Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
197
4.4 out of 5 stars
Vertigo [Blu-ray] [1958] [Region Free]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 December 2014
Classic masterpiece and a very dark film. There is crime, compassion and punishment and all casualities on the way of no return. And just few bodies. This is film noir in cool clour. Casting is perfect, directing and filming too. Script is accurate and economical. It could be a horror story. He is used by a friend to fullfill a a cunning plot. He plays along but the piti and then compassion takes him to solve the mystery. I can only recommend this film. It is not enntertaiment its art.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2017
By way of a complex conspiracy murder plot, Hitchcock cleverly masks a religious subject which some folks take seriously.
Amusingly, Hitchcock cleverly ridicules and rejects the idea of demon possession or spiritual possession by way of a bizarre love story, .

Vertigo is a psychological thriller that bears the hallmarks of a psychotic 'stalker's objectives, in its portrayal of attraction, deceitfulness, desperation, power, control and manipulation, and suicide.

Vertigo is about the psychological fear of a cop, who didn't know he had Vertigo until one day in the line of duty, he had to pursue the roof top chase of a criminal. He subsequently retired. Encouraged to take up a hobby by his 'best friend' Midge - played by the actress Barbara Bel Geddes - (Miss Ellie from Dallas) - he accepted the private work of a detective role.

In a quest to overcome his phobia, the self-aware ex-cop becomes - to the exclusion of all others - the ex-cop becomes a self-possessed 'demon', pre-occupied and totally consumed with the pursuit of his own happiness.

Vertigo came up in an internet movie list involving narcissistic people, but who were 'they' actually talking about?
James Stewart's character in Vertigo as John 'Scottie' Fergusson or Hitchcock himself?
Studies show that Hitchcock was a very self-absorbed man, who got away with his psychotic behaviour because he 'possessed' the ability to masquerade his male prowess and make great movies.

Whilst the story line makes a great movie, I think the movie itself is highly over-rated and should be relegated to special interest films like studies on Hitchcock, or studies on narcissism. It could also be used as an educational film for film studies students or students choosing appropriate career paths.

Thank You!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Excellent DVD good price many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 August 2017
I liked this movie a lot, the essential plot/story is one of how the police officer protagonist's vertigo is exploited by a villain, putting him at the scene of a death which he is judged to be negligent in by virtue of his fear of heights and apparent knowledge of a previous, unsuccessful suicide bid, and his attempt to clear his name.

How the protagonists vertigo developed plays out quickly in the opening scenes, this is done very well, considering just how central it is to the course of events later in the feature. If it had been merely stated or recounted between characters it definitely would have lost impact. James Stewart's acting is brilliant, as always, he portrays the fear of heights convincingly, similarly when the character is seen to be despairing, suspicious and then the drive to clear his name, including angry confrontations with those involved in the set up.

There are great visuals, as with most of Hitchcock's films I get the feeling when I watch them that I am viewing movie tropes/direction for the first time which have had many imitators in the years since. This made me wonder about whether or not the idea of a "flash back" had been established at the time of shooting, as there is a scene which I thought would have served very well as a "flash back", at the point when the protagonist succeeds in deducing how he had been set up, rather than being film "as it happened". I did not think this spoiled the movie, however, and I would recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
Alfred Hitchcock directed some classic films, but Vertigo stands out as his very best in my opinion. This is a film which sets up its own unique style form the very start. Jimmy Stewart plays the part of a retired detective captivated by the beautiful wife of a friend who he has been hired to track and follow. Her aloof yet entrancing behaviour has him spellbound and he is left distraught when she takes her own life, he is deeply shaken and all his much of his charisma and charm is also lost too. His only release comes from an obsession he develops towards another young woman he meets who happens to bare a striking resemblance to his former lover, it couldn’t be the same person though could it?

The film is set in San Francisco and employs a lovely warm colour palette.
The film contains as you’d expect some heavy themes, in one scene our characters gather round a stump of a tree which reveals 1000 years of human history in one tree’s lifetime, human life indeed seem short and fleeting.
Kim Novak gives a brilliant performance as her character is also wrestling with her own unresolved conflicts. Dare she reveal the devastating truth about herself?

The score is delightful and really carries the movie forward, Kim Novak has no dialogue until at least three quarters of an hour has past but the music conveys as much as any words ever could.

Warm rich colours make up San Francisco, lavish details and a strong unique style help make Vertigo visually distinctive to other Hitchcok films. The grey jacket on the icy blond hair and tanned skin of Kim Novak, doesn't quite work, but that's the point, there is something not quite right about her character.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 March 2014
I saw this film in the fifties, when I was twelve. I was deeply impressed and I have never found any reason to change my mind. It was my first insight into the facts that adults have fears and vulnerabilities and they suffer. Kim Novak was subtly sexy and I could see why James Stewart's character fell for her. The film made me, for the first time, identify with adults and begin to understand their world. Stewart plays Scottie, a detective who has to resign from the police force because of his intense fear of heights, and he is asked to investigate the activities of the wife of an acquaintance. He becomes involved with her, but then she falls to her death in an apparent suicide. But is she really dead?
Stewart and Novak both turn in sensitive, accomplished performances. Like so many of Hitchcock's films, the theme is obsession. Although not everyone thought so at the time, this is a very good film and I regard it as one of the best films ever made.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
This film has, as of August 2012, been voted the best film of all time by the British Film Institute's Sight and Sound magazine in its 10 yearly poll where a panel of distributors, critics and academics vote. This is the first time in 50 years when this honours has not been bestowed on Citizen Kane.

James Stewart was one of those rare Hollywood stars who brought real magic to the screen. He was an everyman, he was often vulnerable and flawed. In the hands of a lesser man his character in that other Hitchcock classic Rear Window [DVD]could have been a real turn off for audiences.

I don't want to spoil this movie for anyone but Vertigo contains one of Hitchcock's rather naive, schoolboyish, plot devices. The very notion that policemen, even in the 1950's would be expected to recklessly pursue a suspect across the steep rooftops is rather absurd and as for the behaviour of the nun at the end...

Although Hitchcock has been blamed for the misconception that vertigo is the fear of heights this was not because of any misunderstanding on his part. In a key scene Scottie Ferguson (James Stewart) explains to Midge Woods (Barbara Bel Geddes) that he suffers for acrophobia (fear of heights) which results in vertigo (a type of dizziness, where there is a feeling of motion when trhe sufferer is standing still) It made sense to call the film after the sympyom as this tied in with the visual representation in a visual medium. Nevertheless verigo has become synonymous with acrophobia in the public imagination because of this film.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
Hitchcocks darkest movie finds JamesStewart as the policeman who becomes obsessed over beautiful Kim Novak and gets caught up in a bizarre murder plot Its a movie that's been a huge influence over directors like Paul Verhoven with Basic Instinct and especially Brian de Palma with Dressed to kill and Obsession but Hitchcocks is far more darker and disturbing.A classic thriller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)