Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
8
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£20.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2011
Thank the stars that Jackies live performance was recorded before he kicked the proverbial recently.Some of his finest songs are on here, interspersed by his characteristic anecdotes. JL fans will have to get it. If you have not come across JLs work before, suggest you try some of his 1990s and early 2000s albums to see if it is to your taste - if you have taste, it will be. This is a good sampling of a typical live JL performance - small venues close to the audience suited him well.Saw him twice live and extremely thankful I did. IMHO, this guy is/was the best singer-songwriter that has ever been and I cannot imagine anyone better coming along in the next 100 years.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2011
It's been a long time coming but fans wont be disappointed with this dvd. The sound is excellent and Jackie is in good form. Starting with the excellent s little voice in space, he moves into a fantastic classic northern diversions which always instantly engages me. Poortoun is a classic that is as haunting a melody as I have ever heard from any artist and is beautiful here. Live or Die is not one I have heard too often at concerts but is absolutely performed to perfection. Call mother a lonely field doesn't disappoint either and the explanation of its origins had escaped me before but seems to add to the mystique when you hear it. (I aint telling you :) ).
Finishing with exit wound left me wanting to cry at its beauty but also wanting to listen again and again. This guy is Britain's unsung master poet in song. Michael Cosgrave and Kevin Foster are superb in their empathic harmonising and I ache to be able to be in their shoes on such a set. Sheer brilliance. Buy it and smile. Great atmosphere.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
A very good production. Great colors, a good audience, and timeless songs. They sounds great, and the production gives the songs value for money. It`s a splendid, clear sound. It`s a concert that a lot of Jackie Leven fans should see. It`s a lot of bootlegs out there, with cheap or no production at all. The big man deserves to be remembered as the outstanding singer, composer and guitar player he was. Thanks to the germans.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2010
This show has previously appeared in the form of bootlegs. Now, and after all these years, it sees the light of day as an official release. Musically, this is mid-80s Cale at his best and this is the video of a live television program. A CD is also being issued of the same performance.

Beyond the excellence of the music, the performance itself was visually stunning with Cale apparently 'under the influence' and engaging in extreme antics, to include (but not limited to) tearing up the stage flooring. There is however, no indication of this on the music-only CD.

Additionally, the second concert featured on the CD set is also here... a "gentler" unaccompanied John Cale and it makes for the perfect counterpoint to the first disc.

One minor 'problem' with this set is the seemingly endless promos for other products one has to endure before finally getting to the menu for the Cale concert.

If budgetary requirements dictate the purchase of only the CDs or the DVDs, pick the DVDs. As the music was so very excellent, this can be recommended to long-term fans, completists and new-comers.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2012
I've been planing a trip to the UK for the last couple of years and the only live performer on my definite 'to see' list was Jackie Leven. Unfortunately it will never happen now and this DVD just reinforces what I've missed. Jackie produces a consistently high quality performance and this DVD is a must for all fans.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
John Cale shows why he was the heart of the Velvet Undergruond. An intense,eccentric,man with a rock'n'roll soul. Intelligent,raw and fun,no frills or fancy light shows this is undecorated rock is fun and mesmerising. John Cale, severely underrated,is one of the best live shows yet. Beautiful in it's simplicity.Pity more time/money wasn't spent on production.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2010
As a newcomer to his music this is an excellent concert. Yes it won't show off your home theatre system but is still very watchable.

And Cale is a wonderful, wonderful songwriter.

I'm sure this DVD of '83 and '84 intimate concerts in Germany will soon be a collector's item. Get it now before it's too late. They don't have songwriters like this anymore. And they don't have concerts like this anymore.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
I was looking for Kinks at Rockpalast. Searched for this. Linked to a page of Kinks music. Saw the thumbnail and title and bought it. It's not the Kinks, is it. Disappointed with the advertising.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)