Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
234
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon 22 February 2012
This film version of the wonderful novel by Christopher Isherwood does not reproduce the realistic tone of the book and gives the whole thing a very airbrushed feel, beginning with the main character who is younger and more attractive than the character on the page. Nevertheless it works very well in its own terms, I think, and provides a fantasy of great appeal. George's day certainly has enough moments of beauty in it, including encounters with two men - the hyper-alluring Jon Kortajarena (who is a model in real life), and a student, equally lovely, played by Nicholas Hoult. These two men are so much a dream come true, and their attitude and generosity towards George so heartening, that it would be unthinkable to give it anything less than fully five stars. Julianne Moore also gives a performance that really gets under the skin of her character, and makes you realise, as always, how she is somehow very bold and risk-taking in the material she takes on. But the most credit must go to Colin Firth - and Tom Ford. Firth has always been a superb actor and has several times worked in films with a gay aspect - Apartment Zero, A Month in the Country, Another Country and Mamma Mia! (in the last of which he plays a gay character as here). All this, as well as being a straight heartthrob, and a very likeable one ... here his performance breathes life into what could have tilted over into a style-over-substance affair, but ultimately doesn't because he makes the character so feeling, he reveals the despair so poignantly, and the consolation ... The look on his face when the student seems to be offering himself to him is quite extraordinary in the way he gets the contradictory emotions of the moment.
My only gripe is with the box, which was also the poster for the cinema release. Why do they present it as if it is a straight romance with Julianne Moore? It seems to be trying to give the wrong impression. I know it isn't very important, but it is mildly irritating, especially as I have just noticed that the cover of Milk does something similar, and the colleague who killed him is shown pointing a gun and taking up more space than either of the lovers he had. As if we don't see enough guns pointing out at us from DVD shelves!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
very dull.. I did not see the end
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
Saw it on prime. Great movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Beautiful film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
Colin Firth delivers a superb performance in Tom Ford's 'A Single Man'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I had put off seeing this as there had been so much hype around it, that I felt it would not be able to live up to it all. I was happily proven wrong. This beautiful film is set in 1962, with the backdrop of the Cuban missile crisis and the first real societal awakening to the global threat of nuclear war. Whilst some people feel that man kind could be coming to an end, George (University Professor in California) played brilliantly by Colin Firth, has just lost his one true love in his boyfriend and can not see a reason to live.

His boyfriend Jim dies in a car accident whilst visiting his parents and they do not even tell him about it. He is denied from attending the service and has to cope with living when he feels dead inside, eking out enough emotional strength through memories to sustain day to day existence. He has a best friend, who like him is an ex pat Brit Julianne Moore. She was and clearly is still in love with him and finds her strength in gin and the forlorn hope of a love rekindled with George.

Some would call this lyrically paced, but I found it just moved along at the right speed to savour the whole thing. It is beautifully shot and stage, evoking the era in such a clear way that I got that it was the sixties immediately. There is so much attention to detail that you can tell it was a real labour of love. Tom Ford has made a film he can truly be proud of and we can be grateful to him. I often get miffed when straight actors play gay ones, when there are so many gay actors who never get a look in. However, acting is acting and if a good actor like Firth can do such an excellent job and thereby bring more attention to such a great work and story as this, then I have no problem.

This is a truly beautiful film, with style, humour and a study in human frailty through emotions and love that I found both moving and could really empathise with. Thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
Superb!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
I usually avoid films which focus on grief as I prefer films to lift my spirits, but strangely this film left me feeling uplifted and thankful to have have experienced a film of such quality. It is to the credit of all involved especially the fine performance of Firth that at no point did I feel the emotion was exaggerated for effect, it was simply captivating. I felt I wanted to write down the observations about life and love, so beautifully and precisely crafted as they were. A film that reveals insights into your own experiences and provides words of wisdom despite such despair, is remarkable. Touching, sometimes humorous and always beautifully observed - a triumph.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
Lovely boys but in the end a sad and nihilistic storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)