houses.
Fortunately, some biological farmers show more respect for their animals and for their clients.

At the end of the movie, the makers give a perfect list of recommendations for those wishing to eat `healthy' food.

This movie is a must see for all those who want to understand the world we live in.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2011
This DVD tells a story that is appalling to people concerned with truth in general and with their and others' health. Are the facts in the story true? I believe they are because there are a number of confirming books, videos, and magazine articles that tell similar stories. So, if the story is true, then the situation regarding many foods sold to the public in the United States is appalling. I suspect the situation is the same to at least some degree in other countries so the story concerns all of us. I mean who really has faith in the mass-produced foods imported from China or Brazil? Have you ever seen the videos of Pangasius fish farms in Vietnam or salmon farms in Norway and the ones the Norwegians have opened in Canada? What is truly scary is the extent to which we suspect the corruption of some of our representatives in Washington and some key officers in the federal agencies meant to protect the public. With the disastrous Supreme Court decision in the Citizens' Union case which opens the floodgates of corporate and self-interested money that can be spent toward political ends, whose influence was confirmed absolutely in the recent Congressional elections, we, the public, are left exposed and unprotected unless we take action ourselves.
How can we take action? Stop buying processed foods, farmed fish, non-organically raised meat. Buy organic from trusted sources. It will cost more money but then you know that you need to reduce the volume of food that you eat so do it now and save some or all of that additional cost.
No amount of public outrage will persuade a representative to vote against the interests of a corporation that finances his election campaign because our system is such that he has no option to get elected or re-elected. No amount of public outrage will change our overly technical and procedure-heavy legal system that allows a hugely wealthy Monsanto to financially exhaust a farmer whose non-GM fields become polluted by wind-borne patented GM seeds and spores. The only way to cause change is to stop buying these terrible products and by-products and make market forces do the work that we can no longer trust others to do for us. We'll become slimmer and healthier at the same time.
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2009
Not dogmatic or didactic which many DVD's and documentaries of its ilk can be.

Food Inc is an incredibly insightful and informative exposé on our supermarket products. The most popular ones anyway.

It reveals how complicated, compromised and ethically distasteful the once simple process of growing crops and raising livestock has become. In doing so, it illustrates the perils of consumer apathy.

We can change our food supply. After all, it is we the consumer who creates demand.

Do your health, your planet and your conscience a favour, and buy someone this DVD for Christmas along with a request to "pass it on." The best New year's resolution you could make for 2010!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2010
Had this film been released thirty years ago it would have been X rated and under the heading of science fiction/horror, however, the brave new world we live in is the 21st century and the way our food is being produced and the inhumane way the animals are treated are facts well shown in this film. Also shown is the hold that the multi nationals have over our health via the food we eat. The call for cheap food is a false premise, this food is only cheap because of the subsidies paid to the Big Boys who own us, body and soul. For anyone who cares what they eat and how it is produced and care about farmers receiving a fair price for their products this is essential viewing.It should be included in national curriculums so that the young can make informed choices for their future health and the future of this planet.
The film evidently has to traverse a mine field of potential law suites and gagging orders but the message as told by those directly concerned within the industries is loud and clear. We thouroughly recommend this film and praise the courage of the makers.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
And you thought food was nutritious and kept you well. This is the shocking academy award nominated documentary of animal mistreatment and people being treated every bit as badly as the animals in the interest of bottom line profit in the highly industrialised Agri-businesses of the USA. The antibiotics in your food supply in the name of adding 25% more weight to the slaughter animals, while producing resistance to antibiotics in the very pathogens that threaten your life. The Monsanto GM plants that not only threaten to impoverish the third world farmers - but are already doing so in the USA in the name of intellectual propert rights. The political protection of the few food conglomerates, right to the US supreme court already disgust one - but then you need to hear about the contamination inherent in the industrial food processes, the risks to your health whenever you eat a fast food hamburger (tens of animals contribute to that patty from a range of 1500 miles to central industrial abattoirs and factories) or slice of cold meat. Cry with the pigs. The DVD is a top example of investigative journalism that has brought even Monsanto's CEO to admitting that he should have agreed to being interviewed. The words of Ghandi are quoted by director Robert Kenner: First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win. Perhaps you should buy and watch this dvd: get back some control of what goes into your mouth, get back your health, maybe you can still at least break even.

The DVD as received is region 2 (PAL), right for Europe, Africa and Japan, and of excellent quality in an innovative cardboard sleeved package.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2011
This is an excellent film exposing in depth the shortcomings of the industrial food system. However it is also really positive and enjoyable to watch, showing that there ARE viable alternatives if only people were more aware of them. I did not think it was too shocking, although a vegetarian friend of mine only watched the first half; it is in the second half that the positive message really shines through.
I loved this film and watched it in chapters over a period of days to let the message really sink in, although I already grow my own food, and eat organic whenever possible, so I was aware of some of the problems of the industrial system already.
In an age where corprate, industrial and governmental land-grabs are removing indigenous populations from the land where they have traditionally grown the food to feed their communities this film send a vital message- we cannot carry on the way we are going and everyone will have to rethink where and how they get their food in the future.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2011
Sadly this is the way large farming operations work in order to meet demands for cheap food however, if you look at the true costs to society as a whole i.e. health, environment etc you would see the correct path to go down is Organic and true Sustainability via purchasing local. This DVD projects the truth about how human greed has taken control over our food production methods. Well worth watching Well done to producersFood Inc.: A Participant Guide - How Industrial Food is Making Us Sicker, Fatter, and Poorer and What You Can Do About it
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2010
On the whole an excellent film. Agribusiness in the USA has most of the population in its ruthless grip as this documentary clearly highlights. Unfortunately, as so many of the practices in the livestock industry are deliberately hidden from the public gaze and cameras are not allowed, it was not able to give the whole picture. I am convinced that if this film was shown in schools and on mainstream television, vast numbers of people would change their eating habits.
It is appalling that GM has crept into the food chain so insidiously and there's no labelling. As for all the chemicals in processed products, they are yet another reason to go organic.
It was cheering to see that such organic farmers as Joel Palatin were interviewed as they represent a tiny shred of hope. However, as long as the advertisers have their (misrepresentative) way,the general public will be taken in and only when they go down with a variety of food-related illnesses might they sit up and take notice. Sad, we're taking part in a human cull through the horrors we eat, but then there's the pharmaceutical industry to sell us all their drugs. Neat little arrangement.

p.s. the more I learn about the food business in the States, the more determined I am not to go there.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2010
I have no connection with this film - other than I just watched it and feel compelled to tell people about it.
It highlights a lot of the serious problems in the food business in the US, many of which I imagine are mirrored here in the UK - and points out the importance of realizing the control which you as a consumer have over the food corporations in dictating the future of our food industry. It's inspiring stuff, a hard watch at times as it shows some graphic scenes of animal mal-treatment but as it points out itself we as a society at the moment are disconnected from the origin and processes involved in our foods it takes a film like this to hit home what's really going on. It focuses mainly on the beef industry in the US and Monsanto - the chief firm behind GMO and pesticide production in the US - but it will certainly make you think twice about what is going on the UK.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2010
What a powerful and well made film this is. It tells so many stories - from that of the mother who lost her 2 and a half year old son to E coli and is still seeking justice 6 years later, to the arresting of illegal immigrants after they were shopped into the police by the company that employed them in the first place. It weaves between dark and light with the horrors of factory farming and modern day slaughter houses being interspersed with good old fashioned farmers who maintain integrity at all costs. Its basically a film about the crisis in the food industry and the economics of poisoning the masses while a few people become very, very wealthy. Highly recommended and will probably change your eating habits forever.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)