Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
38


on 3 March 2014
This is the chamber version of the well-known Faure Requiem and in this form the work has a purity and poignancy that is incomparably beautiful. I now find the more familiar full orchestral version somewhat overblown by comparison. This is music I have given on two occasions to bereaved friends, and both found it almost uniquely consoling. The other works on the disc, especially the sublime Cantique de Jean Racine, are equally captivating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2015
I put off buying this particular performance for years - the work is a great favourite.and I have had several recordings of it. Finally I capitulated and I have to say it is a Classic performance which could hardly be improved upon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
Just a wonderful Choral work, especially with the Cambridge Singers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2015
A lovely CD with Fa;ure's beautiful Requiem sung at its best. Many thanks. Well packed and arrived well in time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2014
I do not think that this is the best interpretation or the best quality recording of Faure's fabulous Requiem, but it is still a lovely piece of work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2016
best version according to my ears
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2016
Sublime
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2014
Absolutely beautiful -- I love what John Rutter produces anyway, it is always interesting with the occasional wonderful surprise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2015
A somewhat different approach to a favourite work; excellently done. The additional items are well worth having too. Fully lives up to the rave reviews of others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2014
Excellent selection. Beautifully sung.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Faure: Requiem
£8.78

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)