Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
30
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
24
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 5 February 2009
NEW MUSIK'S first and best album. Ten perfect songs plus b-sides.

A regrettably short then-lifespan for a band - three albums over not-quite four years - but the modest splash they made and the resulting ripples were almost always perfectly formed. And most of the success was due to one man, TONY MANSFIELD, who crafted a new wave electronic sound that was both unique and unmistakably no-one else's. As part of the burgeoning synth movement that sound enabled them to stand out. Conversely, their image (Maplins sales counter assistant/drab boiler suit chic) rendered New Musik almost invisible. That's showbusiness for you.

However, the singles STRAIGHT LINES, THIS WORLD OF WATER and LIVING BY NUMBERS were light, swirly, infectious gems. Populated throughout by regular bass, drums or drum machine, precise electric/accoustic guitars and layers of sharp synths (over which Mansfield sung deceptively simple lyrics) this became the template for the New Musik sound.

The album cover (all grey walls with a folorn daffodil stuck in a glass of water looking for the sunlight) is in stark contrast to the music within. No respite on the inner sleeve either as storm clouds and rough seas threaten to engulf the expressions of our four bemused and windswept day trippers. Note: the magic of owning the original 12" vinyl LP, of course, meant that sizewise you could stare at the content for hours trying to read in some kind of cosmic significance (that's the kind of thing you did when you were eighteen) even if it was simply another routine photoshoot in Margate for everyone else concerned.

A truly original album, full of memorable music. It's as contemporary now as it was in 1980, but it remains special to me because I was there, ready to be swept away right from the start. Happy times.

VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 May 2010
'New Musik', though had been around awhile, were a great new band that promised to be big in 1980. Instead, and surprisingly, only had one top twenty hit - followed then by two more minor hits that only just made the forty.

The catchy 'Living By Numbers' peaked only at number thirteen - promising to be a chart topper. Their next single: 'This World Of Water', which I thought even better and should have gone to number one, only made number thirty-one... Their last single from the album 'Sanctuary' also peaked at the same spot. All these three - along with some really cool album material is gathered together here on 'From A To B' .

It really is hard to believe that these singles did not do better. We can only assume it was down to lack of airplay. However; they left a lasting impression - hence the re-issue of this album all these years later. After all; it was the beginning of a new decade, and the eighties had not quite found their way, and so perhaps it was a bad time for the group's sound to have taken off.

CD also features bonus tracks.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2011
I was still a young boy when new musik hit the charts and even now, 32 years later, I still love the songs they released. I'm ashamed to say I never bought their records back then but after buying this album recently, I can't for the life of me understand why! I defy anybody not to start tapping their feet to 'living by numbers' and 'This world of water' but they aren't the only musical gems on the CD. There is not a bad song on here and if you are looking to build up your 70's/80's music collection, this is a must have. Go on, buy it, you won't be dissapointed!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
Their first album from 1980.

Definitive melodic synth pop from the genius that was Tony Mansfield - whatever happened to him?

Every track is a gem, not just the singles Straight Lines, Living By Numbers and This World Of Water.

Came out at the same time as The Buggles but never hit the big time like Trevor Horn's outfit.

Haunting, Atmospheric, and way, way ahead of their time, criminally underrated work of genius.

Very, very highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 May 2010
'New Musik', though had been around awhile, were a great new band that promised to be big in 1980. Instead, and surprisingly, only had one top twenty hit - followed then by two more minor hits that only just made the forty.

The catchy 'Living By Numbers' peaked only at number thirteen - promising to be a chart topper. Their next single: 'This World Of Water', which I thought even better and should have gone to number one, only made number thirty-one... Their last single from the album 'Sanctuary' also peaked at the same spot. All these three - along with some really cool album material is gathered together here on 'From A To B' .

It really is hard to believe that these singles did not do better. We can only assume it was down to lack of airplay. However; they left a lasting impression - hence the re-issue of this album all these years later. After all; it was the beginning of a new decade, and the eighties had not quite found their way, and so perhaps it was a bad time for the group's sound to have taken off.

CD also features bonus tracks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
Brilliant cd, whilst flicking from chanel to chanel on you tube I came across this band. I had heard a couple of there song so after some further searching I liked some more and decided that I should take a chance and get the cd as I already knew 2 of the tracks on it and after listening to it I started the cd again, infant I listened to it over and over again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2012
I knew this album when it first came out in the 1980s. I played it to death, especially This World of Water and Living by Numbers. It's great to hear this album again. This band should have been bigger, the songs are magical.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
New Musik's best album full of great synthesiser lines, jangly acoustic guitar and great pop songs. Still sounds fresh today and well worth a listen. Living by numbers is probably the best known track.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2011
1st of 3 albums from GTO label of nice catchy early 80's electro-pop from producer songwriter and singer Mansfield + 3 excellent musicians.

originally on vinylLP/cassette. now out on CD.

Most of the TOTP-hits on this album plus bonus B sides.

Superb music from 30 years ago and very addictive.

Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 May 2010
'New Musik', though had been around awhile, were a great new band that promised to be big in 1980. Instead, and surprisingly, only had one top twenty hit - followed then by two more minor hits that only just made the forty.

The catchy 'Living By Numbers' peaked only at number thirteen - promising to be a chart topper. Their next single: 'This World Of Water', which I thought even better and should have gone to number one, only made number thirty-one... Their last single from the album 'Sanctuary' also peaked at the same spot. All these three - along with some really cool album material is gathered together here on 'From A To B' .

It really is hard to believe that these singles did not do better. We can only assume it was down to lack of airplay. However; they left a lasting impression - hence the re-issue of this album all these years later. After all; it was the beginning of a new decade, and the eighties had not quite found their way, and so perhaps it was a bad time for the group's sound to have taken off.

CD also features bonus tracks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.49
£5.49

Need customer service? Click here