Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
144
4.8 out of 5 stars
After The Gold Rush
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99


VINE VOICEon 20 March 2012
And another album that I'd had from release date on vinyl and thoroughly worn out....that I'd finally got to the point where a CD replacement was essential.
Falling onto the front door mat early one saturday morning I put the CD into the player, donned a set of cans and transported myself back in time because this invoked all the sentiments of the period including America coming to grips with racism, the end of the hippie dream et al. Yes, indeed, this album is certainly synonymous with the times but notwithstanding, it has also stood the test of time in that this batch of songs is as fresh today as the first time I heard them and I am not really a Neil Young fan! Not a great lover of his whiny thin vocal or his stuttering guitar solos - BUT, taken as a whole this is one very powerful and emotive album that deserves repeated listenings even some 40 years on be it the pinnacle of Southern Man or the evocative Only Love Can Break Your Heart, this album gets under your skin and embeds it's tunes and lyrics into your cortex so that whenever you hear the opening lines of Cripple Creek Ferry, After The Goldrush and 'Til The Morning Comes, you can't but help joining in with the singing....certainly whiles away many a boring car journey.
Iconic and class - and if it's not in your collection along with the contemporary Deja Vu from Crosby Stills Nash & Young - shame on you!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
One of the great benefits today is you can pick up some great remastered albums at no great expense and certainly to my ears they are a lot better than much of the manufactured music around at the moment; the thing with Neil Young is its still in a way current as he still tours and performs his music to bigger audiences than ever. I never got round to buying this album till now - a great pity. No really poor songs here, it includes a lot of styles and some absolute classic songs like the rocky and direct Southern Man, the exquisite Don't let it bring you down to the beautiful Only Love can break your Heart. Neil Young's music more than most has stood the test of time. The remaster seems to provide a great sound and at a great price certainly recommended and up there with Harvest and Live Rust as a great album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 March 2014
We all know the classic tracks and the fact that some 45 years on, the tune and lyrics remain familiar is testament to an outstanding musician and lyricist. In these anodyne times where social comment is less welcome than commercial success, it's refreshing to hear incisive comments about racism. Even the cover tracks have an original edge and I prefer this album to the more successful follow up, Harvest. At less than the price of a Sunday paper, this album is an mp3 must. I've played it over and over since downloading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Bought for my partner who had the LP version for years. Still sounds fresh and more guitar centric than most would imagine. A great blend of folk and rock that's hard to emulate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
Superb album which is quintessential Neil Young. Title song, 'After the Goldrush' is beautifully moving even after all these years. The added bonus being a brilliant remaster from the original producing a sound which is amazing even on top quality hifi equipment!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2017
This is a great album and often features in the top 100 of all time. They've done a good job on the re-mastered version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Deserves all the praise it gets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Great blast from the past. Good price and fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2011
Having heard Harvest prior to After the Gold Rush, I thought I'd heard what Neil Young had to offer. Boy was I wrong.
After the Gold Rush features some of Young's greatest folk music, as well as some really great rockers that are far superior to the rock songs on Harvest. There, already I've stated what is the real purpose of this review: After the Gold Rush is better than Harvest, by a mile... or two.
"Tell Me Why" opens up the album nicely. It's catchy, but absolutely not one of the best on the album. This immediately changes on the following song, also the title song, which is an extremely beautiful acoustic folk song. And this is where Neil Young really shines. The title song is not the only acoustic deserve-to-be-classic song on the album. "Don't let it bring you Down" and "Birds" are some of the asolute best songs, I've heard from Neil Young, and it is not difficult to see why the singer/songwriter-genre has turned out to be so popular since.
Neil Young seems to be the first singer/songwriter to really give this much of himself. It's deeply personal and the lyrics are simply masterpieces.
But Young doesn't stop here. Whereas most musicians and bands have trouble mastering only one genre, Neil Young shows that he is also a master of country-rock. "Southern Man" manages to keep the personality of his folk songs, but in a rock package with awesome country/blues-solos.

On the last notes, I'll encourage you all to start out by listening to Harvest (if you're new to Young), as that is Young at his most catchy and straightforward. But it's with Harvest's predecessor, After the Gold Rush, that Neil Young's talent and potential truly shines. A masterpiece, and after only a few listens, one of my all-time favourite albums.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)