Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
17
4.3 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 February 2011
The first 16 tracks are from Volume 1 of the vinyl LP from 1978 (EMI) the other 9 tracks are a selection which must have been considered appropriate. I cannot see why the second LP which contained 18 tracks "More Pennies from Heaven" could not have been included and released here as a double CD. Decca released in their Vintage Series a double LP in 1978 which contained 29 tracks and incidentally there were no duplications. I am aware that there are other CDs available but this is a great opportunity missed (to release both LPs onto CD) Unfortunately this CD does fall short of the initial releases in 1978. A great pity.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2010
Bought this after purchasing the excellent DVD of the TV series but was disappointed with the small amount of songs on the CD. There are other compilations out there offereing a lot more but I expected this to be the closest to the TV version as it had pictures from the TV series on the cover. However it states "music from and inspired by the TV series" so not as good as it could be. I dont know why the BBC did not put out the equivalent of the 3 LP version that was avaliable years ago.

So overall not bad, some good songs but a bit of a let down and there are better compilations out there
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2012
I've had this really jolly little tune stuck in my head on and off, it's been there since I worked in Oddbins back in the 90's. I couldn't remember the title or where the song was from. Then it came back to me, it was something from Pennies From Heaven. So, I flicked through the track list and found Painting The Clouds With Sunshine.
This album is full of cheery little ditties from the 30's and put a huge smile on my face. If you need cheering up a bit, get yourself a copy and listen to some "proper" songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
Play this wonderful CD and forget all your troubles. Wonderful 20's/30's tunes to lift your spirit. Don't miss to buy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
This is a great CD. I love the music from the thirties inspired by the classic TV drama Pennies from Heaven. I saw Potter's masterpiece as a boy on BBC television. I also have the vinyl album somewhere.. However the CD contains far more tracks. Listening to it evokes happy sunshine memories of a bygone age when people were polite and dreamed of better things to come!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
brought this has i thought it was the same as the orignal version i had on cassette in the 80s
it isnt but still a good cd and a good price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
Great music from times gone by -pity todays music will not last as long as these tunes a must for everyone collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
was a gift for my husband, as he enjoys this music.he is pleased with it,was in good condition when received.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
Husband used in an amateur dramatics performance
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
Nice easy listening
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)