Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2009
This is a fast and frantic record full of cryptic lyrics. The album includes the original version of The Reflex (not as good as the Nile Rodgers' remixed version but still an intriguing song) and the fantastic hit singles Union Of The Snake and New Moon On Monday. There is a dose of introspection, Simon Le Bon style, with (I'm Looking For) Cracks In The Pavement. The album continues at a break neck pace and only slows down for the last two tracks, which are also two of the highlights, the instrumental Tiger Tiger and The Seventh Stranger (one of the band's best songs). The re-mastering of the CD has allowed the intricacies of Nick Rhodes's keyboard and John Taylor's bass to become more apparent. Though not as fresh as their previous two albums Duran Duran (1981) and Rio (1982) this album is an undoubtedly a great album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2017
Happy with the goods and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
Worth buying singles bands fourth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2008
As Duran Duran continued to bask in the glory from their previous release, Duran themselves went back to the studio to work on their 3rd album, Seven & The Ragged Tiger.
By this point however, problems within the band were coming to a head, this album is more "Pop" than their previous release, and Andy's guitar work was becoming less and less.
Still, Duran Duran managed to stick together for the forseeable future, a hugely successul world tour followed this album, a tour built around the success of the singles, namely "The Reflex" and "New Moon On Monday."
Duran even throw a rather quality instrumental track in this one, "Tiger Tiger" would rapidly become a fan favourite and the rather hanuting "The Seventh Stranger" is about the only guitar heavy track on the album.
Overall, "Seven & The Ragged Tiger is a quality pop record, deserving of it's place amongst the best of Duran's back catalogue, but is rather overlooked by it's bigger predecessor.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2010
The live dvd is great, the videos too : I was dying to watch the 20-minute version of the video "New Moon On Monday" and now that I've seen it, I think it's so plain awful that I will never watch it again, but it's still great to have it. The pictures in the booklet or the postcards are breathtaking, but where are the lyrics of the songs ? They were present in all previous editions of this album, why not on this one ?!

As for the remastered tracks, some sound great like "The Seventh Stranger" or "Of Crime and passion" where I can hear details I've never heard before, but some are really awful. Especially the very beginning of "Union of the snake" where the sound is fleeting like if the original tape has been damaged, what's up with that ! And when you listen to the single version of "The Reflex" for instance, its sound is weaker than on the GREATEST cd or even on the CD SINGLES 1981-1985 box set.

What is great though, is that the booklet mentioned all the original release dates for all the singles and the album. I love to know this kind of stuff. Now that I have them, I realise that Wikipedia has almost all the U.K. release dates wrong because on Andy's book Wild boy, he mentioned the same dates as this disc. :)

It's also great to have their Top Of The Tops performance of "Is there something I should know" since Andy talks about it in his book too.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
What a shame somebody decided to use the horrific 2010 remaster for this vinyl edition. Instead of warm sounding, dynamic and punchy reproduction what we have here is nasty clinical, digital noise and a completely pointless waste of vinyl. Basically this is a rubbish sounding CD pressed on vinyl. Why bother. I already have the rubbish remaster, why would I want an even worse version of it. This kind of release proves how ridiculous modern vinyl has become. It's very similar to the early days of CD when the labels used poor analogue masters on a digital format. The tables have turned and the labels are now using poor digital masters on an analogue format just to take advantage of this new generation of trendies who think vinyl is cool but don't actually understand anything about the format whatsoever and why it can sound so pleasing. Done properly, vinyl sounds superb and digital masters are not a problem as long as they are re-engineered for the vinyl medium. Sticking dynamically compressed, treble enhanced, loudness boosted trash designed for poxy earbuds and mobile phone speakers on to vinyl shows the contempt the music industry has and also how gullible people are.
Great album but don't buy this version.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2010
It's been said by others, but here we go again unfortunately.

I have about 5+ copies of this album on different formats: vinyl, tapes, original cd release, reissues, remasters and now this. This (for the main CD) is the worst of the lot and the first time I have have ever felt hugely deflated about a Duran product. I have a top-of-the-range stereo (and headphones) and know how remastered music should sound in camparison to the original recordings: cleaner, crisper, fresher: not the case here.

Were my expectations too high? Maybe? Possibly? But then shouldn't they be when I am basically purchasing the same album AGAIN that I already own five times over? Let's not kid ourselves here - these re-releases are predominately aimed at hardcore Duran fans who should already have most of the material anyway. So surely someone at Duran should have QC'd this before it went to production?

Oh, the good points: If you don't own any B sides from this era - buy it. The DVD 'As the lights go down' is also a good point, the picture quality is average but doesn't really detract from a great concert from a band in their heyday.

I feel really disappointed with the main CD and will not be listening to that disc again, and as others have said, I will not be buying the next reissues if this is to be the quality expected.
22 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2010
Oh dear. Keep hold of your copy of the previous remaster. EMI have made a hash of the mastering of the album. It always was a bit trebley and lacking bass before, but this remaster is to be frank, awful. However, the extras do make it worthwhile purchasing. The additional tracks sound fine, and it's nice to have the two live tracks from the US release of "The Reflex", and the DVD is great - finally we've got "As The Lights Go Down"! Okay it's the US version which was slightly different from the UK transmission but still FAR better than the mess that was "Arena". All in all, worth a buy at under a tenner but keep your copies of the old CD.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2010
The "remastering" on the two latest DD releases is terrible! The remastering engineer turned the volume WAY TOO LOUD, creating heavy compression and severe distortion. It's resulted in an all around unpleasant listening experience. This has become too common place among CD reissues, especially over the past several years. The "Loudness War", as it is termed, is the result of the iPod generation. The labels, and sometimes the artists (who may not necessarily know the downfalls of their request), want their songs to POP from the speakers when in shuffle mode or added to a playlist, so the result is the volume on CD's gets louder and louder. Of course, this is at the sacrifice of the dynamics and definition of the original music. EMI are already in financial turmoil, and the negative reviews of their products are not going to do anything to help their sinking ship stay afloat.

Some artists go out of their way to ensure their CD's do not suffer from the pitfalls of the loudness war. Thomas Dolby posted a message during the remastering of his first two albums to inform concerned fans that he was going to ensure the dynamics of his music remained. The result was two stunning remasters of his classic albums.

Alan Wilder oversaw the remastering of the Depeche Mode back catalog, and as a result none of those albums were compressed, and most were completely satisfying to fans. If these labels are blasting their music for the sake of standing out on an iPod, then release a CD with proper dynamics, then turn up the music another 100 decibels for the MP3's that you make available on iTunes or other download sites. That way everyone wins. This overblown volume and distortion/destruction of music has got to stop.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2003
This was the first vinyl album I bought as a kid! I've just bought myself a copy of this remastered version and am currently giving it a spin (you do that with CD's right?). It is still as good as it was the last time I listened to it (a long time ago!). Every track is a winner. No filler here not even the instrumental track eight! Track two is still my favourite.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.69
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)