Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
197
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 February 2016
Alfred Hitchcock directed some classic films, but Vertigo stands out as his very best in my opinion. This is a film which sets up its own unique style form the very start. Jimmy Stewart plays the part of a retired detective captivated by the beautiful wife of a friend who he has been hired to track and follow. Her aloof yet entrancing behaviour has him spellbound and he is left distraught when she takes her own life, he is deeply shaken and all his much of his charisma and charm is also lost too. His only release comes from an obsession he develops towards another young woman he meets who happens to bare a striking resemblance to his former lover, it couldn’t be the same person though could it?

The film is set in San Francisco and employs a lovely warm colour palette.
The film contains as you’d expect some heavy themes, in one scene our characters gather round a stump of a tree which reveals 1000 years of human history in one tree’s lifetime, human life indeed seem short and fleeting.
Kim Novak gives a brilliant performance as her character is also wrestling with her own unresolved conflicts. Dare she reveal the devastating truth about herself?

The score is delightful and really carries the movie forward, Kim Novak has no dialogue until at least three quarters of an hour has past but the music conveys as much as any words ever could.

Warm rich colours make up San Francisco, lavish details and a strong unique style help make Vertigo visually distinctive to other Hitchcok films. The grey jacket on the icy blond hair and tanned skin of Kim Novak, doesn't quite work, but that's the point, there is something not quite right about her character.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
This film was a real surprise and worth purchasing. Fabulous story wonderfully directed by the enigma Hitchcock. Acting superb as expected and story really gripping. Fabulous city shots and costumes were fabulous.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
I really enjoyed this film. I'v seen it quite a few times, however, I still want to watch it more and more! Just a great storyline with great perpormances from the leading film stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2012
This is a classic, I don't like hitchcock films much, but I was hooked because its mentioned in 12 monkeys and that's a good film too. But this is a keeper, it rates in my top 10 films of all time Kim Novak is distant yet close, a great performance by her and Stewart, I saw the restored version of the film which also has a documentary, which has an amazing fact about Stewart, he was the highest ranked forces entertainer ever in american history. Buy it if you like stories and take a look at 12 monkeys too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
Vertigo is henceforth the best. It is probably the drama of a film director (Hitchcock?) who after finishing a film, with a beloved actress, desperately tries to find her again, looking at all women in the street, the best sequences of cinema ever made. Also James Stewart acts so that the most commonplace scene becomes unforgettable (for instance the beginning, meeting a former schoolmate in his office).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2017
By way of a complex conspiracy murder plot, Hitchcock cleverly masks a religious subject which some folks take seriously.
Amusingly, Hitchcock cleverly ridicules and rejects the idea of demon possession or spiritual possession by way of a bizarre love story, .

Vertigo is a psychological thriller that bears the hallmarks of a psychotic 'stalker's objectives, in its portrayal of attraction, deceitfulness, desperation, power, control and manipulation, and suicide.

Vertigo is about the psychological fear of a cop, who didn't know he had Vertigo until one day in the line of duty, he had to pursue the roof top chase of a criminal. He subsequently retired. Encouraged to take up a hobby by his 'best friend' Midge - played by the actress Barbara Bel Geddes - (Miss Ellie from Dallas) - he accepted the private work of a detective role.

In a quest to overcome his phobia, the self-aware ex-cop becomes - to the exclusion of all others - the ex-cop becomes a self-possessed 'demon', pre-occupied and totally consumed with the pursuit of his own happiness.

Vertigo came up in an internet movie list involving narcissistic people, but who were 'they' actually talking about?
James Stewart's character in Vertigo as John 'Scottie' Fergusson or Hitchcock himself?
Studies show that Hitchcock was a very self-absorbed man, who got away with his psychotic behaviour because he 'possessed' the ability to masquerade his male prowess and make great movies.

Whilst the story line makes a great movie, I think the movie itself is highly over-rated and should be relegated to special interest films like studies on Hitchcock, or studies on narcissism. It could also be used as an educational film for film studies students or students choosing appropriate career paths.

Thank You!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
I received my DVD today 7th March. Amazon are prompt, courteous, and very willing to oblige. I know I will enjoy this film, as I was very fond of the Star James Stewart. Thanks again for your kindness Amazon. You're amazing. Bless you. Very very pleased. Eileen Duncan Dated 7th March 2017
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
Great DVD! Hitchcock and the leasding actors keep the tension stressed until the very last image. Excellent seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)