Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
82
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2010
Just heard Radio 2 play 'My Brother Jake' taken from this new album! So amazing to hear this on the airwaves again and although I already own most of the tracks on this album I had to review it as it really is essential for anyone not yet familiar with Free, Bad Company or Paul Rodgers in general. Looking over the tracklisting it has obviously put together with care and by someone who knows and loves the material. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2010
Free lived from 1968 to 1973 and were in my opinion the best band to ever have walked planet earth. Bad Co are second best !!! The thing with Free is, there are no mediocre songs - they're all superb particularly as they were written by lads in their late teens and early twenties. Paul Rodgers voice is just.......well........see what I mean, there are no words to express his voice !!! If you listen to this album you will be hooked for life. The most beautiful and soulful music ever !!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2010
After being a dyed in the wool soul boy for nearly forty years I was looking around for something new in music.Quite by chance I happened to see Paul Rogers fronting Queen on sky one evening and was impressed by his Soulfull voice yet backed by Queen.Although being aware of Free and latterly Bad Company at the time I never really paid much attention (it wasn't the done thing for Skinheads,Suedeheads or bootboys to like this genre of music in the seventies-rock was for hairies and greasers.

This album brings together both bands,Free & Bad Company's well known numbers-which were world wide hits with some of those I'd never heard before.

I'd certainly say it not only hits the spot as far as having all of the two bands well known numbers in your collection but will also whet the appetite to get to know their catelogue even better.

Superbly engineered and produced giving for a clean ,clear sound with some nice sleeve notes about each of the numbers from a personal perspective by Paul.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2010
So many songs i had forgotten about here! Absolute classics and a perfect introduction to the music of the unique Paul Rodgers, one of England's all time finest performers and songwriters.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2010
All brilliant songs on the album which I have not bought because I have them all anyway but wheres Bad companys theme song called ironically enough Bad Company. Its an absolute Classic and to miss it off an anthology is like a deep purple anthology with out smoke on the water or black sabbath without paranoid.
But that aside its also a blatent attempt to fleece people to part with hard earnt cash, to buy something that if there into rock will already have all the tracks anyway, but saying that it may help to get people into rock music which judging by the soul fan on one of the earlier blogs, he has just dicovered the wonders of rock music, and that I cannot and will not diss. I have been into rock for 32 years and dont think anything will happen to change that now but when I hear people being induced to listen to rock music and enjoy it, then it leaves one with a certain glow that your passion is still something that can light a fire in anothers heart.
Rock music is something that is a part of me and my life and is something I am greatfull for because of the sheer pleasure it gives me.
Rock on.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a good place to start if you have never heard of the bands included on this disc,aimed squarely at the casual,transient listener and not at diehards.

Given that its not a definitive collection,it misses out tracks such as 'Bad Company' and 'Good Lovin Gone Bad' for example,its still a decent collection of tracks by Free/Bad Co.

Clearly issued to tie in with the UK tour from Bad Company,it would make a decent gift or one for the car.

Its well put together,decent sound quality and an informative booklet featuring Paul Rodgers discussing each track
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2010
I have loved Bad Co since I saw them in the 70's and Paul Rodgers comes a close second to Eric Clapton for me with his fantastic vocal range and performance. Although I love all of these tracks from Bad Co and Free I no longer have them in a playable format, as I have no turntable! So I rushed out and bought this the second I saw it advertised. My 14 year old is now learning guitar and I have urged him to listen to this, alongside the many Eric Clapton CD's I have left out for him-may as well learn from the best!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2011
Paul Rodgers at his best, some say music from a bygone age, well think again great lyrics brilliant music much better than any chart stuff today. great music for the car open the window put the top down and blast it out
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Rodgers was the son of a dock worker in Middleborough, England. His father bought him a guitar when he was twelve, and he played in a succession of bands, including the Titans, the Intrepids, the Roadrunners, the Wildflowers, and Brown Sugar.

Free was originally a quartet comprising Rodgers, Kossoff, Kirke, and bassist Andy Fraser.

Freddie Mercury of Queen in particular idolized Rodgers and drew inspiration from Rodgers' aggressive style.

After the first break-up of Free in the spring of 1971, Rodgers briefly formed a three-piece band called Peace. Alongside bassist Stewart McDonald and drummer Mick Underwood, Rodgers played guitar and sang lead vocal. Peace supported Mott the Hoople's UK tour in 1971, but broke up when Free reformed at the start of 1972.

Before forming Bad Company, Rodgers and Kirke were in Free, Burrell was in King Crimson, and Ralphs was in Mott The Hoople.

They were the first band to record for Led Zeppelin's record label, Swan Song.

They recorded their first album at Headley Grange, the mansion where Zeppelin recorded many of their tracks.

They got their name from a 1972 Western called Bad Company starring Jeff Bridges.

The group temporarily disbanded in 1982 when Rodgers left to form The Firm with Led Zeppelin guitarist Jimmy Page. The group reformed in 1986 without Rodgers, who later rejoined them in 1999.

While Rodgers was gone, former Ted Nugent vocalist Brian Howe filled in. He was introduced to Bad Company by Foreigner guitarist Mick Jones.

Kirke suggested to Don Henley and Glenn Frey that they bring Joe Walsh into the Eagles. They did.

While the band was disbanded in the 1980's, Ralphs toured with Pink Floyd guitarist David Gilmour.

Ex-King Crimson saxophonist Mel Collins played on their first album.

Lynyrd Skynyrd lead singer Ronnie Van Zant had a boat named after the band. He was a huge Bad Company fan.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
Great for the car....but if you like Free and Bad Company you'll love this anyway....sure there are several other tracks that would have come under the description "best of".....but it's not a double disc is it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)